We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spend half my time at the Courtyard!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Waukegan
Certificate of Excellence
Vassalboro, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spend half my time at the Courtyard!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

I commute to Waukegan 2 to 3 times a month and always stay at the Courtyard. The staff took the time to get to know my preferences and are warm and friendly. It's nice to return to friendly faces, when I have to spend so much time away from home. The pass to LA fitness and the food at the Bistro are extra bonuses. I wouldn't consider staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: Ask to stay on the courtyard side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hufdldfhjfsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine T, General Manager at Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear hufdidfhjfsd,

Thank you for your excellent review! We really appreciate our loyal Marriott Reward members. I hope you are saving up those points for something really GOOD!

I am thrilled that our team has made you feel like part of the family and don't worry, we will never make you do the dishes! I'm glad our new fitness program with LA Fitness is helping you keep up with your healthy lifestyle while on the road.

Please make sure to stop by my office for a high five on your next visit!

Warmest regards,
Christine Trippi and the Courtyard Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    90
    21
    7
    0
See reviews for
201
25
13
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Very enjoyable relaxing stay at this excellent hotel. Friendly greeting, staff very knowledgeable about navy graduation and went way out of their way to help. The Bistro had great service and delicious food. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The lobby was very nice and enjoyable to just sit and read a book. We will definitely recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to this area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jantk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine T, General Manager at Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Jantk,

Congratulations on your new Navy Grad and thank you so much for the PERFECT review! We're so happy you are enjoying our new Bistro concept that features cook to order breakfast, dinner service, bar service and everyone's favorite....Starbucks coffee 24 hours a day! You can look forward to all Courtyard hotels having this great concept by the end of 2013.

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve your family! We are proud and honored to be a part of this very special occasion!

Warmest regards,

Christine Trippi and the Courtyard Crew

Christine Trippi and the Courtyard Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleburg Heights, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

I stayed at the Mariott Spring Hills last time I was in Waukegan, loved the room, huge. The Courtyard rooms are smaller but I liked walking out the sliding glass door to the sitting areas in the court yard. Both of the Mariott hotels were spotless, they are both located in the Fountain Square area.

Room Tip: Pick first floor room facing the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KAH7764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine T, General Manager at Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear KAH7764,

We LOVED your review title, "Very clean!" Great hospitality and a comfortable clean room is what Marriott is all about, and we are so proud that both our Waukegan Marriott locations have served you well!

The Courtyard's traditional architecture is very "Homey" and comfortable with our patios, balconies and lush green courtyard to relax, meet with family or colleagues and we are pleased you enjoyed this feature.

Please let me know when you will be back in the area, I would love to greet you in person and thank you for your loyalty to Marriott!

Warmest regards,

Christine Trippi and the Courtyard Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hubbardston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

all around great hotel. shopping plaza across the street from the hotel that has almost anything needed. there is a great sidewalk that encircles the shopping plaza for walking or running but be careful crossing the street to get there... the desk staff was great and helpful. there is a lobby computer big board that helps identify "things/places" around the area and it gives a free printout.
no continental breakfast but there is a fridge in the room and with the supersized walmart right there, it is easy to buy food stuff and keep it for the stay.
felt safe with the security keys to access the hotel. didnt use the shuttle, did go early to park in the navy's parking garage. noticed that the various shuttles dropped off folks at one end of the hall and they were standing outside in the rain while waiting to get in. parking in the garage at the other end of the hall we were under cover to get into the foyer entrance. found it more convenient driving ourselves.
would recommend staying here-location, convenience, friendly and clean

Room Tip: requested adjoining rooms and got it. about 30 to 45 minute drive to chicago-traffic makes a HUGE di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoisHubbardston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine T, General Manager at Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Lois Hubbardston,

Congratulations on your new Navy Grad!!

We are thrilled you enjoyed your visit at the Courtyard and we thank you for the fabulous review! Your specific information is very helpful for our future guests, especially our Navy guests!

We are so honored to help our Navy families and look forward to welcoming you back!

Warmest regards,

Christine and the Courtyard Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton
Level Contributor
104 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

This is an excellent hotel. They are very close to a Starbucks and they have a shuttle (Not free but cheap) to the graduation. The beds very very comfortable and the hotel was very quiet. The staff went above and beyond. The sofa bed we planned on having our girls sleep on was a little too small for the size of our girls (teenagers) and they quickly brought us a roll away. I am sure there were cheaper hotels but we were very happy.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zabe123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine T, General Manager at Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Zabe123,

We couldn't ask for more than a perfect score! Thank you so much for your generous feedback! Your comments really inspire our team to continue delivering exceptional hospitality!
Just in case you missed it, we also serve Starbucks right in our Bistro 24hrs a day. Between our Bistro and the Starbucks location just outside the hotel, the Courtyard will make sure you get your much needed cup of Joe!

A heartfelt congratulations to your new Navy grad from our Courtyard Crew!

Warmest regards,
Christine Trippi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

Great staff helped to make my stay during my son's graduation from the Navy. It was an emotional time for me but their kindness helped me through it. Location was great. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank j i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine T, General Manager at Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear J I,

On behalf of the entire Courtyard Crew we congratulate you on your new Navy Grad. and thank you for a perfect score! We understand how emotional this time is for you and we really work hard to make your visit as safe, easy and fun as possible!

All our best to your new grad, and thank you again for your generous comments to motivate our team!

Warmest regards,

Christine Trippi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

This hotel is a great location for the Gurnee area. The rooms were clean. Overall very good hotel. The lobby and pool area were great. Would love to see the rooms updated soon! Would also be nice to have some sort of night reception for guests.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelformechicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine T, General Manager at Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Travel from Chicago,

Thank you so much for choosing us as your home away from home while in Waukegan! We really appreciate your taking the time to let other travelers know what a great place the Courtyard is to stay!
I am happy to let you know that in January, all of 149 rooms will be remodeled. Including new beds, decor, and more! We are all very excited and we hope you'll get the opportunity to come check us out!

Thank you again and safe travels,

Christine Trippi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waukegan
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
0.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Chicago Waukegan
0.8 mi away
Residence Inn Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Waukegan
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee
3.1 mi away
Sleep Inn at Great Lakes
Sleep Inn at Great Lakes
#1 of 2 in Lake Bluff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee

Property: Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
Address: 3800 Northpoint Blvd, Lakehurst Rd, Waukegan, IL 60085-6717
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Waukegan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Waukegan
#1 Business Hotel in Waukegan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee Hotel Waukegan
Courtyard Waukegan
Waukegan Marriott
Waukegan Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing