We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Waukegan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 10, 2012

When walking into the hotel, you will immediately see how modern the hotel was designed. The rooms were very spacious and modern. The toilet and shower area are separate, which allowed both of us to get ready at the same time in the morning, but I could see how some guests might see this as a negative aspect of the rooms. There was a fridge and a microwave in the room, which is always nice.
I found the staff to be mostly helpful. The lady working the complimentary breakfast seemed more occupied with her cell phone and eating the breakfast food from the buffet. In the short time that we sat at the bar eating our breakfast, several guests had to poke their head into the room behind the buffet to ask the worker for more eggs, waffle batter, and sausage. It was disappointing seeing the staff talking on their cell phones and eating the food before the guests and not even restocking it. On the other hand, the young gentleman working the front desk was pleasant on the phone as well as throughout the check-in process. He even recommended two outlet malls that are in the area--I would recommend both of them to anyone visiting the area! Six Flags is also fairly close to the hotel.
Overall, it was a decent and modern Marriott.

Room Tip: Do not get a room near the elevators because they are incredibly loud--especially for the hotel seem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hvaskjer003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

hvaskjer003,
Thank you for taking a moment and writing a review about your stay with us at SpringHill Suites. We're glad you liked our modern hotel and spacious suites. I appreciate your feedback about the cell phone usage and will remind our staff that they are only to be used on personal time. I'm glad you had a good time shopping and visiting our area. We hope you'll come and visit us again soon.
Sincerely,
Adam Lopez, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (372)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

269 - 275 of 372 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2012

Wow, what a refreshing hotel! Modern, clean, lots of great amenities. Good selection of retail and restaurants nearby, too. Easy access to the highway. Friendly staff. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KNichols528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

KNichols528,
Thank you for staying with us and writing a very kind review. We're glad you chose to stay with us, and we're pleased you enjoyed your visit. Please plan to visit us again soon.
Sincerely,
Adam Lopez, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

In town from Boston for son's Navy graduation on Nov 18th.
Stayed a week.
Great rooms. Friendly , Help full desk clerk.
Price was right.
Free breakfast was very help full as far as saving time.
In good spot near mall and highways.
Nothing super fancy but well done.
Bartender at lobby bar a good egg.
Watched Patriots crush Jets on Thanksgiving with her.
Maybe Bears again someday.
Thanks , Loved Chicago.

Room Tip: all good, all the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dopysteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

dopysteve,
Thank you for taking a moment and writing a review about your visit with us at SpringHill Suites. We're glad you chose to stay with us for your son's graduation, and we wish him well in all of his future endeavors. I'm glad you liked our hotel and especially enjoyed the lounge area with our exceptionally friendly bartender. Please visit us again the next time your travels bring you to Chicago. We look forward to your return.

For all viewers: Our Escape bar will be closed on Christmas Eve, Christmas Day, and New Years Day. Thanks!

Adam A. Lopez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

I was in the area visiting family and stayed for three days. The rooms are very spacious . I love the modern look of the hotel. The hotel is in a prime location with everything just minutes away. I will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heidi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Heidi P,
Thank you for writing a review. We're pleased you stay with us at SpringHill Suites while visiting family, and we're glad you enjoyed your visit. I'm glad you liked our modern look, spacious rooms, and great location. We hope you will be back soon.
Sincerely,
Adam Lopez, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

I stayed at this property for 4 nights for a Business Trip. It had just what I needed, Internet, breakfast, helpful staff, etc. I would recommend to have a car if you come here, everything but Wal Mart is at least 10 minutes by taxi and there are not many taxis around. There is nothing espectacular about this hotel but it has everything you need for a short stay at a decent price.

Room Tip: There are no views around the site so I guess every room is OK.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdgarSGuatemala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

EdgarSGuatemala,
Thank you for your review. We're glad you chose to stay with us and had a pleasant visit. I'm glad we had just what you needed and hope we added a little to your successful business trip. Please plan to come and stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Stayed for 1 night and was pleasantly surprised at how clean and comfortable the hotel was. The location was nice...right in front of a Wal-Mart and some restaurants (nothing too fancy), as well as 10 minutes from Gurnee Mills, The rooms are spacious and clean and the breakfast was OK...nothing special (scrambled eggs [felt a little rubbery], muffins, bagels, cereal, waffles, oatmeal, juices and more).

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Salandtal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Salandtal,
Thank you for your review. We're pleased you chose to stay with us at SpringHill Suites. I'm glad you liked our hotel and found our location to be nice for travelers. I hope you had the chance to visit some of the shops and enjoy your stay. We welcome you to come and visit us again the next time you're in the Waukegan area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed there for 3 nights for our sons Navy Graduation from Boot camp. This hotel was FABULOUS! Not only was it immaculate, roomy, it had a microwave, fridge and couch - the staff was polite, and VERY helpful, it was close to shopping and restaurants and always had coffee/tea (free of charge) and snacks for purchase. The FREE breakfast was a bonus! We have stayed at many Hotels and this Hotel exceeded our expectations! We would definitely stay here again!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Tricia M,
Thank you for your very kind review. Congratulations to your son! We're pleased you chose to stay with us and enjoyed your visit. I'm glad to hear our staff was friendly and helpful as well. It is really great to know that we exceeded your expectations because this is really what we strive for with all of our guests. We hope your future travels will bring you back to our area and you'll come and stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waukegan
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Waukegan
0.8 mi away
Residence Inn Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Chicago Waukegan
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Chicago/Gurnee
1.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Gurnee - Waukegan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee

Address: 4101 Fountain Square Pl, Waukegan, IL 60085-6716
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Waukegan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Waukegan
Price Range: $108 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A perfectly situated hotel for the Waukegan and Gurnee area, SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee hotel combines contemporary style and spacious accommodations. Ideally located just minutes to major companies such as Abbott Laboratories, Baxter Healthcare and Cardinal Health, and in close proximity of Great Lakes Naval Base for PIR guests. Six Flags Great America Amusement Park and Gurnee Mills Shopping Mall are both under 5 miles away for those that wish to enjoy. You'll find plenty of room to work, eat or just relax in our generous suites with separate living area, 37" flat screen LCD HD TV, microwave, mini-fridge and free wireless high speed internet. Revitalize each morning with our complimentary new breakfast buffet. Take a dip in our Indoor Pool. Our Fitness Center, Business Library and Market are open 24 hours for convenience. Relax at our hotel bar, Escape. Experience an award-winning hotel with cheerful, friendly service at the SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee Hotel Waukegan
Springhill Suites Waukegan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing