We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spacious!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Waukegan
Certificate of Excellence
Windsor and Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Spacious!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

They are indeed suites and great if there are a few of you or else needing to be based here on business as I was. The surrounding area is nothing special but this is a base for getting to other places. For me it was work a few miles down the road but I still was able to get down town taking taxi to metra station. Waukegan itself doesn't seem to have too much to offer unless you have a boat but I could be missing something! My room had a few random stains but essentially was clean. Breakfast was fine and fully disposable! Would come back for sure...does what it needs to, just wish I had a car!

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank bub72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
bub72,
Thank you for sharing feedback from your stay at SpringHill Suites Waukegan. We appreciate you choosing our hotel while traveling for work and we’re glad our accommodations and amenities met your needs. We hope you’ll visit us again in the near future. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Adam Lopez, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    84
    21
    10
    7
See reviews for
161
26
15
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tilton, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

We stayed here for my sons Navy PIR graduation in March. When we first checked in we were 2 hours early and they accomadated an early check in. They asked why were were visiting the Great lakes and when we said for PIR they had a US NAVY FAMILIES packet with all of the extras and great tips for LIBERTY. We booked for 2 adults and 2 children rooms were very spacious there was a king size bed and then the couch was a sleeper. The room was spacious with the sitting area was separate from the sleeping area. The toilet and shower area's were also separate and the shower area was very large. Closet was a large armour with several draws. Breakfast states 6 am but started much earlier due to the fact most people leave for PIR before 6. There is also a bar off the lounge with a large screen TV and drinks are served for happy hour. They also offer a taxi/shuttle service to the graduation ceremony however you can also drive to PIR within 5 minutes. There was a pool and the market in the lobby had all the snacks you will need for very reasonable prices. The Thursday night before PIR Sarge has a Meet and Greet from 6-10 in the Plaza right behind the hotel at the Sundance Saloon. This is a must he has the best info about who, what, when and where during PIR this is also a fee meal for your whole family. The hotel is also right across the street from a Walmart and there are several restaurant's - CHILI's, Buffalo Wings and a couple coffee houses. We really researched before we booked and I can say this was the best bang for our buck, do call when you reseve and tell them you are coming in for PIR the rate when we booked was $89.00 US and was well worth it. definately 10 stars

Room Tip: We booked a king size with pull out sofa, the room was very clean, had plenty of towels and was very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Angela H,
We appreciate you choosing to stay with us while attending your son's Navy PIR graduation and thank you for sharing feedback from your stay. We're pleased to hear that our convenient location, spacious accommodations, and variety of amenities added value to your visit. We hope you'll have an opportunity to visit us again at SpringHill Suites Waukegan. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Adam Lopez, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearl River
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

Loved this hotel. The staff was very friendly. The room & every where else was very clean! The breakfast was good also. Convenient location with good places to eat & easy access to interstates. Great place to stay!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Elizabeth C,
We're happy to hear from you and appreciate your kind review. It's great to know you loved our hotel and found our friendly staff, clean hotel, and convenient location to exceed your expectations. Please plan to visit us again soon at SpringHill Suites Waukegan. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Adam Lopez, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

We stayed here for my sons Navy BC graduation in February. It was perfect as we were 6, 3 adults and 3 children (and then my son for the day). There was two queen size beds and then the couch was a sleeper. The room was spacious with the sitting area separate from the sleeping area. The toilet and shower area's were also separate. Huge walkin closet which was nice because we arrived the day a huge snow storm hit and had big coats and wet boots. They serve a nice breakfast each day and a happy hour in the evening. They also offer a shuttle service to the graduation ceremony. On our trip there was an unfortunate train accident along the route and alot of the shuttles got stuck on the other side. The hotel did a great job calling in other shuttle services that were able to get people around and to the ceremony on time. The hotel is also right across the street from a Walmart (your new Sailor may want to go shopping) and there are a few restaurant's, and a Starbucks there. Also if you are going for this event, right across the street is where a wonderful retired Marine named Sarge host a great Meet and Greet for all the families who wish to come. Be sure to check it out.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank louiel00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
louiel00,
We appreciate you selecting SpringHill Suites Waukegen to serve your hotel needs while attending your son's Navy BC graduation. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and found our spacious accommodations and complimentary services perfectly suited for your travels. We hope you'll have an opportunity to visit us again in the future. Thank you again for your feedback.

Sincerely,
Adam Lopez, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here while visiting my daughter inthe Navy for Thanksgiving. The hotel was clean in appearance, although most of my family had a horrible headache and running nose by the time we left 3 days later (we all cleared up soon after leaving). Beds are very very soft. The walls are thin so you hear everything in the halls. The hotel was not suppose to bill me till after my stay, they billed me immediately. They then blamed the bank, and said there was nothing they could do about it. They also charge an extra $40 per night and the water in the room is over $2 a bottle. The breakfast was ok... Nothing special. Warning they close breakfast about 5 minutes early and won't even let you grab something quick. We asked for extra towels and was told they would be brought up to us, we never received any. The staff was just horrible. Not helpful at all. They treated us like an inconvenience. Very dissapointed. Will not return.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank MarshmallowDream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
MarshmallowDream,
Thank you for writing and bringing your concerns to my attention. I am very sorry to hear that you had a disappointing experience. We would certainly never want to leave you with a poor impression and sincerely apologize that we did not deliver the exceptional stay and service you've come to expect from us. Please know that your comments are being addressed with our team and additional steps will be taken to ensure we're doing all we can to serve our guests. We value you as our guest and do hope you'll consider staying with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Adam Lopez, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

Ideal location! Everything across street( Starbucks, Walmart .. Tons of eating places!)
Staff is great
Rooms are big and indoor pool a plus with kids!
Perfect hotel for naval graduation... Close to base and too
Notch at a steal of a price'
Has a bar and great breakfast buffet

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jilltheory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Jilltheory,
We appreciate your review and complimentary feedback from your stay with us at SpringHill Suites Waukegan. It's fantastic to hear that our great location, friendly staff, and variety of amenities perfectly suited your travels. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us for naval graduation, and we hope you'll have an opportunity to visit us again soon. Thank you once again for writing.

Sincerely,
Adam Lopez, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

I used Marriott rewards points to book this stay, so I didn't have to pay any out of pocket. We stayed here the night before my brothers boot camp graduation from Great Lakes. My parents live within an hours drive from Great Lakes but since we had to be at the facility by 6;30, it was just more convenient to get a room for the night. Upon arrival the hotel was everything I wanted it to be. Well updated and very clean. I thought the separate toilet and shower rooms were very convenient especially for getting ready in the morning with 5 people in a double queen room. The staff was very friendly and accommodating to our early check in. We used their shuttle to Great Lakes in the morning so we wouldn't have to have the car searched and everything else. Everything was peachy until it was time to go to sleep. The beds in this room (406) were the most uncomfortable that I have ever slept on. This even includes stays a flea bag Motels in my younger years. Both of the queen beds dipped in the middle causing you to roll into one and other. They both also had an unbelievable creaking noise when ever someone rolled over. In short, the only person that got any sleep was the one sleeping on the couch. You come to a hotel to sleep, not for the decor. If this is the quality you're going for, I won't be coming back. This issue needs to be addressed pronto.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ferdusing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
ferdusing,
Thank you for writing. We appreciate your feedback on both positive an opportunities for improvement. I sincerely apologize that you did not enjoy the comfortable stay you deserve. I assure you we will take your comments into consideration to improve our property and overall guest experience. We value you as our guest, and do hope we'll have an opportunity to provide a more positive stay in the future. Thank you again for writing.

Sincerely,
Adam Lopez, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waukegan
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
0.8 mi away
Residence Inn Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
0.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Chicago Waukegan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Waukegan
3.1 mi away
Sleep Inn at Great Lakes
Sleep Inn at Great Lakes
#1 of 2 in Lake Bluff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee

Property: SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
Address: 4101 Fountain Square Pl, Waukegan, IL 60085-6716
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Waukegan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Waukegan
#4 Family Hotel in Waukegan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A perfectly situated hotel for the Waukegan and Gurnee area, SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee hotel combines contemporary style and spacious accommodations. Ideally located just minutes to major companies such as Abbott Laboratories, Baxter Healthcare and Cardinal Health, and in close proximity of Great Lakes Naval Base for PIR guests. Six Flags Great America Amusement Park and Gurnee Mills Shopping Mall are both under 5 miles away for those that wish to enjoy. You'll find plenty of room to work, eat or just relax in our generous suites with separate living area, 37" flat screen LCD HD TV, microwave, mini-fridge and free wireless high speed internet. Revitalize each morning with our complimentary new breakfast buffet. Take a dip in our Indoor Pool. Our Fitness Center, Business Library and Market are open 24 hours for convenience. Relax at our hotel bar, Escape. Experience an award-winning hotel with cheerful, friendly service at the SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee Hotel Waukegan
Springhill Suites Waukegan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing