We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect and Peaceful”
other travelers have booked this property
California King sized bed w/ quality mattress and linens. A/C, Wifi, Satellite TV, Screened Patio
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
California King sized bed w/ quality mattress and linens. A/C, Wifi, Satellite TV, Screened Patio
Confortable living area. Fully equipped kitchen and dining room table.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
California King sized bed w/ quality mattress and linens. A/C, Wifi, Satellite TV, Screened Patio
Confortable living area.
Fully equipped kitchen and dining room table.
Full bathroom.
Hand Painted Toucan Bathroom Sink
The Toucan Stay Inn Private and Gated 1/2 acre +
Owner's cabin
Screened in patio with hammock, table and chair, massage table.
a place to read, nap or just relax 200 meters away
'Owner's Cabin'…with A/C, Wi-Fi, Satellite TV. A LUXURY ACCOMMODATION
Some of Our Garden Flowers
Tropical Foliage Envelopes our Lawn
Garden yoga Pavillon, Additional Seating and BBQ Grill
a visit to the Jaguar rescrue center.
As the Sun Sets In THe West......
The Toucan Stay  Inn (but 3 can\'t)...sometimes
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Punta Uva, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Nigel B
Keswick, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect and Peaceful”
Reviewed March 1, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

My wife and I just spent 6 days at the Toucan Stay Inn in Punta Uva, Costa Rica. It is difficult to say enough good things about the entire experience. We stayed in the Owners Cabin and it was perfect. The cabin was clean and well appointed with fully equipped kitchen, large bathroom, king size bed, satellite TV (which we didn’t actually use but I did try it out), a nice sitting area inside, and a screened in porch outside. The grounds are beautiful, flowers, plants, birds all in great abundance. The whole grounds are secured with fencing and locked gates.

Mike was awesome. Anything we needed he would either get for us, or steer us in the right direction. Bike rentals, taxis, groceries, liquor, or anything else we needed, Mike knows who has the best price. He arranged taxis for us whenever required. He set us up with restaurant reservations at some truly amazing places.

Mike also was good at not being there when not required. We could sit on the large tiled deck and eat a private meal without even being aware of his presence.

The location is ideal, steps away from one of the most beautiful beaches I have ever seen, and a short cab ride (or a bit longer on the bikes) into Puerto Viejo. The entire stretch of road is a gastronomic wonderland, everywhere restaurant we ate at (all recommended by Mike) served food that was so good it is hard to describe.

My only regret is not staying longer, but the airport shuttle did pick us up right at the gate which made the trip home much less stressful.

Thank you to Mike for making our stay a wonderful experience, we will definitely be returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Close to the Beach, Peace and quiet.
Liked least: It rained for a whole day, otherwise no problem at all.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth B
Pell City, Alabama
1 review
“Little piece of heaven”
Reviewed February 17, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

What a wonderful slice of heaven. Booking with Jon and his wife was incredibly easy and instantly I felt like long lost friends. They were attentive to my needs, quick with responses and very professional. Upon arrival we were greeted by Mike (the property manager). He was courteous, kind, helpful and just wanted to make sure our vacation was perfect. Mike made recommendations for attractions and was a great resource for information on the local area. We stayed in the JOSE suite, which was just perfect. It was far enough out of town for a peaceful retreat, but close enough if you wanted to get a taste of a busier type area. The walk to the beach was less than 2 minutes and incredible. The water was the color or high priced gemstones and sparkled just the same, the road was littered with local flowers and flora for just the right jungle touch. There was a grocery store right across the street for quick everyday needs and even so local beer! We spent our days, hiking, diving and sightseeing and conclude with a beer or two on the lovely veranda. The veranda had a hammock to relax in and comfortable chairs for reading. It overlooked a well maintained garden that gave you the jungle feel from the safety of the house. The room had a newly renovated kitchen which was perfect for us to prepare quick snacks and the bathroom was large, much bigger than I expected. The B&B was a bit hard to find as there wasn't a sign, but other than that, it was AMAZING! It was the little piece of heaven that I needed to get away from this high paced, high stress life I live. You will not just leave here with a relaxed outlook on life, but some new lifelong friends. I would book in a heartbeat should the wind ever blow me back that direction... Pura Vida!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, size, accessability, price
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carina O
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect stay”
Reviewed July 16, 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

I spent two nights at the Toucan Stay Inn, which is owned by an American from Florida and his wife from Columbia. The room is was very nice finished, very clean with everything working!!! I ate the best pancake and the best omelette so far in Costa Rica, and I have been so far to at least 10 different places. John and his wife Mabelle do everything to make your stay pleasant.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The friendliness of the wonder
Traveling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
allspirit...
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great little hotel located a few minutes away from a gorgeous beach.”
Reviewed June 16, 2012 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We had a great time at the Toucan Stay Inn. Jon stayed up late to wait for us since we were coming in after midnight. In the morning, he took us to a secluded section of the Punta Uva beach with some hammocks, water, and body boards that he provided. He even tied up our hammocks near the water and showed us a safe place to park our car. His restaurant recommendations were excellent (don't miss El Refugio!). The room was clean and welcoming, we stayed in Hose B which is the smaller of the two. We had an absolutely great time, thanks Jon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Great location, excellent advice about the surrounding area
Liked least: Internet was a bit spotty
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chattyc3
Englewood, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Toucan Stay Inn's delighful cottage in a lovey garden is just a short stroll to the beautiful Carribean ocean.”
Reviewed March 23, 2012 for a stay in February 2012
2
people found this review helpful

My husband and I had a wonderful week at Toucan Stay Inn bed and breakfast Feb 16 -23, 2012. We stayed in the "owner's" cabin and had everything we needed! The beautiful Punta Uva Beach is just a short walk away. A major hi-light of our stay was Wendy, the manager ,who served a lovely breakfast in the morning along with invaluable ideas, advice, and tips on where to go, what to see, best restaurants, etc. Since it was our first time in Costa Rica, she really made us feel welcome and comfortable. the Inn is very private and safe with a beautiful garden. they provide all kinds of "toys" -hammocks, boogie oards, snorkling supplies, beach towls and bikes. we appreciated having Wi-Fi in the day area, along with air conditioning at the end of a hot day. there are miles of beautiful beaches to walk and swim in. the restaurants in the area are fabulous- interntional cuisine of all types. it's great fun to watch the young people surfing. we loved Manzanilo National Wildlife Refuge just down the road. there is a good convenience store right across the road. Our only regret is we didn't stay longer!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Wendy's helfulness, the beach
Liked least: the neighborhood garbage bin is right around the corner, which is convenient, but the local pickup ser vice leaves a lot laying around
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dgentry82...
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Getaway with Friends”
Reviewed August 21, 2011 for a stay in August 2011
1
person found this review helpful

We would highly recommend the Toucan Stay Inn. We came with friends and had a wonderful experience. Our room was very comfortable and we were made to feel at home with free reign of the common areas and kitchen. Wendy was a great hostess with wonderful stories to share. She greeted us the first night with cocktails, made delicious breakfasts every morning, helped us plan activities and gave excellent dining recommendations. We had fun exploring the beaches, shops, food and expecially enjoyed the canopy tour.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Canopy Tour
Traveling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 20, 2011
Debbie,

Thank you so much for your kind words.
I am so delighted that you enjoyed your stay. I understand you celebrated 2 B'days and 2 Anniversaries with us. Belated Happy B'days and Happy Anniversary wishes to you!!! Wendy truly enjoyed your company...and of course, we hope you come back to see us soon. I've got an idea...how about making the Toucan Stay Inn a TRADITION for your B'days and Anniveraries? lol Canopy tours because are so easy, thrilling and memorable.They are our #1 activity recommendation to guests.

Pura Vida,

Jon (the owner)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FL
Reviewed August 9, 2011 for a stay in March 2010

Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 9, 2011
Dear Judy,

"Heaven" you say!!! How nice!!!

I believe we are the ONLY accommodation in Punta Uva with Air Conditioning...and what you referred to as "regular" plumbing. We designed the place to "fit" in with local "style", but these two ammenties were a MUST for us too.

We do hope you will return...and tell your friends about us.

Pura Vida,

Jon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing