We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“From sin to sanctification”
Review of Genesee Theatre

Genesee Theatre
Ranked #1 of 16 things to do in Waukegan
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The historic Genesee Theatre is a 2,400 seat entertainment venue located in Waukegan, Illinois. Located along the northern shore of Lake Michigan between Chicago and Milwaukee, the Genesee Theatre is a hub of activity for Northern Illinois and Southern Wisconsin. Hosting a variety of music, comedy, and dance, the Genesee marks Waukegan as a destination for high-quality entertainment once reserved for major cities. The Genesee was built in 1927 as a vaudeville stage and movie palace before being restored in 2004 to its modern glory as a live entertainment venue boasting one of the largest stages in the Midwest, an acoustically dynamic auditorium, and a beautifully restored grand lobby for intimate and elegant events.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Hate to admit it, but I remember when this theater was reduced to projecting porn (when it was "fashionable," in the '70s). Next, I caught a spirited (and quite good) gospel shout-out. Today, the theater has been remodeled into a Mecca for citizens (downtown Waukegan had become an empty, ghostly, threatening--esp. to people distrusting minority groups--environment, virtually written off and forgotten by the majority of citizens claiming the city as their home. The Genesee Theatre (please spell it "Theater"--cut the pretense, please) has been the single most important development to change that, attracting thousands of people with shows that are guaranteed to spark recognition (celebrity pop performers) and appeal to a wide cross-section.

1  Thank Samuel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry F, Guest Relations Manager at Genesee Theatre, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Thank you so much for the great compliments. Also thank you for spelling Genesee Theatre correctly ;) We hope to see you at one or our future performances or films.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (207)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

161 - 165 of 207 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2013

A very large former movie palace, now beautifully restored and available for live performances. The acoustics and sight-lines from every part of the house were excellent for the Mariachi opera, "Cruzar la Cara de la Luna" for a packed and enthusiastic audience. A well-stocked bar in the front added to the convivial atmosphere before the performance.

Thank Laviajera324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry F, Guest Relations Manager at Genesee Theatre, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Thank you for the compliments. Everyone in the renovation process made sure that theater was beautifully restored while not restricting enjoyment of the performance. We hope to see you at a future event.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

There is not a bad seat in this wonderful theater! I just love it! I go there every chance I get. I have seen plays, movies, and concerts there. There is a parking garage right across the street.

1  Thank 707carolyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry F, Front Office Manager at Genesee Theatre, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2013

Thank you for the comments. Be sure to come back soon and visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

This theater is beautiful and well cared for. We were there for a children's show and the experience was really good. Easy street parking, and the harbor nearby make for a picturesque experience which was not what I expected in rough-and-tumble Waukegan.

Thank Thegoodegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry F, Front Office Manager at Genesee Theatre, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2013

Thank you for the compliments. Be sure to tell your friends and family about our theater and come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

My family and I attended the FAME Show Choir Competition at this theater and is was a gorgeous building inside and out. The chandelier's were amazing in this place. This took me back to a different time. Great atmosphere for movies and concerts. Tremendous job restoring this beautiful place. Very clean and elegant. What a gem.

Thank KevinTravel19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry F, Front Office Manager at Genesee Theatre, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Thank you for the great compliments. It's was our pleasure to make your visit to our "Gem on Genesee St." memorable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Genesee Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Genesee Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing