We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, affordable, but no shuttle to Six Flags”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Waukegan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 11, 2014

I brought the wife and 2 kids to Six Flags and to my dismay at check-in, this hotel did not have a shuttle to SF! With parking difficult at SF on the 4th of July weekend, this was an oversight on my part.

The hotel is very clean, but the room (king + sofa bed) was rather small. It also did not have a bath, just a shower.

The pool on the ground floor is tiny as well. When we went, there were 15 people in the water and it was cramped.

Continental breakfast was free, but the dining room was crowded.

Wifi was free and fast at about 3 Mbps.

All in all, not bad for the sub-$100 price.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tru3north
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share you experience. I’m sorry for your disappointment regarding transportation, but I’m delighted to hear you enjoyed our ample breakfast and free internet. I’m glad you found us to be a good value and we hope to see your family again the next time you travel to the area.

Best,
Adam Lopez, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (364)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 364 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2014

Just wanted to say I stayed here for a week. And it was great the staff greeted me every time I walked by the front desk. And the Cleaning crew is great. The room was very large and I really like the way the bathroom and shower room were done separate.. The internet is okay they have a ethernet port in the room. makes a big difference they also offer faster internet that supports streaming. if your Gold member its free. the breakfast is good. will stay here again if i am in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaRobley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience. We are glad you stayed with us and appreciate your business. I am happy to hear you enjoyed our clean spacious room, ample breakfast and internet. Your feedback serves as encouragement to our staff. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Adam Lopez, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

I stayed at this property for one night before my son's graduation from Navy boot camp. It is a new Marriott property, quite clean, well managed, and set up nicely for business and leisure travelers: plenty of outlets for charging your electronics, free WiFi, and good lighting. Staff is pleasant and helpful. There is a bar and beer, wine, soft drinks and snacks are available for purchase in the mini-market. And,there is a 24 hour Walmart across the street if you are inclined to do more extensive shopping (or want to pay less for your snacks.) It is an easy 10 minute drive to Great Lakes Navy base. I did not explore the area, but the map shows that Illinois Beach State Park is nearby, as are Six Flags, Hurricane Harbor, and an outlet mall.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah1150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

Dear Deborah,

Thanks for your review and recommendation. We appreciate hearing from you and are glad to know you enjoyed your stay and the level of service we deliver. Your feedback provides us motivation for our team. Congratulations on your son's graduation; please come see us again!

Best,
Adam Lopez, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014

I have been traveling to this hotel for business, and have stayed in three different rooms. Unfortunately, this is a new, modern hotel with a great layout that has already fallen way behind in maintenance. Each room has had carpet, couch, pillow and comforter stains and torn up blinds. One had an awful smell in the closet and missing lights on the desk. I love the layout and the decor of the rooms, and the breakfast is great as far as continentals go. Service has been ok. The manager changed my room after the toilet started constantly running, and the staff is courteous. On my latest trip, they messed up my reservation dates and at 3am, they would not give me a room. I will be staying elsewhere for future trips to the area. The stains are the deal breaker for me.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write. I appreciate you acknowledging our friendly staff, great breakfast and modern décor. I’m sorry we fell short of providing you with an exceptional stay. I will share your feedback regarding the maintenance of our rooms with the staff to heighten our awareness of such issues. We value you as our guest, and hope to have you stay with us again.

Sincerely,
Adam Lopez, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Short stay, could not get into Courtyard, stayed here - pleasantly surprised at room layout, quality, overall hotel very clean, including workout room. Nice work area for pounding out emails, client calls. Staff friendly and helpful. Will stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Dear John: Thank you for your kind review, we’re glad you got a chance to stay at our location for this trip. We hope to see you again!

Sincerely,

Adam Lopez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We are Marriott Gold members and choose SpringHill Suites whenever we can because the layout of the rooms works well for our family and, up to this point, every one we have stayed in has been very clean and well-maintained. Unfortunately, this SpringHill Suites did not meet those expectations. Based on our experience with two rooms, I am confused as to how this hotel is rated so highly.

We checked in at 2 a.m. after a very long day of driving. If it hadn't been so late, we would have checked out and found a different hotel. Both of our rooms had heavily soiled and stained carpet and the sofas in both rooms were stained. The walls were dirty, as well. The shades in both rooms were ripped to shreds. One of the rooms had a very strong "sour" smell. At the end of the bed in the other room, there was large stain with food (or something...I didn't want to look very closely) still stuck to it. The shower in that room had red, slimy mold in two of the corners. Something had been spilled in one of the refrigerators and had been left so long that it had dried. It is not an understatement to say the rooms were disgusting.

I asked to speak to a manager the morning we checked out but there was not one on site. Long story short, after a week and calling the Gold Customer Service line twice, I finally received an email from the manager saying they were crediting points back to our account. We had used points/free night certificates for the two rooms and were credited points for one room.

On the plus side, the front desk staff were friendly and professional.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SoonerMom87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Thank you for your review of your recent experience at our hotel. We appreciate your continued business. We sincerely apologize for the areas that we have fallen short of meeting your expectations. Our goal is to provide all guests with a rewarding stay. Please know we have addressed these issues with our staff, and have taken your comments into consideration to improve our property and overall guest experience.
We appreciate you mentioning the staff provided kind customer service. We hope you give us another opportunity when you return to Waukegan.

Sincerely,
Adam Lopez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We first stayed here March. We were visiting our Son for his Navy Graduation. The Staff did an excellent job in informing us of everything we needed to know. Included about the graduation as well great places to Eat. This is our second visit to the Great Lakes area and again nothing but great things to say. Rooms are always clean, beds are amazing, nice sitting area, places to eat close by and a starbucks 1 minute away. Naval base about 10-15 mins away.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michaeleds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

michaeleds,
Sincere thanks for sharing your experience at SpringHill Suites Waukegan. We appreciate your nice comments regarding our staff's excellence in service and the comfort of our accommodations, and we're glad you enjoyed your stay while attending your son's Navy Graduation. Please plan to visit us again should your travels bring you back to the area. Thank you again!

Kind regards,
Adam Lopez, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waukegan
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
0.8 mi away
Residence Inn Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Waukegan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Chicago Waukegan
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee
3.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gurnee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee

Address: 4101 Fountain Square Pl, Waukegan, IL 60085-6716
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Waukegan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Waukegan
#4 Family Hotel in Waukegan
Price Range: $106 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A perfectly situated hotel for the Waukegan and Gurnee area, SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee hotel combines contemporary style and spacious accommodations. Ideally located just minutes to major companies such as Abbott Laboratories, Baxter Healthcare and Cardinal Health, and in close proximity of Great Lakes Naval Base for PIR guests. Six Flags Great America Amusement Park and Gurnee Mills Shopping Mall are both under 5 miles away for those that wish to enjoy. You'll find plenty of room to work, eat or just relax in our generous suites with separate living area, 37" flat screen LCD HD TV, microwave, mini-fridge and free wireless high speed internet. Revitalize each morning with our complimentary new breakfast buffet. Take a dip in our Indoor Pool. Our Fitness Center, Business Library and Market are open 24 hours for convenience. Relax at our hotel bar, Escape. Experience an award-winning hotel with cheerful, friendly service at the SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee Hotel Waukegan
Springhill Suites Waukegan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing