We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't be put off”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Waukegan / Gurnee
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Waukegan
Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't be put off”
Reviewed June 28, 2011

When we first arrived at America's Best Value inn, we were a little nervous. It doesnt appear, at first glance, to be in the best location. When we checked in, we were greeted by the nicest receptionist I think I have ever encountered. When we walked into our room, it was nice and clean. However, there was a VERY loud family next door and the dad even apologized in advance saying his family, who were taking up 2 rooms, were going to be very loud! I went down to the desk where I was immediately placed in another room and the receptionist continually apologized. The rooms were large, and comfy and clean. They offer personal shuttle service to and from the parks and that was a HUGE plus for us. They gave us their number and you called about 15 minutes before you needed to be picked up. They are super fast and super friendly The discount tickets to Six Flags and the water park were lower than anywhere we could find! And with the Free shuttle service, you save a min. of 20.00 a day parking. And they wouldnt even let us tip them! We ABSOLUTELY will return. The owners are on site and they are WONDERFUL people!!!

Room Tip: we stayed in room 123 & 122.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zales127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    11
    7
    19
    34
See reviews for
57
9
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
lacrosse, wi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 31, 2011

I was not very satified with my experience at this hotel. Arrived with 4 cops outside breaking up a hotel party full of underagers. The bathroom was filthy, floor was slimy and hairs were left all over the floor and shower. The bathroom in the hall didnt have paper towels for the 2 day stay. I went to the front desk to ask for extra towels and got no service. The continental breakfast was never refilled and the orange juice was empty.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilacs99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Waukegan hotels

Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed April 20, 2011

The staff was very courteous, friendly, and helpful. The hotel was clean and accommodated our needs. We recommend this hotel to everyone. Hotel is also located in a convenient area. Close to the base, shopping, and restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonia069_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 28, 2011

Once we checked in we noticed the bad smell right away. Must have been some kind of cleaner used to cover up animal smells or smoke. Caused eyes to burn and nose to run and coughing. Offered another room but it was the same. They refunded the next night stay but not that night. We changed hotels anyway. You couldn't pay me to stay there. Holiday Inn Express was only $30 more and the difference was night and day in every way.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rideatrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 18, 2011

We had four adults booked into a suite and decided to have two separate rooms. They were very accomodating. Rooms were clean and maid service was every day! We stayed three days and have no negative comments. The managers are on site and had an answer for every question. It was like home in a hotel. The pricing is very reasonable. The pool I guess could have been a few degrees warmer I guess..

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank womanoftheword
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2010

Stinky. Dirty. Wandered into the top floor by accident while trying to find our room and found it full of teen/ twenty non-English speaking kids sitting in the hall and refusing to move out of the way or allow us to pass without climbing over them or their piles of stacked empty pizza boxes. They also had been indulging in some pot smoking as was apparent by the aroma wafting in the air. But I digress. We got a junior suite so that my adult son and three teens could all be together but have some space. The room was big enough BUT the pervasive smell of urine in one room was overpowering. Plus the suite area was separate from the main hotel which made getting to any of the hotel services such as the pool or breakfast rather difficult. It also seemed to make accessing the "free" wireless internet next to impossible and caused the cable to function at intervals. The headboard was broken and laying on the floor and the door refused to lock without being shoved into the frame to the point that it was almost impossible to open. It was also in a somewhat questionable area but it WAS cheap. I guess you do get what you pay for. Since we only stayed one night, we managed to survive but never ever again would I stay there nor recommend that anyone, even my most despised enemy, do so.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveleria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2010

We had a horrible experience at this hotel. The first room they gave us was dirty and had a bad smell. We requested a different room and they gave us a "family suite." This room was not much better. The floors were dirty and the bathroom floor was sticky. There were ants crawling all over the bathroom sink. All the furniture was really old and worn and fixtures were falling off the walls. There was even old food on the carpet. There was also a very large group of young people partying and drinking in the parking lot all night long. We were afraid to leave our car in the parking lot. We called around at midnight to find a different hotel for our second night in the area and left as early as we could out of there!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank birdiestew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waukegan
0.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Gurnee - Waukegan
1.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Chicago Waukegan
1.3 mi away
Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Waukegan
19.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Barrington
1.7 mi away
Residence Inn Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Waukegan / Gurnee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Waukegan / Gurnee

Property: Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Waukegan / Gurnee
Address: 411 S Green Bay Rd, Waukegan, IL 60085-4823
Location: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Waukegan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Waukegan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Waukegan / Gurnee 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Waukegan / Gurnee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn And Suites - Waukegan / Gurnee
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Waukegan / Gurnee Hotel Waukegan
Americas Best Value Inn Waukegan
Best Western Waukegan
Waukegan Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing