We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“#1 Hotel Staff of the hundreds of hotels I've visited”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Waukegan
Certificate of Excellence
Lexington, Kentucky, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“#1 Hotel Staff of the hundreds of hotels I've visited”
Reviewed April 18, 2012

For the past 6 years, I have been staying at over 20 different hotels a year. (Usually 1 to 2 hotel reservations a week). These range from some of the nicest hotels in the world to your "average" hotel. I have yet to stay at one where the staff was this friendly. Everything at this hotel is above average but nothing compares to the attitude of the staff from the general manager, bistro staff, front desk staff, engineers, and house keeping. One new benefit.... LA Fitness passes that you can get for free if you are an elite member or for $5 for everyone else.

Staff: Unmatched

Lobby: The "pit" is awesome. There is a nice secluded area where you and some friends can watch TV and hang out in a relaxing area.

Food: Great.

Internet: They have recently upgraded their internet so it is dependent and capable of streaming video/tv.

Pool Area: This is a very very big indoor pool area for a courtyard with nice furniture and tables.

I have stayed at the Residence Inn and the Springhill Suites in the same area.
I found that the Residence Inn is very outdated and the rooms carry a very strong smell of food that the previous guest cooked in it. The Springhill Suites is okay with nice rooms, but I'm not a fan of the lobby.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cody D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine T, General Manager at Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this review, April 20, 2012
Dear Cody D,

Thank you so much for making the Courtyard Waukegan your home away from home!

Wow, Wow, Wow! I couldn't pay for a nicer review! We are humbled and honored by your generous comments! I'm thrilled you are enjoying our new internet and fitness package.

As the new General Manager I really appreciate your taking the time to post your positive feedback for other guests to view and see what a great place the Courtyard is to stay! I am excited to share your thoughtful review with my team. This will certainly motivate them to continue delivering exceptional hospitality!

I thank you in advance for telling all your friends and colleagues about the wonderful service and amenities we offer!

On behalf of all of us at the Marriott Courtyard Waukegan, we look forward to making your return visit a perfect stay!

Warmest regards,
Christine Trippi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    94
    21
    7
    0
See reviews for
206
25
13
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waukegan, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Wonderful breakfast with best egg whites and whole wheat toast I ever had. Such a friendly staff too!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank akaka36854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine T, General Manager at Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this review, April 20, 2012
Dear akaka36854,

Thank you so much for choosing the Courtyard as your home away from home!

As the new General Manager I wanted to thank you for taking the time to post your positive feedback for other guests to view and see what a great place the Courtyard is to stay and have breakfast! I will give your compliments to the "Chef!" I’m thrilled you had a wonderful visit with us and I am excited to share your generous comments with my team. This will certainly motivate them to continue delivering exceptional hospitality!

On behalf of all of us at the Marriott Courtyard Waukegan, we look forward to making your return visit a perfect stay!

Warmest regards,
Christine Trippi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern VA
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2012

The friendly service at this hotel set it apart from other Courtyard Hotels and made up for a couple of minor inconveniences. Several of the front desk personnel offered suggestions for restaurants and had discount offers for their favorites. The staff at the breakfast bar seemed to love their jobs, which made mornings a bit more cheery than usual. Unfortunately, the side doors did not unlock with room keys - each evening there was a parade of guests walking around the parking lot from their cars to the front entrance. Also, the lobby internet connection for printing boarding passes was painfully slow. They did say they were going to be upgrading that.

Room Tip: Ask to be on the side near (but not next to) the one elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank novaguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine T, General Manager at Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Dear Novaguest,

Thank you so much for choosing the Courtyard as your home away from home!

As the new General Manager I wanted to thank you for taking the time to post your positive feedback for other guests to view and see what a great place the Courtyard is to stay! I’m thrilled you had a wonderful visit with us and I am excited to share your generous comments with my team. This will certainly motivate them to continue delivering exceptional hospitality!

Yes, our internet is currently in process of an upgrade and it will be lighting fast within two weeks! We are all very excited. Thank you also for letting us know about the issue you had with the outside doors. I have our engineering team on it and I appreciate your feedback - it only helps us to continue delivering the legendary service Marriott is known for!

On behalf of all of us at the Marriott Courtyard Waukegan, we look forward to making your return visit a perfect stay!

Warmest regards,
Christine Trippi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Salmon
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2012

We spent a week at the Courtyard Marriott Hotel in Waukegan while attending our son's Navy Boot Camp graduation at Great Lakes. The staff was superior and made us feel at home and welcomed. The General Manager Christine and Front Desk Staff Helen and Dan were standout employees, but everyone treated us well. Our Navy Grad was welcomed at the Hotel, and they even put out decorations for the weekend to celebrate and recognize the sailors accomplishments. It was fun visiting with other "Navy Moms' and dads as we were all so happy to be there and were all so excited to see our sons/daughters. The staff shared in our excitement which we really appreciated. Having Starbucks next door and available in the hotel was a bonus. The location was perfect for us as we didn't use a rental car, but had easy access to many restaurants and a super Walmart for basic needs. Loved the pool and hot tub. They gave us a refrigerator since we were staying extra long which was nice. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine T, General Manager at Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Dear Donna C,

Thank you so much for that FABULOUS post! I am so excited to share this with Helen, Dan and the whole team!

We enjoy creating a warm, welcoming environment for our Navy families and we are so honored you chose us to celebrate this exciting event! An event like this will be remembered forever and we are thrilled to be a part of it!

Congratulations to your Navy Grad and we hope to see your family again soon!!

Warmest regards,
Christine Trippi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2012

We recently had a weekend stay at this location and the staff took the extra steps to make the "young" guests feel at home. The Nickelodean touches really made a difference with the set of 5 yr old triplets! My sister and her family needed a break and this was a fabulous getaway...

The rooms are spacious and the well maintained. The front desk staff is quick to respond and very attentive! I would highly recommend this hotel for the family on the go who simply want to relax for a long weekend. The front desk staff is also very helpful with pointing out local attractions and events tthat will round out your stay!

The breakfast bar is cost effective and you have the option of a simple bowl of oatmeal or a breakfast scrambler (yum). All in all a great stay...make it your mini-vacation getaway..

Much appreciation from a Happy Auntie!

Room Tip: The front desk is very helpful with selections...depending on the season try to get a room with a ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpringFling2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine T, General Manager at Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Dear Happy Auntie!


Thank you so much for your positive feedback! We enjoyed having your family visit and it is ALWAYS fun to host triplets!! I am thrilled to share your comments with our team, it will certainly motivate them to continue delivering the legendary hospitality Marriott is known for!

On behalf of all of us at the Marriott Courtyard Waukegan, we look forward to making your return visit another perfect stay!

Much appreciation from a Happy General Manager! :)
Christine Trippi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2012

This is what the typical Courtyard has become, unfortunately. They do have the newer lobby with The Bistro 'restaurant', which is at least a help. The placement of elevators in Courtyards is always frustrating, because they are only on one side, and you have to walk quite a ways to get to it. If your room is on the opposite side of the elevator - plan extra time! The rooms are typical. They are okay, but the beds aren't comfortable, the pillows are very lumpy, and the bedding looked dingy, flat and old. The room was clean mostly though, except for the sofa which was spotted. I wish the Courtyards would update their rooms.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WJ2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2011

For a family of six, the two queen room was rather spacious. We had enough room for two sleeping bags on the floor too boot. The bathroom in our room was extremely quiet. They did a fantastic job of soundproofing the living space and the bathroom walls. We couldnt hear our toliet flush, let alone the upstairs or downstairs rooms.

The pool area was nice and clean. It didnt have an overwhleming smell of cholrine like you get with some hotel pools.

It was in a very easy location with a lot of restaurants in walking distance. Denny's is literally right next door and open 24 hours. There is also a detactched Starbucks coffee infront of the hotel.

Everything was very clean and comfortable. It was nice to have your own numeric air condition control panel. My husband loved that we could maintain a constant temper in the room with so many kids.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soccermomof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waukegan
0.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Chicago Waukegan
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Waukegan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Residence Inn Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee
3.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gurnee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee

Property: Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
Address: 3800 Northpoint Blvd, Lakehurst Rd, Waukegan, IL 60085-6717
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Waukegan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Waukegan
#1 Family Hotel in Waukegan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee Hotel Waukegan
Courtyard Waukegan
Waukegan Courtyard
Waukegan Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing