We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pachamama Jungle River Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Punta Uva B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We had a really good time in this hotel. The room was comfortable and clean enough for the price.
The staff is careful and friendly. Mosquitos outside were a problem however the place is beautiful. we will be back !

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georgescr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (284)
There are newer reviews for Pachamama Jungle River Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 284 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2012

We showed up here late at night, which was the only reason we actually stayed one night. While Bill was friendly, and his cat and dog awesome, the house was in terrible condition. the website photos were misleading to say the least. The place was absolutely dirty! Now I know what alot of people are saying, "you're in the jungle, what do you expect?" There is a HUGE difference between being one with nature and filth! I'm not even talking about the bugs - we're in CR for over five months, considering moving here - trust me, bugs don't bother us. But old used bars of soap left in the shower, fingernail clippings left in the sink and the gross, damp stench of the bed with blankets that looked like they came from the dump and smelled it too. I spent the night lying on my back, not wanting to put my face on the pillow. It stunk soooo bad! In the morning we hightailed it out of there ASAP. We found another place that was absolute luxury for just a little bit more a night. It's too bad. With a good clean up, some fresh paint and new linens, the property would be sooooo great as it is nesetled in the jungle and each unit has it's own private area for watching the wildlife go by. Sorry - hopefully some changes have been made .....

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SHossy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PachamamaCaribe, Gérant at Pachamama Jungle River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Since February 2013, we are the new owners of Pachamama.
Did you like the environment Pachamama, much less services.
We invite you to discover the new Pachamama. Accommodations fully renovated (bedroom, kitchen, bathroom), full breakfast served on your terrace, daily housekeeping, bicycles available (free) and a fully landscaped garden.
We will be delighted to welcome you and show you the best of Pachamama
Regards,
Estelle and Florian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

My experience with the people running Pachamama was excellent. They are considerate, friendly, attentive, quick to respond and have lots of heart. I am grateful that people and places like this exist.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leslie702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights near the end of our 11 day adventure. We had the casita which was lovely. Private bungalow, deck with hammocks table and chairs. Equipped with small fridge, hot plate and some utensils. You get a big jug of water...I mean big.. those kind you put on a water cooler. The deck and room have a fan. Bed had a mosquito net but there were really no mosquitos or they should didn't bite as they normally don't bother me.

It rained the first morning and it was actually a blessing as we were kind of tired of getting up and going out. Sat on the porch and just enjoyed the surroundings. Lots of birds, lovely flowers, and then the highlight... monkeymania!!! The howlers were right outside at 5:20am - sounded like a 20 foot godzilla was outside. Next day also they passed and then while waiting for the rafting people to pick us up at 6:00 there was more monkeymania right by our casita. I love them.

Lots of birds - the different chirping is just so relaxing. Many humingbirds too. Had a few cat visitors and a dog...(not Bill's but another one .. I guess he heard through the grapevine I bought sardines for the cats - he loved sardines)

Bill will serve you breakfast in the morning on your porch with some really good coffee. You have a safe with lock to store you're valuables.

Just a note - it's rather damp being right in the forest. Doesn't feel like it - very comfortable but your clothes will stay damp and any others will become damp so be prepared.

I enjoyed my stay here and was very glad I choice it to end my vacation. The area is also beautiful. The beach is lovely. Try the food next right next door to the left. A lovely couple -he from Italy and she's from Hungary are taking care of the place. The pizza was great - they told us to bring our own drinks. Heard the pasta and ravioli are to die for.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lesab33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We spent a week in July at Pachamama .At first we were a little worried because of the bad reviews posted recently but we did not have any desagrement during the whole week we spent there. Everything was adequate; the rooms, the location, the breakfast and mister Bill. We used often the kitchen to cook our own food because there is few restaurants and they are pricey...too much exagerated specialy the Selvin restaurant. After one week the humidity became a problem because the clothes cannot dry but this is part of the experience in the rainforest. We have seen a toucan and others kinds of birds, howler monkeys and many interesting bugs in there own habitat.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jano422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

i read the reviews and wasnt sure of what to think before i stayed here. read great things about the place and owner and others too.
i am sure that people that spoke bad about the place, must have gotten in some very bad time or went somewhere else.
the place is absolutely beatufil, you have to lke the woods, of course beacuse this is in the middle of it! if you dont like humidity, then costa rica is not for you!
the bungalows are comfortable, clean and they have everything we needed and more
and bill is generous, kind and pure heart. he cook us breakfast, pancakes, fruit, coffee. everything included! he lent us bikes, no kayaking for us, only because we didnt want to!
i am sorry for the ones that hhad a bad experience,i´d suggest you try again!
wonderfull place and enjoyable for sure!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ana j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We spent a week at Pachemama and loved it. The first day we were there we saw 2 toucans, a sloth and the howler monkeys. The location is amazing. The rainforest setting is so beautiful. Close enough to the beaches, but there is so much to see just sitting on the porch and watching. New flowers blooming all the time, the wildlife, and fireflies at night were all memorable. We left our door open most of the time, and the bugs were not bad, only used bug spray the first day, but yes, the bugs do get in the house sometimes if the door is open. I really don't like bugs, but they were not a problem for me at Pachemama.
Our breakfast's were delicious every day, and the nearby restaurants were fun to check out, and good. The flowers on our porch table were picked on the property and were gorgeous!
I also liked not having to rent a car while there. Taxis were easy to get if needed, but we could walk or use the bikes for most of what we did.
We found Bill to be extremely helpful, and enjoyed our time there very much.
Thanks Bill!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Uva
5.7 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,478 reviews
2.5 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
3.2 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,038 reviews
0.3 mi away
Korrigan Lodge
Korrigan Lodge
#2 of 54 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
427 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Toucan Stay Inn
The Toucan Stay Inn
#2 of 3 in Punta Uva
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pachamama Jungle River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pachamama Jungle River Lodge

Address: | between Puerto Viejo and Manzanillo, Punta Uva, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 70304, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca > Punta Uva
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Punta Uva
Price Range: $82 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pachamama Jungle River Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South of the Caribbean coast of Costa Rica, 8 kilometers from Puerto Viejo, within the “Gandoca-Manzanillo Wildlife Refuge,” Estelle and Florian welcome you, 200 meters from the wonderful Punta Uva beach, in their lush tropical garden at the edge of a river. Punta Uva beaches, ideal for swimming and all very beautiful are located 200 meters from Pachamama, at the mouth of Rio Ernesto, our jungle river. Enjoy the beauty and tranquility of tropical nature, while still being steps or paddles from the beach and close to local restaurants and activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Pachamama Jungle River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pachamama House & Bungalows Hotel Manzanillo
Pachamama House And Bungalows
Pachamama Jungle River Lodge Costa Rica/Punta Uva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing