We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super breakfast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bobby's Barrel Inn

Bobby's Barrel Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Volo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Harrisonburg, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Super breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Road construction had knocked out their power the day we visited, but they were cooking with gas on the grill. Very good breakfast food! Large portions and friendly staff. Not much on atmosphere, but a great little spot!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    25
    7
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
2,004 reviews
1,300 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,170 helpful votes
“A very good all-you-can-eat fish fry”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

My wife and I decided to return here and try their all-you-can-eat Friday fish fry that the locals keep telling us is very good. It is $11.25 and is available on both Wednesdays and Fridays. Their fish fry consists of Cod and they give you a choice on how you would like it prepared. They allow mix and match:

Beer battered, Broiled lemon pepper, Broiled garlic butter, or Broiled Cajun.

You are also given a choice of potatoes. The meal comes with a small amount of cole slaw.

We both started off with an order of Broiled Cajun, which we both thought was very good. I also tried the beer battered, which I thought was very good as well. Service was a bit slow even though they were not busy when we there around 9:00 pm.

I would rate this as a very good all-you-can-eat fish fry and one of the better ones in this area but a few dollars higher than the average.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WorldTravelers34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
163 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Good place for lunch if you're in the area.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

My friends love this place for breakfast, but we got there too late and lunch was being served. Typical bar lunch - but good quality and nice friendly service.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lady_Jane_PI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
2,004 reviews
1,300 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,170 helpful votes
“A diner/bar combo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Three of us had tacos and a few beers here. This place is a dive bar but actually looks like an old diner. I have never seen a combination like this before. We were told that on Tuesday and Saturday nights they serve all you can eat broasted chicken and on Wednesdays and Saturdays they serve all you can eat fish.

Bobby Barrel inn is located near the Volo Antique Mall.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldTravelers34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, Illinois
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good food at local jointing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

Ate here in Friday night after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor. If you are looking for a white table cloth resturant...this is not the place. If you like goid food with personal service...highly recommended

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bobby's Barrel Inn also viewed

 

Been to Bobby's Barrel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing