We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you need to be here, it's a good choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Waukegan
Certificate of Excellence
Starke, Florida
Level Contributor
64 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“If you need to be here, it's a good choice”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

I chose this hotel as I was working at the Greenbelt Cultural Center the following day. It was everything one would expect from a Courtyard: clean, efficient, and well run. I would definitely stay here again if I needed to stay in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DylanWadol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine T, General Manager at Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear DylanWadol,

Thank you for choosing the Courtyard Waukegan as your home away from home! Your generous review will certainly motivate our crew to continue delivering the fabulous service you mentioned. We appreciate your taking the time to share your experience with other travelers, so they too, can enjoy our friendly, clean and refreshing hospitality!

We hope you have the chance to come back and visit us again,

Warmest regards,

Christine and the Courtyard Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    93
    21
    7
    0
See reviews for
205
25
13
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hudson, OH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We had a son graduating from Great Lakes Naval Base and chose to stay at the Courtyard by Marriott because of the shuttle service they coordinated to the base. So, it was a bonus to have a newly renovated room beautifully appointed. Staff was helpful and friendly and we highly recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mlf268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine T, General Manager at Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear mlf268,

Congratulations to your son on his amazing accomplishment! Navy graduation day is our favorite day of the week!

We're thrilled the shuttle service through, Flash Cab, worked well for you and that you loved our new refreshing rooms!

We hope you'll have the opportunity to come visit us again, maybe a fun Six Flags trip!

Warmest regards,

Christine and the Courtyard Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
107 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

I always check Tripadvisor for hotels when I travel. I had checked the ones in Waukegan because my son was graduating from the Navy. The hotel and staff were wonderful. The room was a renovated one and it was very tastefully decorated. The bed and pillows were fantastic. We ate breakfast there every morning. No need to go anywhere else. It is very well located. I would definitely stay here again. Tripadvisor saved my vacation yet again. Thanks.

Room Tip: If noise bothers you ask staff to select a room in the quieter section. We have no complaints, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank prnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine T, General Manager at Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear PRNUT,

We are so glad you checked Trip Advisor too!! We are very proud to be the number one hotel in Waukegan and we thank you for adding another fabulous review for other travelers to see what a great experience we provide.

We congratulate you on your new Navy Grad and wish your family all the best!

Warmest regards,

Christine and the Courtyard Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We visited for 3 nights, the purpose of our trip was a Navy Boot Camp Graduation. The hotel has been recently renovated and looks great. Although the renovation is not quite finished the remaining work did not affect us at all. The beds sleep GREAT, better than my bed at home, and I have a very good mattress at home. Nice inside lounge area and nice inner courtyard (which we unfortunately did not get to use because the weather was cold and rainy. The best part was the friendly and helpful staff, ready with maps, directions, restaurant recommendations, etc. But I must give a special kudos to Dan the manager, he goes the extra mile to provide assistance. I left my iPad charger at home and he wouldn't stop until he found one for me to use for the weekend. I would definitely stay at this location again. Keep up the great job Dan!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Beverly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine T, General Manager at Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Beverly S.,

Congratulations to your new Navy Grad!

We can't thank you enough for choosing us as your home away from home while in Waukegan! I'm happy to report our room renovation is now 100% complete and yes, our new refreshing rooms are fantastic! The Marriott bedding package is so loved, we also sell them!

Dan is a treasure to us and your recognition has made his day!

Thank you so much and all our best to your family,

Christine and the Courtyard Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
165 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have stayed here many times (mandatory for work), and have not been happy - but good news! They are finally updating all of the rooms. They aren't finished on the first floor yet, but I was on the 3rd, and the rooms were updated. There are brand new carpets, which were desperately needed. There are brand new beds, and they are now a nice height. They are comfortable, and the bedding linens and pillows are new. And thank you, thank you - they are using fitted sheets! Now there are no flat sheets coming completely undone - thank you Courtyard!! Curtains have been replaced, as well as the tub and shower surround. They did stop short of updating the lighting, desk space and night stands. I'm not sure if the sofa/chairs have been updated, because there weren't any in my room. There is a new desk chair. Overall, the changes have made for a much better experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WJ2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine T, General Manager at Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear WJ2011,

The renovation is complete!

Thank you very much for recognizing our new fabulous, refreshing rooms, and sharing your excitement with other travelers! I am thrilled you love the new product, and yes, all of the sofa sleepers and chairs are brand new too. Along with, new IPod dock alarm clocks, make-up/shaving mirrors, Paul Mitchel bath amenities and more!

I would really appreciate it if you would let me know the next time you will be visiting so that I may greet you in person and see how else we can personalize your visits. Christine.trippi@marriott.com

Thank you for your loyalty to the Courtyard Waukegan!

Christine and the Courtyard Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
191 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 295 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

If you are on the west side of the hotel the road noise from Highway 94 is unbearable. Ask for an inside courtyard room on the first floor to minimize the noise . . . or move down the street to the Residence Inn. Other than that, this hotel is adequate.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank JA M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine T, General Manager at Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear JA M,

Thank you very much for staying with us and for providing such valuable feedback.

Our team is always looking for ways to make our guests as comfortable as possible and to personalize their visits. Thank you for letting us know your preference, some guests love to have a courtyard room, a sunrise room, some have a floor preference, etc. That's what hospitality is all about, making each guest feel welcome and at home. We encourage all of our guests to let us know how we can make their stay the best, and we do all we can to fulfill those requests.

We look forward to personalizing your next visit,

Christine and the Courtyard Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Level Contributor
118 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We recently visited our grandson who is stationed at the Naval center in Great Lakes. We wanted something close to him and something comfortable and quiet. This hotel was a great choice. It was close to many restaurants and stores. There was some renovation going on, but we didn't hear a thing. If we go back, we'll stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dandgski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine T, General Manager at Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Dandgski,

Congratulations on your new Navy Grad! We are so honored you could join our many other happy Navy families while in town for graduation.

Thank you for your fabulous review of your stay, I am happy you found your accommodations to be clean, comfortable and that you enjoyed our super-star staff! Our room renovation is now complete, and happy to hear that this process was seamless during your visit.

On behalf of the entire team, we thank you for sharing your great experience with other travelers.

Christine and the Courtyard Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waukegan
0.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Chicago Waukegan
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
0.8 mi away
Residence Inn Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Waukegan
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee
3.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gurnee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee

Property: Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
Address: 3800 Northpoint Blvd, Lakehurst Rd, Waukegan, IL 60085-6717
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Waukegan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Waukegan
#1 Business Hotel in Waukegan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee Hotel Waukegan
Courtyard Waukegan
Waukegan Courtyard
Waukegan Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing