We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Place”
Review of Genesee Theatre

Genesee Theatre
Ranked #1 of 16 things to do in Waukegan
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The historic Genesee Theatre is a 2,400 seat entertainment venue located in Waukegan, Illinois. Located along the northern shore of Lake Michigan between Chicago and Milwaukee, the Genesee Theatre is a hub of activity for Northern Illinois and Southern Wisconsin. Hosting a variety of music, comedy, and dance, the Genesee marks Waukegan as a destination for high-quality entertainment once reserved for major cities. The Genesee was built in 1927 as a vaudeville stage and movie palace before being restored in 2004 to its modern glory as a live entertainment venue boasting one of the largest stages in the Midwest, an acoustically dynamic auditorium, and a beautifully restored grand lobby for intimate and elegant events.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

My husband and I were there for the Ron White show.. Just beautiful! It was easy to find, easy to park. We really enjoyed our visit

Thank auggie2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry F, Manager at Genesee Theatre, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Thank you for the great compliments. Make sure to sign up for our email list on our website to stay up to date on all upcoming events.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (207)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

151 - 155 of 207 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2013

The entrance areas and performance area have a lot of old character, with very detailed work on walls and ceilings, pretty chandeliers, and well-kept places for displays and lounging between acts. We saw a great adaptation of The Nutcracker at The Genesee Theatre. Waukegan's surrounding buildings and businesses are not much to look at or to draw us into the area, so we prefer going to Gurnee to eat after a performance. Parking is available nearby, both valet and diy for a nominal fee.

Thank hdbangr11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry F, Guest Relations Manager at Genesee Theatre, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Thank you so much for the great review. We are so glad you enjoyed the performance and hope you return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

First time here and I love the place. Large bathrooms and bar/lounge on the balcony level. Walk into the seating area an you are taken back in time to a glorious theater. Seats are larger and well cushioned, unlike most of the Chicago theaters. Staff is knowledgeable of the seating and very friendly. Lighting and sound were right on.
Limited dining options in the close vicinity. Street parking if you are lucky to find a space. Parking garage a block away, we paid 10.00 on a Friday night.

Thank roadtrippersx2Chicao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry F, Guest Relations Manager at Genesee Theatre, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Thank you for the great review. Everyone here at the Genesee Theatre takes great pride in making a guest's experience a memorable one.

We hope to see you at a future show.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

The theatre was once a movie theatre. It was remodeled to accommodate plays,concerts and more. The beautiful architecture was kept and is reminiscent of an old work theatre. It is on the smaller side but that is part of it's charm.

Thank Pirate1215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry F, Guest Relations Manager at Genesee Theatre, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Thank you for the great compliment.

We always love to hear about guests feelings about the "Gem" on Genesee Street.

We hope to see you at a future show.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Great theater for a night out without having to travel all the way into Chicago. It's gorgeous and maintained incredibly well. Have been here for plays, comedians and concerts and they all sound great and seems no matter where you sit you have a decent view.

Thank Tarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry F, Manager at Genesee Theatre, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Thank you for the wonderful review. Everyone here at the Genesee Theatre take great pride in our facility.

We hope you return soon very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Genesee Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Genesee Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing