We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful”
Review of Motel 6 Waukegan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Motel 6 Waukegan
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Waukegan
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awful”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

This place smells of stinky disifenctant spray. The covers on the bed smell like the inside of a bowling shoe. The carpet had a big sticky stain and there was a big crusty looking 'something' on the bathroom floor. There was a half used roll of toilet paper sitting on top of the empty roll holder. The guy at the counter was rude and gave us incorrect information. He told us that we would have a shuttle to the Navy base where we were attending graduation, for as long as one was needed. Truth was there was only one shuttle ride very early in the morning. This room is not worth the 66.00 they charged. We moved to another place and for 20.00 more got an excellent 4 star hotel. Don't stay here!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    4
    5
    3
    19
See reviews for
19
5
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 12, 2013

I was very skeptical to read mixed reviews abt this motel 6. Went there for my son's Naval Graduation from his bootcamp. Upon checking in we noticed Staff was super friendly and on top of everything, the motel was very clean, its grounds & rooms were clean and well equipped. The bed we had (room #220) was very good; seem liked a brand new matress...haha. There was absolutely nothing else I would improve. Me and wife had a great stay. Thank you motel 6 and its staff.

Room Tip: Try their King sizes. It had better quality mattresses than Queen size rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Staying at this location for my brother's RTC Graduation at Great lakes. The motel is only 10 mins away from the base. Staff is great! Very polite and helpful! Rooms are dated and could use things like flat screen TVs, hair dryers, irons, etc. but room is very spacious and clean! Beds are very comfortable! In short, for $50 bucks it can't get any better than this especially when all other hotels in the area wants to charge 70+!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Felicia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepherd, Michigan, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

I have worked in the hotel/restaurant business for 14 yrs and I have never stayed at a hotel that was so unsanitary. We reserved two rooms for our family, for our son's Navy graduation. There was hair in the beds, hair in the tubs, hair in the folds of the towels. Our stepdaughter and her mom had crusty stains and personal hair in their bed and tub. When the housekeeper came to clean the rooms she used one brush continuously dipped in a solution from room to room to clean the tubs. When we checked in our room had no washcloths, no shampoo or conditioner. The ice machine didn't work and the staff looked unwashed(greasy hair, very worn tee shirts etc), very unprofessional. You couldn't pay me to ever stay in that hotel again.

Room Tip: find a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Nikki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We came to Great Lakes area to see our son graduate from the naval training base. We could not have had a better experience at this hotel. The room was lovely, spacious and clean. The room came with a king size bed and fridge/microwave, everything we could need. We used our naval graduation to get a fantastic rate and the location was less than 10 mins from the naval base. The staff went out of their way to help us every time we asked for anything and gave us great recommendations for dining establishments in the area. Finally, the breakfast restaurant - Emily's Pancake House - was far more than we expected with eggs, sausage, waffles, yogurt, fruit, etc. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting this area. Fantastic choice!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Motel 6 have Bed Bugs please check Bed Bug registry befor you make reservation this hotel is under the bed bug registry but under a different name i was ther on 9/27/12 to attend a graduation at US Navy academy with my family.The manager tried to tell me it was a spidder i looked it up on line the bugs was alike and it was a bed bug i killed one with a napkin nothing but blood was on the napkin. please dont go there .

Room Tip: not at 31 N. Greene Bay Rd
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tanika j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakdale
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Motel 6 has a reputation for clean, comfortable rooms that are budget friendly; I should know, I work in one! But staying in this motel was hands down the worst motel experience of my life! My family and I were looking for a well-priced room in close vicinity to the NAVY base, for graduation, and we chose this motel because of the reviews calling it "clean and cheap." That was a horrible decision, we should have been able to tell by what looked like a drug deal in the parking lot! On the way to the room, after checking in, there was a guy smoking pot in the indoor hall! The room itself wasn't bad - except for the cardboard bed. After 20 minutes in the room, we decided to turn the A/C unit on, and it flooded 1/4 the room with five minutes. At that point, we decided to leave. There were panhandlers in the pool area and I can't even begin to describe how filthy and out of stock the lobby restroom was! The only good part of the less than 45 minutes I was at the hotel was how helpful the gentleman at the front desk was. He was gracious and understanding and immediately gave me a refund. My advice: stay as far away from this Motel 6 as possible! It gives the rest of a bad name!

Room Tip: The Best Western in the town over is a little bit pricier, but it's beautiful & totally wort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meg_WOakdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waukegan
0.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Gurnee - Waukegan
1.5 mi away
Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
1.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Chicago Waukegan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Super 8 Gurnee
Super 8 Gurnee
#8 of 11 in Gurnee
211 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Waukegan
3.9 mi away
Sleep Inn at Great Lakes
Sleep Inn at Great Lakes
#1 of 2 in Lake Bluff
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Waukegan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Waukegan

Property: Motel 6 Waukegan
Address: 31 N Green Bay Rd, Waukegan, IL 60085-4406 (Formerly Best Inns Of Waukegan)
Location: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Waukegan
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Waukegan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Waukegan 2*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Waukegan is conveniently located near Six Flags Great America, The Great Lakes Naval Training Center, Gurnee Mills Mall, and Lake County Fairgrounds. A season outdoor heated pool, Free Wi-Fi, and truck parking available. Modern rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Motel-6, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Motel 6 Waukegan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Six Waukegan
Waukegan Motel Six
Waukegan Motel 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing