We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst holiday inn express i have stayed at”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Waukegan
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Waukegan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 23, 2012

This location is great for six flags which is why we picked it but it is not sound proof at all heard slamming doors all night. Was not told when making reservations that there hot tub was not working which is one of the ammenities we were looking forward to using so to say the (2) 17 year old girls were not happy after there long day at the park they were hoping to relax in the hot tub. So overall experince was not good will not be returning to this property as there is so many more hotels in area for same price

Room Tip: dont get a room by the exit doors. as we were told that is what was slamming all night but im sorry...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Waukegan
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 136 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2012

I love staying at the Holiday Inn Express-Waukegan because I have access to businesses, family, and friends. I would like to say that you have an excellent staff there. They all were eager to assist me with my needs. I especially want to thank Ms. Ann for going above and beyond in assisting with my stay. I was so last minute!

Just know that this Holiday Inn Express is highly recommended in my book! Keep up the good work

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jewell F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

I could not be happier with the overall experience I had with HI Express Waukegan. The rooms extremely clean the staff very helpful and the manager (Dan) was excellent and informative about the area. Not only would I stay again I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We were in town to watch out son graduate from Navy bootcamp. This hotel was very close to the Great Lakes Command and offered a nice place to sleep. The hotel also offers a shuttle to the graduation!! We were in room 118 on the first floor. The back door was right off our room which made coming and going very easy. The beds were very comfortable and were queen size. The room had a refrigerator and a microwave. The bathroom was nic and big. The only down side to it was that during our stay the hotel was installing Direct TV so sometimes the viewing was not up to par. I am sure it is fine now. The only down side was we had to chase after vending machines on upper floors that did not want to take change. They did not accept credit cards so make sure you bring cash. The Wal-mart and dunkin donoughts is right nest to the hotel and it is only a mile from Sundance Saloom where Sarge holds a great Meet and Greet for Naval families. This hotel offers free breakfast but due to the early hour we needed to be at graduation we did not try it. Overall this was a great hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor if you want a coke at midnight ;)
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I recently stayed at the HI Express in Waukegan with 2other families for our weekend trip to Six Flags Great America. From the moment we walked into the hotel, we were treated with exceptional customer service. The Front Desk staff were extremely helpful and kind, and went out of their way to help us with our evening meal accomodations. Our room was tastefully decorated and very clean. The hotel had just installed Direct TV which was another plus. The complimentary breakfast was quite abundant and had many choices. The pool is small but we overlooked that because everything else was so great. It was a quiet hotel even though they were booked with many families. The business center was small but had all of the equipment necessary. Overall, I would give this hotel an A for location, cleanliness, and amenities. I would give them an A+ on their employees and their friendly and helpful attitudes. Kate at the desk was extremely helpful and pleasant and should be recognized for her outstanding customer service skills.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamsmqt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Pros:
Staff pleasant despite annoying teen age soccer teams (I was with one of them)
Bed is comfortable
Pool is nice

Cons:
No washer/dryer
Worst breakfast and coffee ever, see sheraton or marriott for a cheap but much better b-fast
Hot tub out of order
Closet sized business center with one pc
Construction or storage in lobby?
Very bad lobby and room coffee and no tea or chocolate
Two queen bed room is small
Questionable quality bathroom remodel
Next door bowling alley is scary at night

Room Tip: Top floors away from elevators.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annetho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Second time staying here and will stay again.Hotel is clean, staff friendly. Six flags is only 4 miles away. Lots of dining options close to hotel and also a walmart. Bowling located right behind hotel. 24 hour McDonalds within walking distance. Room was clean and beds were super comfortable with a soft and firm pillow. Room has a microwave, coffee maker and refrigerator. Nice pool area but hot tub was out of order when we stayed. The front desk did inform us the hot tub was out of order and there were also plenty of signs stating that-was nice to be informed right up front. My husband used the fitness center every morning. Breakfast was excellent-different choices each morning. Had scrambled eggs, biscuits and gravy one day. Cheese omelets one day and ham, omelets with peppers & onions the next. They also have a cool pancake machine that makes fresh pancakes. No waffle machine. Yogurt, fruit, cereal, oatmeal.
No complaints about this great hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nebraskamamamouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waukegan
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
0.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Chicago Waukegan
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
1.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Gurnee - Waukegan
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Waukegan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Waukegan

Address: 611 Lakehurst Rd, Waukegan, IL 60085-6707
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Waukegan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Waukegan
Price Range: $98 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Waukegan 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This brand new Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Waukegan, Illinois is near Six Flags Great America and Great Lakes Naval Base.Our Waukegan hotel provides premium amenities and an ideal location off I-94 near the Gurnee Mills Outlet Mall, the Greenbelt Forest Preserve and the scenic Illinois State Beach Park. Your family will enjoy a comfortable stay at our Waukegan hotel near Six Flags Great America, one of the largest theme parks in the US. Our hotel in Waukegan also offers quick access to many other area attractions, like the Rink-Side Family Entertainment Center, Russell Military Museum and the Wildlife Discovery Center. Downtown Chicago is just 45 miles from our Waukegan hotel. Business travelers looking for lodging in Waukegan will be pleased by our Waukegan, IL accommodations, located near Amhurst and North Point Industrial Park and area businesses including CDW, Abbott, Baxter, Akzo Nobel and HSBC. Take advantage of our business services, which include three large meeting rooms, catering available. 24-hour business center and free high-speed, wireless Internet access for your convenience. During your stay at our smoke-free hotel near Six Flags be sure to enjoy the indoor pool, relaxing whirlpool, 24-hour fitness center and complimentary hot breakfast bar. Check out our great Waukegan hotel room deals and start planning your trip to the Great Lakes region today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Waukegan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Waukegan
Holiday Inn Express Waukegan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing