We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor service and amenities that were small or didn't work.”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Lotus Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Lotus Suites
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wadsworth
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Poor service and amenities that were small or didn't work.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

First off, it is off the beaten path with nothing around it. When we got there, the first room they gave us was extremely smoky smelling, so they switched us to another of the same room 2 doors down. The pool was super small and the spa only held 3 people at a time. And on the 2nd night the spa water was colder than the pool water! Breakfast was o.k., nothing special. When we checked out, no one asked how are stay was! Guess they did not want to know. Won't stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Consume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    29
    17
    5
    12
See reviews for
56
14
1
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

This hotel had a dated feel - but it was very clean. We went to this hotel when we went to Six Flags Amusement Park. It was difficult to find originally but was very nice. It had that 80's feeling to the furnishings but was upscale and on a golf course. The room was very spacious with a kitchen and eating area along with the living room area with a pullout bed. The kingsized bed was very comfortable. We would stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cathy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is "just ok", nothing special. Hotel appears clean enough, but think the hotel just recently must have gone non-smoking. Our room was clean, but had a lingering smoke smell. They deodorized it, which helped, but the smell was still there.

The "hot breakfast" is pretty weak. Today had per-made egg things like you see at a Hampton Inn. Also had biscuits & gravy that was clearly basic & re-warmed... Cereal consisted of Corn Flakes & that's it. Limited selection of yogurt in fridge that was barely cold... No meat selection except what in biscuits & gravy...

Hotel isn't the easiest to get to. Not close to highway & no restaurants or anything right near by.

Again, was just ok. Not bad, but not too good either.

I'd stay elsewhere if you have a choice.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Invstr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

I stayed at this hotel on June 29, 2012. I don't even know where to start. Checking in took forever. Went to get in the hot tub oh sorry no hot water. No change at front desk for laundry, I was told to go to corner store. No housekeeping services were provided. Found housekeeper in hallway ask for towels, she didn't speak English and gave me wet towels. Then when i received my statement I was double charged, they told me I had two rooms and I was a no call no show for one. Really!!! Never again!!! Breakfast was alright.....

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Baba S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed at this hotel on June 15, 2012. After check in I went up to the room to find it only had one bed. I went to the desk and asked to change rooms. He said I could not change because I booked it online. I even told him I would pay a higher rate. He still said no. So I asked for an extra pillow and blanket so the kids could sleep on the floor. I was ok with that because it was only for one night. When we got back to the hotel around 1am, there were no extra items in the room like he said there would be. Then I pulled out the pullout sofa to find dirty sheets balled up in the middle. I went down to the desk and got help. She brought me a rollaway bed and extra sheets. While she was up there my daughter tried to take a shower and water went everywhere. The showerhead was broken. The clerk tried to fix it but could not. She cleaned up the water with all of the clean towels and did not bring us any more. She told me that we would have to take showers like that. There was no way I was going to stand there and try to hold the showerhead and wash my hair at the same time. The ac unit in the bedroom didn"t work right and the list goes on. But what makes me more upset was the fact that the new clerk at checkout couldn"t help me and told me that a manager would call me on Monday. It is now July 9, 2012 and I have not heard from anybody.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank love-to-travel-1175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hammond, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

My family and I really enjoyed staying here. The staff was very kind. The rooms were spacious. The breakfast was very good also. My only regret was not bringing food along since it did come with a mini fridge and microwave.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MLee826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeland, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

E. Davis
Spent a couple weeks in June, was pleasantly suprised by service and friendliness of entire staff. Only decided to write this review after seeing a few reviews; I couldn't believe they stayed at the same place. Don't take my word for it give it a try,
and make sure you try breakfast, it is one of the best self serve I've seen in any hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Enoch D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wadsworth
2.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gurnee
5.1 mi away
The Inn at Market Square
5.6 mi away
Illinois Beach Resort and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Chicago Waukegan
4.8 mi away
Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
2.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Gurnee
Comfort Inn Gurnee
#2 of 11 in Gurnee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lotus Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lotus Suites

Property: The Lotus Suites
Address: 4601 W Yorkhouse Rd, Wadsworth, IL 60083-9104
Location: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Wadsworth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wadsworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lotus Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located close to the Great Lakes Naval Base, Six Flags Great America, Gurnee Mills Mall, Prime outlet in Pleasant Prairie , Wilmont Ski , Waukegan harbor, Abbott Park, Cancer Treatment Centers of America amongst other attractions. We are one of Lake County's premium sports, wedding and business destination. We truly are your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lotus Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Waukegan / Gurnee / Wadsworth Hotel Wadsworth
Hawthorn Suites Wadsworth
Wadsworth Hawthorn Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing