We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diving in First Class”

Mermet Springs Scuba
Ranked #1 of 7 things to do in Vienna
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Mermet Springs is a full service dive site and scuba training facility that offers on-site scuba instruction. We strive for excellence and cater to dive shops, instructors, students and certified scuba divers of all experience levels and certifying agencies. Whether you are looking for a scuba training facility or a dive site that you and the entire family can enjoy, plan your next trip to Mermet Springs where you can dive in First Class.
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Diving in First Class”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Diving in First Class is way more than just a cute tagline at Mermet Springs. This not only refers to the sunken 727 from the movie Air Marshalls, it also refers to the way in which divers are welcomed to one of the nicest dive destinations in the Midwest. As an Instructor, I am very cognizant of the safety features, and the safety practices of the management. At Mermet, both are top notch. From the moment I arrived with my students, we were part of the family! Having called ahead, we had a reserved pavilion ready and waiting for us. All weekend long, the staff took great care to make sure our tanks were promptly filled, and rental gear was properly fitted and well explained. Speaking of rental gear, Mermet has a wide selection of DUI Dry Suits for rent! That is great for students that want to a Dry Suit adventure dive on the way to Advanced Open Water, or to try before they buy. The shallow platforms are quite suitable for an introduction to diving dry. Nighttime security and cameras allowed us to leave our gear in the pavilion rather than schlepping it around; super convenient.
All in all, it was a fabulous weekend, and all of us are looking forward to diving Mermet again. It is a great teaching venue, and so comfortable! They even have hot showers... complete with shampoo and conditioner... talk about "First Class"!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Robin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    8
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana, Usa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Gem in the Midwest for Diving”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

First time at Mermet Springs September 2013.
And it was a great experience!
Staff very friendly, helpful and really knows their diving!
The grounds are well maintained.
Very easy entry/exit points from the quarry.
Very big catfish and quite a number of paddlenose fish as well!!
A very enjoyable time and experience at Mermet Springs!
Cannot wait until the next trip to Mermet Springs!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank DanK565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collierville, TN
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Quarry Diving At Its Finest”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Mermet Springs sets the quality and safety bars far above the levels you find at any other quarry I've visited for Scuba. Glen has set up his operation to provide a great experience for divers whether they're visiting with an instructor for their Open Water certification dives or they're using their Tech/Extended Range skills. The quarry has been outfitted with underwater attractions ranging from a concrete petting zoo to a school bus to several small airplanes and the fuselage of a Boeing 727. There are several training platforms for classes to use at depths ranging from 20 to 100 feet. When the diving day is done, a warm shower awaits at the shower/changing room.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bitbrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannibal, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Bluegill, bass, and hot dogs.”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

My experience at Mermet Springs was just outstanding. Dove on a Friday, no crowd at all. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Large parking lot, outstanding area to gear up, easy stroll to the dock with a very easy walk in area to begin your dive. They do have the 727 jet to swim through and many other thing to see and do underwater, but my favorite is feeding the fish, (lots of fish), hot dogs. Also got to see the huge paddlefish, that's pretty cool. I enjoyed listening to music while diving. Glenn and his staff also will set you up with a dive buddy if you are a solo diver, which I am. I met a very good diver, thanks Alex, who has dove the site hundreds of times and made both my dives interesting and enjoyable. Can;t wait to dive here again.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Birney H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
76 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Fantastic quarry diving at Mermet Springs”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

My wife and I just completed our PADI Open Water certs a month ago, and decided to visit Mermet Springs to hone our skills a bit and to see the underwater attractions that are featured in several youtube videos.

We visited on a Tuesday and were immediately greeted cheerfully by Glenn Faith (the owner) and Allie, one of the staff. Allie fixed us up with full rental gear (all in excellent shape, except the wet suits, which were quite serviceable but, as you expect with rental gear, definitely used). We dove in one piece 7 mm suits (the norm for quarries in northern Illinois and northern Ohio is 2 piece 5/7 mm suits which are frankly very difficult for me to work with). The one piece suits were fantastic. Entry was by stairs leading into the water and ending at about 4 feet deep. We stepped off the end of the stairs, sunk down to a platform at 20', and followed clearly labeled rope paths (clearly labeled on the map and actually on the ropes themselves) to several very cool underwater attractions, many of which were at 20-30' depth.

One of the specific draws for us was the fuselage of a 727 airliner that was sunk in such a way that the tail was in 15' of water and the nose in 50'. We have little experience with depths above 40', and this was a very nonthreatening way to gently ease from 15' down to about 45', with a solid point of reference available at all times. We didn't wear hoods, and it was cold at 45', but we were only down there for about 5 minutes (enough time to swim past the train car and start heading back up toward the starting platforms).

The facilities were phenomenal. We set up in a "pavilion" no more than 20' away from the primary dock. The pavilion had picnic tables plus special gear setup tables with "racks" and bungee cords so you could set your tank upright, pull your BCD's tank straps down over it, add weights, and set up your regulators, all without worrying about your gear falling down and breaking something. A bathroom with a flush toilet and running water was 50' away, and generous changing rooms were also close by.

If you like hand-feeding fish, buy a package of "fish dogs" (hot dogs). To feed them to the fish, squish them between your fingers (you might want to remove your gloves first) - the fish that will school around you cannot eat a whole hot dog, and many of them cannot even eat fairly small chunks.

Allie had told us that if we hovered at about 35' and looked up, we might see some paddlefish (these are 4-5' long fish - look it up on youtube). Sure enough, we went to the submerged ambulance, hovered quietly, and saw them at a distance of maybe 20-25'. Amazing.

Interestingly, not that people scuba dive to save money, but the gear rental was cheaper at Mermet Springs than I've seen anywhere else.

We very much appreciated the variety of underwater attractions, the clear underwater paths, the gorgeous above-water scenery, the fish, and most of all Glen and Allie's competent and friendly assistance.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mermet Springs Scuba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing