We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pachamama Jungle River Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Punta Uva B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We were welcome late in the evening by Estella and Florian and they showed us how everything worked. There was a big container of drinking water in our kitchen and lots of delicious fruit and beautiful flowers waiting for us. We really liked the simplicity of the room and had a great time reading in the hammocks as the rain poured down around us during the rainy season. We were given great beachcruiser bikes to get around on which we used for everything - going the the beaches, restaurants, into Puerta Viejo for groceries. The owners were very quick to respond to problems and were very helpful with all of our questions about the area. Breakfast was very good with homebaked muffins, hard boiled eggs, fruit, yoghurt and toast with good jam and excellent coffee. It was provided on our porch every morning so we could eat in private. A little negative was that because of the humidity the place was very damp and so our backpacks went mouldy and the much appreciated safe was also very mouldy. It's difficult to get things to dry out in such humidity but a better fan would have made a big difference. Our hut was surrounded by beautiful jungle and close to the beach. We were on our honeymoon, and it was more of a honeymoon for the type who normally like to camp, rather than luxury accomodations. We enjoyed the French hosts very much.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ali m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PachamamaCaribe, Propriétaire at Pachamama Jungle River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Thank you for taking time to submit your feedback regarding your stay. We view any and all guest comments as a vital component in helping us be the best we can possibly be for our future guests.
We keep making improvements, so come back and see us again sometime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (288)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 288 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2013

Estelle and Florian have welcomed me in March 2013, as they were just taking over the lodge from the previous owner.
I have spent a wonderful time there as the new owners truly treat you like their personal guest. They have done everything possible to accommodate my stay.
There is really something special in the way they welcome you and I have no doubt that this place will become a great success.
By the way, you should try the canoe on the river close to the lodge: a great experience with the monkeys and the turtles.
Olivier

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Olivier G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PachamamaCaribe, Propriétaire at Pachamama Jungle River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

A big thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are very pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us
Sincerely,
Estelle and Florian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

In June 2012 a group of us reserved the entire property for 30 days in Feb/Mar. Two weeks before our arrival, after unauthorized charges to our credit card by Bill, we found out that he had sold Pachamama. The new owners chose to honor our reservation during a time they had planned to be closed for cleaning and renovations. When they found out about our visit they had only 12 days to prepare for us. Everything possible was done to welcome us and make us comfortable. The surrounding jungle is fantastic!! We seen Howler & Spider monkeys, sloths, iguanas & numerous birds and other wildlife right from our units. Plus, all the beautiful plants and flowers. There's a well-stocked grocery store nearby with friendly and helpful owners. The bus picks up and drops off right outside the gate a few times everyday. Unfortunately, the restaurant next door has made some changes and I can no longer give it a high rating. It was a wonderful experience and after Estelle & Florian have time to do all they have planned it will be even better.

Room Tip: The bungalows (Los Monos) worked well for our group. The large deck gave us a place to gather.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PachamamaCaribe, Manager at Pachamama Jungle River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

A big thank you for your indulgence.
We were delighted to welcome you. You were a very nice group and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
Regards to you all
Estelle & Florian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

We met up with our family there for a couple of days. They are staying for an entire month. The former owner took tyre money then sold it without telling the new owners. The new people went way out of there way to fulfill all the promises made by the the former guy. The place is located walking distance from the beach and store and has an incredible restaurant right next door. You most likely will be woken by the sound of howler monkeys on the morning. Just adorable!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Herbertsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PachamamaCaribe, Propriétaire at Pachamama Jungle River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

We are happy that you appreciated your stay at Pachamama and thank you for having expressed your opinion.

Estelle and Florian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Hi guys! It's a really lovely place to stay with lots of plants and trees, very welcoming and you're close to the beach. Last but not least: there's new owners there. They plan improvements !! Sounds good !!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ed B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PachamamaCaribe, Propriétaire at Pachamama Jungle River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Hello,

Thank you for choosing the Pachamama for your stay and for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor.
We are the new owners since February 8, 2013, the day of your arrival!

We will do our best to accommodate vacationers who come to Pachamama, renovations, more on-site services, and most importantly, we will be there to meet the requirements of our guest.

Cordialy,
Estelle and Florian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

There was a little girl
BY HENRY WADSWORTH LONGFELLOW
There was a little girl,
Who had a little curl,
Right in the middle of her forehead.
When she was good,
She was very good indeed,
But when she was bad she was horrid.

This place is like the girl with the curl on her forehead. Parts of it were very good, and parts bad, which I think explains that wide variety of recent reviews. It left me uncertain how to rate it, and opted for a middle "3" to reflect the good and the bad.

The good is primarily in the location. It really is in the jungle and we were able to see all 3 species of local monkeys (Howler, Spider, White-faced Capuchin) as well as sloths from our place. For those interested in bird-watching, I'll add that there were very few on the premises with many more found in more open disturbed areas such as along the roads. The Howler monkeys will likely awaken you at 5:30AM. There is a kayak available for free for use on the lagoon that runs by the place. It only seats 1, but 2 can fit if you're not very big and one feels comfortable sitting on the front of it.

The room was okay. The bed was comfortable and had mosquito netting, though there seemed to be few bugs. The bedroom had screens in the windows, but the rest of the unit had open air windows. The kitchen is very basic, and the unit as a whole was good but could have used some sprucing up.

The owner Bill is really like the girl with the curl. When good, he was very good but when bad, he was horrid. Most of the time he was good- friendly, helpful, informative. But it seems he has a weakness for alcohol and appeared drunk a few times. He had agreed to get up early to get us breakfast before an early birdwatching tour, but he was hung over, did not get himself up and did not awaken to my shouting and so we were stuck without eating anything that morning.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PachamamaCaribe, Propriétaire at Pachamama Jungle River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Since February 2013, we are the new owners of Pachamama.
Did you like the environment Pachamama, much less services.
We invite you to discover the new Pachamama. Accommodations fully renovated (bedroom, kitchen, bathroom), full breakfast served on your terrace, daily housekeeping, bicycles available (free) and a fully landscaped garden.
We will be delighted to welcome you and show you the best of Pachamama
Regards,
Estelle and Florian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We had a really good time in this hotel. The room was comfortable and clean enough for the price.
The staff is careful and friendly. Mosquitos outside were a problem however the place is beautiful. we will be back !

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georgescr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Uva
5.7 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,517 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
702 reviews
3.3 mi away
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
4.1 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
668 reviews
2.5 mi away
Caribe Town
Caribe Town
#1 of 8 in Cocles
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pachamama Jungle River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pachamama Jungle River Lodge

Address: | between Puerto Viejo and Manzanillo, Punta Uva, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 70304, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca > Punta Uva
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Punta Uva
Price Range: $83 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pachamama Jungle River Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South of the Caribbean coast of Costa Rica, 8 kilometers from Puerto Viejo, within the “Gandoca-Manzanillo Wildlife Refuge,” Estelle and Florian welcome you, 200 meters from the wonderful Punta Uva beach, in their lush tropical garden at the edge of a river. Punta Uva beaches, ideal for swimming and all very beautiful are located 200 meters from Pachamama, at the mouth of Rio Ernesto, our jungle river. Enjoy the beauty and tranquility of tropical nature, while still being steps or paddles from the beach and close to local restaurants and activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Pachamama Jungle River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pachamama House & Bungalows Hotel Manzanillo
Pachamama House And Bungalows
Pachamama Jungle River Lodge Costa Rica/Punta Uva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing