We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Location Location Location”
other travelers have booked this property
Bedrooms have quiet air conditioning, iPod players and safes for valuables.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bedrooms have quiet air conditioning, iPod players and safes for valuables.
2 bedrooms with tall ceilings, restored original hard wood floors, 2 baths, and modern amenities. View of Punta Uva beach near the end of the private beach path. Beach is great for swimming.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
24 reviews
Bedrooms have quiet air conditioning, iPod players and safes for valuables.
2 bedrooms with tall ceilings, restored original hard wood floors, 2 baths, and modern amenities.
View of Punta Uva beach near the end of the private beach path. Beach is great for swimming.
Recently remodeled, two-story, two-bedroom, two-bath house w/ private beach access.
View of kitchen from eating area. Tables seats up to 8.
Lush tropical gardens and stone pathways surround the house. Ocean is beyond the trees.
View from the kitchen towards the eating area. Ocean is to the right.
Kitchen with new refrigerator, stove, tiles, and appliances.
View from the kitchen, down the path, to the beach.
Bedrooms look over porch towards the ocean. Plenty of storage space and good light.
Upstairs bathroom: 2 sinks, shower/tub, & hot water (not typical in the area).
Screened-in upstairs porch (ocean is to the right). Relax while listening to the waves and jungle.
Upstairs porch and hallways outside of bedrooms. Ocean is to the right.
Private path from the house to Punta Uva beach.
View of Punta Uva beach from the house's private path.
House is well-lit at night for enjoying dinner, drinks, or moonlight swim.
A huge tree on the property that flowers every 5 years.
Tropical garden with many flowers, fruits, and trees.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Punta Uva, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
IMGlasgow
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Location Location Location”
Reviewed January 25, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Lovely rental house with an interesting back story and the most idyllic position you can find on this coast.
Right on the beach (15M) with a beautiful array of wildlife surrounding you. You even get your own sloth in the garden who strolls right past you without a care.
Carlos and Yolanda live next door and look after the house but you hardly notice they are there and the place feels very private, Evi who looks after the property, bookings and handover is very charming, helpful and knowledgeable about the area.
This is not a 5 star hotel experiance but the location on the beautiful Punta Uva beach got the property 5 stars from us.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
120hatems
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“OK”
Reviewed October 24, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

The place is in a great location in terms of how close to the beach.
The place is very dark even inside there is barely lighting to see your stuff
The AC is a great advantage which is not very common in Costa Rica
The Place is also dark from the outside as the trees are never trimmed and you barely can see the walkway from the beach to the house.
Internet was not as promised and stopped working the 2nd day which made the whole thing inconvenient in addition to the city itself as it has not much to do after the 2nd day.

We tried to ask for any sort of refund and leave a day earlier but the owner did not accept however it was a Sunday on the dead seaon and the house was empty anyway. I strongly believe they could have been more flexible and offer any sort of refund or even a discount on the unused night.

After we left the owner got back to us promising 10% discount because of the internet issue but when he saw my review here , he changed his mind because of I had a negative review!! It was never appreciated to break the promise.

Restaurants and grocery around the place are crazy expensive and almost double the US prices.

The drive way and the road to the place are really dark and having a car is highly recommended.

The 2nd floor has only one shares bath between both rooms and the 2nd bath is in the ground floor.

The house keeper was nice and tried to help but their dog smelled horible every time he came closer to us while we are home.

Water coming from the shower and faucet smells so be prepared.

The property manager Evi was nice and has been always in contact trying to help and she even complements us with some organic limes.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 27, 2016
We’re glad that you enjoyed the location and the AC, but sorry you did not have a better overall experience. With regards to the place being dark, we appreciate the feedback and have just removed some large branches, which has made the property lighter. You are also correct that the water can have a sulfur-like smell at times (as we mention in the listing, this is well water that’s been tested and is safe for washing, but we provide purified water for drinking). In the near future we expect to receive water piped directly from the municipality water supply, which should not have any smell. With regards to the refund request, we regret if there was any confusion, but this is one of the very rare times we feel that a guest’s request was simply unfair. Without going into the extended details, you clearly explained that you were leaving early since you did not like the city, not due to any house problems, and then insisted on a full refund, despite acknowledging the clear refund policies. (Of note for other travelers, September/October is our favorite time of year to visit and is often considered the most beautiful, and is considered ‘low season’ only because many people cannot travel at this time). When you later mentioned the internet problem, we discussed a 10% refund, even though it was caused by construction on the main road affecting the whole region. Nevertheless, you insisted on a full refund, saying you would only write a positive review of our house if we gave you this refund. We simply can’t accommodate this kind of request. Overall, we feel that we tried our best to be fair to you, but we’re sorry that it was not as good an experience as we would all have hoped.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RyanU150
Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great house to kick back and relax!”
Reviewed May 16, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
3
people found this review helpful

My family of 2 adults and 2 kids stayed at Casa de la Musa for 3 nights and loved the place. The house was clean and well maintained. The house is set in the jungle a few dozen steps from the beach. The beach directly in front of the house is rocky and not swimmable. A five minute walk to the right brought us to the quiet north end of beautiful playa Punta Uva. A 10 minute walk to the left brought us to our own private sandy cove just south of Playa Chiquita. We were visited by howler monkeys one (early!) morning which was pretty exciting!

The house has a full kitchen in good working order with all the pots, pans, dishes, and glasses you would need, but if you want to leave the cooking to others, you do have a few options within walking distance. The nearest restaurant is Selvins which is a five minute walk, and serves good pan-Caribbean cuisine at reasonable prices. Ten minutes in the opposite direction will get you to Pita Bonita for surprisingly good hummus and kebabs. A 15 minute walk took us to the Prancing Pony Stables where we had a magical horseback ride along the beach. It's about a 20 minute walk to the Playa Chiquita restaurants and grocery store. We didn't need a car for the short time that we stayed there, but if we had stayed longer and wanted to venture farther I would considered renting a car.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gatorchuc...
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Perfect rustic jungle getaway with its own 'private' beach!!”
Reviewed April 14, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Our stay at Casa de la Musa was exactly what we were looking for! After many stays on the Pacific side (Manuel Antonio, Jaco)--we wanted something where we could totally disconnect and enjoy the Costa Rican nature. Make sure you're in the right mindset for this quaint, perfectly positioned house! If you want fancy furniture and elegant lodgings, this is not your type of place. Casa de la Musa has good sized bedrooms upstairs with a shared bathroom between the two, a nice upstairs screened in living area for reading to the sounds of the jungle AND beach waves, and separate kitchen and bathroom downstairs with covered (but outdoors) eating area with two awesome hammocks. The property is fairly large and very safe, with the caretakers right next door, and the ability to just walk out to the beach anytime was great! Punta Uva beach is beautiful, not crowded, and everything we wanted. We were in constant contact with Evi (although her son Joel is the one who met us and gave us the keys). We did experience a power outage our first night because of damaged power lines that impacted all of Punta Uva and Playa Manzanillo areas--but they had the power back on later that night. It was perfect to just disconnect and be one with the surroundings.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ivsail
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Muse-ic to our ears...”
Reviewed October 29, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The sound of the ocean waves at night and the jungle sounds were a symphony. We slept very well. Everything at the house was great. We had no problems at all during our 10 nights. It was really great to have the housekeeper do our laundry. Fresh, clean clothes. The house was clean when we got there, and cleaned during our stay.

The beach is a short walk through the jungle, and wonderful when you get there. Quiet and apart from the crowds of Puerto Viejo. Pelicans in the trees and on the water. Walk for miles. Perfect.

A great restaurant is within walking distance, a very nice grocery a few minutes away in Playa Chiquita, and all the tourist hustle and bustle of Puerto Viejo just 10 minutes drive. Perfect.

The wife of one of the mangers is a tour agent, and she set us up with several tours as well as introducing us to some of her friends who were able to give us some special tours and things to do. A great perq. We loved staying here, and will again if we come back to this area...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The proximity to the beach and local activities while having incredible privacy.
Liked least: Couldn't drink the water, but plenty of bottled water was provided
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 5, 2015
Thanks for staying with us at Casa de la Musa, we are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and you are very welcome back anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon S
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Steps from the beach”
Reviewed October 25, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We (wife, two boys aged 9 and 11) stayed at Casa de la Musa for 11 nights in October 2015.

It took some getting used to that the upstairs (screened porch, bedrooms, bathroom) were separated by a lockable door from the downstairs (dining table, kitchen, another bathroom, another shower). It felt like two distinct and separate places. At times this dissuaded us from using the kitchen and dining table when we were upstairs.

The kitchen is a neat little place. It almost felt like opening up a shop in the morning when we went down for breakfast, as we unlocked the door then unlatched and opened the shutters and windows. Having a kitchen exposed to the elements like this meant that we kept all of our food in the fridge to keep the bugs away. Having said that, we had no issue with bugs in the kitchen. The dining table, however, was at times swarmed with ants. We mentioned this to the property managers, and they were quickly taken care of.

The running water is not potable, but there was ample drinking water supplied during our stay. Speaking of water, it was nice to have a warm shower occasionally

It was wonderful hearing the breaking waves on the beach at night, and having just a short walk to get there during the day. Punta Uva is a beautiful spot. We spent hours playing in the waves, and walking the beach in the mornings.

Air conditioning worked like a dream, and the wifi was surprisingly fast and reliable throughout our whole visit. And we loved hanging out in the hammock, listening to the sounds of the forest.

If you're looking for a quiet spot, removed from the activity of Puerto Viejo (but still within a 10 minute drive), steps from the ocean...then this place is for you.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MileandCo
Wayne, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We had a great time at " la casa de la Musa"”
Reviewed April 16, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Everything was perfect for us. The house is clean, we felt safe and at home.
Plenty of space for us (family of 4 ). It was very special to wake up ( ok, it was very early ) because of the Howler Monkeys and than get up and walk to the beach, sitting there with a cup of coffee, nobody else there....PARADISE! Carlos and Jolanda, who are taking care of the property are doing a very nice job, thank you!
We hope to come back one day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing