We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Expect Five Stars when you are paying for Three...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Waukegan
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Waukegan
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
99 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Don't Expect Five Stars when you are paying for Three...”
Reviewed December 27, 2011

This hotel is located a short distance from Great Lakes Naval Base, restaurants, major highways, shopping and shopping malls. Location is fantastic if you have business anywhere from North Chicago to Milwaukee.
We visited this location on 26, December. The hotel was basically empty. We arrived a few hours before check in, and not only was "early check in" no problem but our reservation was upgraded to a Suite because of our Priority Club status. Thank you for that Holiday Inn! If you are paying cash plan on a $100.00 hold on your card, on top of the money you are spending for the room, for incidentals. I am not sure what incidentals you can put on your room in a hotel that has no restaurant, bar, room service, shuttle service etc. I thought that was ridiculous considering the circumstances but "policy is policy".
When booking a "Suite" here please do not expect a MGM Grand Suite. The Suite gives you a love seat sized couch, an extra chair and an extra little area to accomodate the extra furnishings. The room was basically clean athough my son did find a "pony tail holder" left from a previous guest on the sheet. The bathroom was spotless and the overall cleanliness of the room and hotel was excellent in my opinion. The mattresses were incredibly worn and soft. If you need a firmer matress for comfort this was not the place to find it. That was really the only problem we had with the room furnishings.
The glaring negative in our stay was the group, or couple that was partying until 1230 in the room next door to ours. That was tolerable since this trip was a Holiday for us as well. The pounding of the headboard on our wall, from the next room at 0400, awakening all of us was really a touch that wasn't needed during this stay. I understand no hotel can figure what kind of behavior their guests are going to engage in during a stay. Considering the fact the hotel was literally 5% (maybe) occupied we could not figure out why they wouldn't put a room or two between the few guests they had on the third floor. All of the sound and noise from the room next to ours was easily heard which lends credence to the adage "paper thin walls". I was awkwardly trying to explain to my 10 year old son, the "noise" coming from the next room was from weight lifting or something.
They offer free breakfast which actually is not half bad. Eggs, sausage, a pancake making machine, biscuits and gravy,etc, were all available. One of the best free breakfasts we have run across in a hotel.
Overall this hotel is a decent value for what we paid for it (less than $100.00 for a night. I was not expecting the "Ritz". I was expecting a place to sleep close to areas we had a limited amount of time to travel to. My expectations were met but definitely not exceeded. This trip will be my only stop at this location.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neutralatbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    48
    25
    2
    7
See reviews for
68
8
9
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Michigan City, Indiana
Level Contributor
87 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2011

I picked this hotel because it was nearby to a job, but also because there was food and shopping very close. The hotel itself was very much up to the normal standards of Holiday Inn Express - just what I need while on a road trip.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrandPotentate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2011

We stayed at this hotel when I was on a business trip in June 2011. Took the wife along as well and both of us enjoyed staying at this hotel. Since I was on a business trip, we got a really good rate that was negotiated by my office. The rooms were clean, staff was friendly and breakfast was good. Although there was a gym and a swimming pool, we did not use these amenities. But the gym looked clean and had a good number of exercise machines. If I were to go back to the Waukegan area, I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lji2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monticello, MN
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2011

This is a newer hotel and in excellent condition, very clean. The bed was extremely comfortable and the shower was hot enough (I like really hot showers). The wireless worked well, but internet was overall a little slow for my tastes. The breakfast was typical for a Holiday Inn Express. The only problem with breakfast was a broken juice machine. The staff was very friendly with good local restaurant advice. I stayed in a room with a joining door to the next door room and could hear my neighbor's TV and phone conversations. Good thing he wasn't a night owl.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Griswold_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2011

This property was about 10 to 15 minutes away from Six Flags. They had breakfast in the morning and a VERY comfortable bed. The front desk staff and supervisor were awesome! There was a mistake in my billing and they took care of everything and gave me a discount to use on my next visit! We will be back in the summer! Very clean rooms, great shower, and nice room amenties. Good location too. It was around alot of dining places, a La Fitness, and shopping.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keinika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 13, 2011

My husband, brother and I stayed her one night while visiting family. All the staff was very friendly and welcoming. Hotel room was very modern and clean. We all felt very weocome and will stay again. You will not be disapointed!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Blumas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 1, 2010

Stayed here 3 nights with extended family for my son's naval graduation. Hotel was very clean, beds were comfortable and staff was extremely friendly. Breakfast was good each morning and we appreciated them having it ready early on the day of graduation. The location was great. Close to base, restuarants and shopping. I would highly recommend staying here if you are attending a naval graduation

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brisue65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waukegan
0.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Chicago Waukegan
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
2.7 mi away
Sleep Inn at Great Lakes
Sleep Inn at Great Lakes
#1 of 2 in Lake Bluff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
1.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Gurnee - Waukegan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Waukegan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Waukegan

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Waukegan
Address: 611 Lakehurst Rd, Waukegan, IL 60085-6707
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Waukegan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Waukegan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Waukegan 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This brand new Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Waukegan, Illinois is near Six Flags Great America and Great Lakes Naval Base.Our Waukegan hotel provides premium amenities and an ideal location off I-94 near the Gurnee Mills Outlet Mall, the Greenbelt Forest Preserve and the scenic Illinois State Beach Park. Your family will enjoy a comfortable stay at our Waukegan hotel near Six Flags Great America, one of the largest theme parks in the US. Our hotel in Waukegan also offers quick access to many other area attractions, like the Rink-Side Family Entertainment Center, Russell Military Museum and the Wildlife Discovery Center. Downtown Chicago is just 45 miles from our Waukegan hotel. Business travelers looking for lodging in Waukegan will be pleased by our Waukegan, IL accommodations, located near Amhurst and North Point Industrial Park and area businesses including CDW, Abbott, Baxter, Akzo Nobel and HSBC. Take advantage of our business services, which include three large meeting rooms, catering available. 24-hour business center and free high-speed, wireless Internet access for your convenience. During your stay at our smoke-free hotel near Six Flags be sure to enjoy the indoor pool, relaxing whirlpool, 24-hour fitness center and complimentary hot breakfast bar. Check out our great Waukegan hotel room deals and start planning your trip to the Great Lakes region today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Waukegan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Waukegan
Holiday Inn Express Waukegan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing