We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing stay at Villa Toucan!”
other traveler has booked this property
BEDROOM
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
BEDROOM
BEDROOM BEDROOM
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
54 reviews
BEDROOM
BEDROOM
BEDROOM
BEDROOM
EXTERIOR
KITCHEN
LIVING ROOM
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Punta Uva, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
chillipep...
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing stay at Villa Toucan!”
Reviewed May 15, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

We stayed here for 3 nights at the beginning of our Costa Rica trip. The communication from the hosts is top notch, contacting me via WhatsApp and keeping me informed for access etc. We never actually met them, they live on the grounds but it is so private, you’d never know. There were 2 residents cats, which we were totally fine with. The driveway to the accommodation is very steep, so a 4x4 is useful here, but it makes for cracking views being so high up. The bed was very comfy, and night time bathroom visits were interesting being that the loo is outside! Shower is good, great hot water. Kitchen is well equipped, just remember to keep everything in the fridge so the ants don’t get it. And then the wildlife - just wow. We saw toucans, many other birds, spiders (lots on the garden trail), lead cutting ants and armadillos! Waking to the sound of a storm rolling in over the ocean and howler monkeys was amazing. We’d highly recommend staying here, was stunning.
El Refugio Grill (restaurant next door) was lovely, really good tuna and crepes. And Punta Uva beach is gorgeous. The National Park at Manzanillo is also super cool for wildlife.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel T
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Jungle retreat, just a few minutes drive from the beach”
Reviewed December 15, 2017 for a stay in December 2017

We spent the first 5 nights of our Costa Rican honeymoon at Villa Toucan and within the first 3 or 4 hours of the first day we’d been treated to sightings of our new neighbours(Toucans & Howler monkeys) from the amazing decking area which also had a fabulous view of the Caribbean Sea.

There is an outdoor kitchen with hob and large fridge freezer and dining area so easy to self cater if preferred (but don’t forget to put all food away - we accidentally left a loaf of bread out one night and it had been destroyed by ants in the morning).

The bathrooms are also outside but completely private.

The best beach we found at Punta Uva is just a few minutes drive away by 4x4. The main Puerto Viejo strip with bars and restaurants is around a 10-15 minute drive (not really walkable). The sloth sanctuary is around an hour’s drive away.

Worth mentioning that you need a 4x4 to access this place, there are some near vertical climbs to make - however this is what means you get such access to wildlife, amazing views and adds to the overall adventure.

Thanks for a fabulous stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Divya_N_1...
Sudbury, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing jungle retreat!”
Reviewed January 2, 2017 for a stay in December 2015

It took us a whole year to write this review but the wonderful memories still remain. We were here in December 2015 with our 2 boys ages 10 and 4 for 12 days. What an experience of a lifetime! The view was beautiful and we woke up everyday to the sound of howler monkeys and toucans flying by. It was cool to shower and see humming birds outside. I must say that this is not the place for you if you are squeamish about bugs. Every evening the place is transformed into an insect zoo of sorts - we have never seen so many different unique bugs in one place! The one thing about the house is that the bedrooms are not connected. So ideal with slightly older kids. The closest beach right at the bottom of the hill was the most beautiful. The kids enjoyed walking there and seeing the blue crabs on the way. There is a river that runs into the beach which makes it that much more special. This is a magical place for you to unwind, relax and spend quality time with loved ones. We hope to go back there some day!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daniellet...
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Jungle Retreat”
Reviewed June 14, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We absolutely loved our stay at Villa Toucan. The views were breathtaking and we were able to see some amazing wildlife! I was able to see a monkey for the first time in my life! It was so cool. We also saw a lot of Toucan, and even a few sloths when we were in town!

The property is so close to the beach!

We can't wait to come back next year

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joanne123...
Edmonton, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Perfect Jungle Vacation!”
Reviewed May 1, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We spent 2 wonderful weeks at Villa Toucan, March/April 2016. It was everything we had hoped it would be! Right in the jungle, yet close to the beaches. The view from the deck is breathtaking, with so many birds visiting daily. We had hoped to see a toucan when visiting Costa Rica - well, we saw dozens at Villa Toucan! Keel-billed, chestnut manibled and aracaris. Great Green Macaws we also a thrill to see in the wild! This is THE place to see birds in Costa Rica, no guide required - they come right to the house!
The house itself was perfect for us, and had everything we needed. We loved the outdoor kitchen looking out onto the deck/jungle/Caribbean. The bathrooms are fantastic.. having no wall at the back and facing the jungle, you can watch hummingbirds and red frogs while in the bathroom! We were visited by many very cool bugs, including an awesome hooded mantis that "adopted" us and stayed with us (it's choice) for most of our stay.
Manuel (the property owner) lives nearby and was very helpful. Johanna at Casas del Caribe was wonderful, and arranged our private transport from San Jose, our car rental (recommend renting a 4X4), and ziplining tour as well!
We have compiled a list of birds that we saw right at Villa Toucan:
Gray-headed Chachalaca,Crested Guan,Semiplumbeous hawk,Common Blackhawk,Laughing falcon,Short-billed pigeon,Great Green Macaw,Brown-hooded parrot,Blue-headed parrot,,Red-lored parrot,Mealy parrot,Black and white Owl,Short-tailed Nighthawk,Great Potoo,Long-billed hermit,Violet-crowned Woodnymph,Slaty-tailed Trogan,
Collared Aracari,Keel-billed Toucan,Chestnut-manibled Toucan,Black-cheeked Woodpecker,Pale-billed Woodpecker,Plain-brown Woodcreeper,Great Kiskadee,Masked Tityra,Red-capped Manakin,Clay-coloured Thrush,Passerini's Tanager,Golden-hooded Tanager,Black-headed Saltator,Bananaquit,Variable Seedeater,Summer Tanager,Rose-breasted Grosbeak,Baltimore Oriole,Scarlet-rumped Cacique,Montezuma Oropendola,Great Tinamou (not seen but heard daily),
There were more that we saw but were not able to identify. We saw many other bird species nearby as well - this list is JUST at the house. We enjoyed seeing many types of lizards, geckos, frogs, monkeys and very cool bugs and butterflies.
Thanks Manuel for a great stay at Villa Toucan! We will be back for sure!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Birds and other wildlife
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin J
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“The True Costa Rica Experience!”
Reviewed December 25, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

My family and I had such a great time and memorable experience. I was looking for something that would be different that your normal resort experience, and this is a homerun! First, you honestly feel that you are completely in the jungle. The monkeys, toucans, macaws are daily visitors. We had a couple of toucans in the trees just beyond the balcony (which by the way, offers a modest view of the Caribbean. We enjoyed being eyed by a large sloth... who was in the tree about 30 yards from our balcony for 9 hours. The restaurants in the area were all excellent and offered their own wonderful, unique dining experiences. The beach was very nice, although it's my first experience with a goat walking around the sand. Water was real warm. I can't rave enough... it's a different kind of vacation experience that we'll always treasure.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Indiana
Reviewed October 5, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Outdoor showers and trails
Liked least: car needed
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Dec 23, 2014
Many thanks! We enjoyed meeting you and hope to see you again in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing