We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best "Navy PIR Family" Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Waukegan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We chose this hotel while traveling from Hawaii for our son's graduation from US Navy Bootcamp in May, 2013... it was the best choice we made during our entire week in Great Lakes/Chicago. We booked two rooms: a King-bedded room for my in-laws and a King Suite for myself and the hubby. The parlor area of the suite was perfect when our Sailor was with us - it allowed him to stretch out on the sofa bed and relax comfortably while away from the base. The rooms were very comfortable, clean, newly refurbished and perfectly spacious for our family.

Location: The property is within walking distance to a good choice of restaurants (Chili's, Chipotle, Pot Belly Pig, Sweet Tomatoes, Buffalo Wild Wings and Denny's), gas stations, and a variety of stores including a Super Wal-Mart. Bonus: there's a Starbucks right next door, which was perfect for my required early morning caffeine fixes to help me adjust to the time zone difference. The property is also within walking distance to the Sundance Saloon - if you are flying in for Navy PIR and will not be renting a car, this is very convenient to attend Sarge's Meet & Greet on Thursday evening.

On-site services/amenities: As with most Courtyards, the hotel has the little store/market just off the Front Desk that sells convenience items, as well as a great selection of snacks, drinks and ice cream; a lovely lobby restaurant/cocktail area (that serves pretty awesome food!); a well-equipped Fitness Center and well-kept pool area; and a Business Center where you can print your airline boarding passes and the base vehicle pass, in case you forget yours (we did!)... for free! Also, the high-speed internet is truly high-speed (unlike other hotels that don't live up to their claims) and has consistent connectivity. FYI: the hotel went through a recent refurbishing, so no tired decor in the lobby, hallways, and rooms!

Staff: Now this is where the hotel truly shines! Christine, the General Manager, and her staff were very helpful and friendly. They really appreciate their Navy guests and they show it! Their attentiveness is warm and genuine, not "trained" (I worked in the travel/hospitality industry for over 20 years and can spot trained service "phoniness" from a mile away). The Guest Service Agents are well-versed in assisting families during PIR weekend - they helped with shuttle scheduling and graciously recommended restaurants, travel routes and the best ways to travel into Chicago within the time constraints we had. For travelers not in the area for Navy business, don't be deterred - we met several non-Navy guests in-house during our stay and they shared the same sentiments that we had about the hotel property and service.

We're in the process of planning our next trip to the area for our other son's graduation from boot camp in June and The Courtyard Waukegan/Gurnee is, of course, our property of choice!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine T, General Manager at Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Dear Michelle A. and family,

On behalf of our entire Courtyard Crew we thank you for your generous, thoughtful and thorough review of our hotel and hospitality! It gives me great pride to share with my team your recognition of their, "Hospitality from the heart!" They are truly incredible!

They also enjoyed the yummy treats from Hawaii - we even posted them on our Facebook page!

The entire team looks forward to your return arrival!

Warmest regards,
Christine and the Courtyard Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (385)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

258 - 264 of 385 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2013

For those who need to be in Waukegan, this is the only hotel I would stay in. The stay makes you feel welcome and comfortable. The lobby is clean, the rooms are nice, and it provides you with the amenities you leave. Once again, I will give kudos to the staff. They do a great job at making this hotel stand out from the standard chain.

Room Tip: A room facing the courtyard is always appreciated!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SA0716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine T, General Manager at Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Dear SA0716,

Thank you for taking the time to let other travelers know about our new refreshing rooms upgrade, cleanliness and fabulously friendly team!

We take pride in providing our guests with and exceptional experience, and your review makes up proud!

Hope to see you again soon,

Christine and the Courtyard Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

1St Class Hotel within minutes from my son's Boot Camp graduation. Staff with Travelocitypackage. all amenities, professional staff and all stores, restaurants etc n. within minutes. Shuttle service to Boot Camp!
As good as it Gets!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Clarke45963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine T, General Manager at Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Dear Clarke-45963,

Wow! Thank you so much for that fantastic review! We are honored and privileged to service our Navy families and we thank you for choosing us to celebrate this great occasion for your family!

Congratulations to your new graduate and best of luck to your family!

Warmest regards,
Christine and the Courtyard Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

My stay at the Courtyard was surely more than I expected. Walked into the lobby...was very clean, modern and smelled great! The staff went above and beyond to assure our stay was the best. The rooms were nice and modern. If ever I'm in the Waukegan/Gurnee area again, this is my first choice for lodging by far!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine T, General Manager at Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Dear Nicole W.,

On behalf of the entire team we are thrilled you enjoyed our new technology-rich lobby and Bistro; as well as our new refreshing rooms, and of course the heart of our hotel......our team!

We are proud to be your first choice and look forward to welcoming you back again and again!

Warmest regards,

Christine and the Courtyard Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at the Courtyard Waukegan/Gurnee while traveling for business. I have to say first and foremost that the staff are the clear stars of this hotel. Each and every one of them went out of their way to make my stay(s) as comfortable as possible. From Helen and Robert at the front desk, to Christine (the GM) behind the breakfast bar in the morning, everyone had a smile waiting for me and did the little things to make me truly feel like a special guest. It can be tough being on the road, but I always knew I had a great place to stay at night. If you are considering a trip to the area, don't hesitate to stay here.

I want to say a heartfelt thank you to everyone at this hotel for making this my home away from home for the past 6 months - Mr. G.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrG905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine T, General Manager at Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Dear Mr. G,

You have made the team's day with your brilliant review! We all want to thank YOU for choosing the Courtyard as your home away from home! You have been just a pleasure to serve all these months! We all feel we have made a true friend.

We are keeping our fingers crossed that your new position will bring you back to the Waukegan area so that we can serve up that, "Piping hot, Starbucks Grande Coffee" for you!

Warmest regards and best of luck to you and yours,

Christine and the Courtyard Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

I chose this hotel as I was working at the Greenbelt Cultural Center the following day. It was everything one would expect from a Courtyard: clean, efficient, and well run. I would definitely stay here again if I needed to stay in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DylanWadol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine T, General Manager at Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Dear DylanWadol,

Thank you for choosing the Courtyard Waukegan as your home away from home! Your generous review will certainly motivate our crew to continue delivering the fabulous service you mentioned. We appreciate your taking the time to share your experience with other travelers, so they too, can enjoy our friendly, clean and refreshing hospitality!

We hope you have the chance to come back and visit us again,

Warmest regards,

Christine and the Courtyard Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We had a son graduating from Great Lakes Naval Base and chose to stay at the Courtyard by Marriott because of the shuttle service they coordinated to the base. So, it was a bonus to have a newly renovated room beautifully appointed. Staff was helpful and friendly and we highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mlf268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine T, General Manager at Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Dear mlf268,

Congratulations to your son on his amazing accomplishment! Navy graduation day is our favorite day of the week!

We're thrilled the shuttle service through, Flash Cab, worked well for you and that you loved our new refreshing rooms!

We hope you'll have the opportunity to come visit us again, maybe a fun Six Flags trip!

Warmest regards,

Christine and the Courtyard Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waukegan
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Waukegan
0.8 mi away
Residence Inn Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Chicago Waukegan
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee
3.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Chicago Gurnee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee

Address: 3800 Northpoint Blvd, Lakehurst Rd, Waukegan, IL 60085-6717
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Waukegan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Waukegan
Price Range: $88 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee Hotel Waukegan
Courtyard Waukegan
Waukegan Courtyard
Waukegan Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing