We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, safe, and beautiful :)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pachamama Jungle River Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Punta Uva B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 30, 2011

As a young single woman traveling solo to Costa Rica, Bill and his family were incredibly accomodating and made me feel like part of the family!! I stayed in two of the properties and they were both great. It was a true jungle paradise, and I felt totally safe ( which was incredibly important since traveling alone). Bills homemade peanut butter banana crepes were to die for and watching monkeys from my porch was something I will never forget. I reccomend Pachamama to anyone and when (not if) I return to Costa Rica again I will certainly be stopping by Pachamama again!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alyssa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (287)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 287 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2011

My wife and I have been to the Puerto Viejo area 3 times now for trips of about 2 weeks each time. We stayed at Pachamama in the Casita on this trip and enjoyed our time there. Bill included dinner on our first night there and breakfast each morning in the price he quoted us. The dinner was excellent. Bill is a very good cook and was very accomodating to my high maintenance diet at the time (I had just stopped eating gluten and dairy).
This trip was the first time we saw spider monkeys and capuchins in the PV area. Our 2 previous trips we had only seen howler monkeys but b/c Pachamama is located next to the river there are a lot more animals that come onto the property. Bill also has a kayak that we took out a couple of times on the river and saw all 3 monkeys as well other animals and butterflys. Its a nice extra along with bikes, snorkel gear, a yoga matt, and a surf board that he was more than willing to lend out to us as guests.
The Casita is simple but comfortable and provided us with everything we needed. A bed, kitchen area, bathroom, and a porch with a table and chairs, 2 hammoks, and one lounge type chair. There was also plenty of fresh drinking water provided.
Know the quirks before staying here and you will enjoy your time and not be dissapointed. The Casita is located next to the adjoining property that is in the process of becoming a bar/hostel instead of looking out onto the river like the other places you could rent there. It really wasn't a problem for us but I could see it might change the vibe of the Casita in the future as they develope it. Also there is no outside shower at the Casita...but Bill allowed us to use the hose attatched to his shed to clean off our feet after returning from the beach. Just know that this is a very laid back style of place to stay...your towels might not match and Bill might be a bit quirky but its a safe place to stay that is located in one of the best spots on the Carribean side of Costa Rica.

Room Tip: We saw all of the choices in person except for the larger bungalo and found the 1 bedroom house to b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tree_dhyana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

The property was neglected and poorly maintained. The customer service was dismal. I hope better times return to pachamama, but I cannot recommend it at this time.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank medaew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PachamamaCaribe, Propriétaire at Pachamama Jungle River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Since February 2013, we are the new owners of Pachamama.
Did you like the environment Pachamama, much less services.
We invite you to discover the new Pachamama. Accommodations fully renovated (bedroom, kitchen, bathroom), full breakfast served on your terrace, daily housekeeping, bicycles available (free) and a fully landscaped garden.
We will be delighted to welcome you and show you the best of Pachamama
Regards,
Estelle and Florian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

We had the opportunity to stay at three of the properties at Pachamama. We loved all three! The two bungalows are gorgeous. They have a great back porch where you can sit and watch monkeys as you enjoy great Costa Rican coffee and breakfast that Bill brings you every morning.
Bill is a great host, he will help you with whatever you need and will make sure that you are having the best vacation.
You have one of the worlds most gorgeous beach about a 3 minute walk away. Great snorkeling and hiking area. The supermarket is right next door. Bill also has bikes, snorkel gear, a kayak and a surf board that he loans out.
We had such an amazing time and really enjoyed chilling in the hammocks at Pachamama.
Thanks Bill!

Room Tip: I would recommend the bungalows for the view and breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

We stayed in a bungalow open to the back of the jungle not far off from the river that leads to the ocean. Bill made our stay very pleasant by providing great Costa Rican coffee, and great breakfast. We ate in the open area of our bungalow. It also comes with a small kitchen, refrigerator, propane stove. We decided after trying to find good and reasonable places to eat, and close enough to walk or bike, it was not happening. Bill offered for a reasonable price to cook dinners for us for the next 3 days. He asked what we wanted, and is an excellent cook! We got spoiled. Also he let us borrow a couple bikes to get around, fins for snorkeling, beautiful ocean, he also offered a kayak, steps away from our bungalow to the river that leads
to the ocean. He also gave us info on jungle tours, zip lining etc. If you're looking for rustic, jungle scene where you wake up to howling monkeys, Toucans, comfortable, many physical activities, but restful, we recommend Pachamama. Marta & Maria

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vivamar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Loved the short quick walk to the beach; loved Bill's hospitality (get him to cook you his fish dish - fantastic!), his breakfast was amazing too!
Great laid back spot, lots of trees/nature, loved the hammocks! Highly recommend checking it out!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juliet09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

We just returned from 4 nights in the Casita at Pachamama.
> The hotel location is a short walk from the Punto Uva beach,however a few miles from Puerto Viejo city. Expect: Some commute for meals and recommend having a car if you visit this area to maximize your options.
> The property grounds are kept up but meant to feel unkept. It's as if the jungle is right outside your door. Loved the casita porch and hammocks. Expect: Monkeys, frogs, birds, the bright sun and the squeaks from the bed to wake you early and often. Also expect to hear road/traffic noise especially during the construction days. Bring earplugs!
> Hot water in the shower only (not sink) and limited water pressure. Expect: towels to not match with different towels each day and to never feel quite clean enough, bring your own shampoo and soap.
> Tasty made to order breakfast and coffee with friendly personalized service. (Breakfast options are omelletes, eggs, pancakes and french toast served with coffee and fruit.). Plenty of drinking water was provided in a 5 gallon bottle with pump.
> The mosquito net prevented most bug bites but we also were diligent with bug spray. Expect to feel very warm and cozy with the net/fan/no ac. It was nice to be able to hang up our wet clothes in the provided closest and the non traditional safe was also comfortting.
> Great recommendations from Bill and an appropriate mix of assistance/distance. We loved the hiking trails and resturaunt he recommended.

In summary, if you know these things and are ready to rough it - you will love this place! If you are looking for more amenities, I'd choose another area of Costa Rica as most facilities we saw were similiar. We were looking for a change to our typical all inclusive vacation and had a great time at Pachamama!

Suggestion: A small chair inside the casita would be helpful for early risers like my husband to not disturb those sleeping as there was no inside seating in the casita.

Room Tip: Recommend the casita as the bungalows had a shared porch and not much privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CakeySteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Uva
5.7 mi away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,507 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
700 reviews
2.5 mi away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,050 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Blue Conga
Hotel Blue Conga
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
665 reviews
2.5 mi away
Caribe Town
Caribe Town
#1 of 8 in Cocles
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pachamama Jungle River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pachamama Jungle River Lodge

Address: | between Puerto Viejo and Manzanillo, Punta Uva, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 70304, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca > Punta Uva
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Punta Uva
Price Range: $110 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pachamama Jungle River Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South of the Caribbean coast of Costa Rica, 8 kilometers from Puerto Viejo, within the “Gandoca-Manzanillo Wildlife Refuge,” Estelle and Florian welcome you, 200 meters from the wonderful Punta Uva beach, in their lush tropical garden at the edge of a river. Punta Uva beaches, ideal for swimming and all very beautiful are located 200 meters from Pachamama, at the mouth of Rio Ernesto, our jungle river. Enjoy the beauty and tranquility of tropical nature, while still being steps or paddles from the beach and close to local restaurants and activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pachamama Jungle River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pachamama House & Bungalows Hotel Manzanillo
Pachamama House And Bungalows
Pachamama Jungle River Lodge Costa Rica/Punta Uva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing