We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't go!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Samba Fire - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Samba Fire
Cuisines: Brazilian, Steakhouse, South American
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Mundelein, Illinois
1 review
“Don't go!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

Definitely not going there again!

-Can you make reservations? Yes, but they "don't have you on the list and you'll have to wait anyway."

-Is there a salad bar? Oh yeah, but horrible selection and somehow they run low on the good stuff. If you're not eating meat, don't waste your time going. Waste of money.

-Is it all you can eat? HAHAHA! That's funny. Only if want a little taster or if you want to wait for 45 minutes for the waitstaff to come around again. And don't complain about it because they will ignore you for sure.

-How's the selection/quality of meat? Well, they advertised about 12 different kind but only have 7. I hope you're not going for the filet mignon. Who likes rare meat that's still cold??? Any takers??? This is the place for you. Or you can wait 30 minutes for them to burn the crap out of it. What's wrong with these people?

-How's the service? There's definitely waitstaff, but they are trained in profiling people that look like you can eat your money's worth. Or they just keep track of how much you had and just figure "that's enough for you". (No soup for you!!!)

-Tell us how you feel......is what most food establishments ask when they are concerned and then usually try their best to make customers happy or at least come back. Not this place. We called the next day to discuss our experience with management. They offered us a free meal. Well, that was nice. A few days later, they said, sorry we changed our minds. WHAT?!?!?!? Who does that?

-Would I recommend Samba Fire to my friends? Only the ones I don't like.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank meech123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    7
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worst Service and Brazilian Food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

DON'T COME HERE! Service is horrible and food is served raw if served at all. The price is not cheap and the food is not worth it. The staff limits how much food is served to each guest and the food does not taste how a Brazilian steakhouse should prepare their food. SAVE YOUR MONEY and go somewhere else.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DaCat80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Villa, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quite pricey”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

When the Japanese steakhouse across the street had a 3-hour wait, we decided to try Samba Fire. This was our first Brazilian steakhouse experience. We didn't expect the $32 per person price tag. It's located in a strip mall, but inside is well decorated and looks very nice and spacious. The salad and hot food bar is not as extensive as I would think the price warrants. Really just salad basics, salad dressings that are not labeled, a few kinds of olives, a few cold salads, and a parmesan wheel on the cold part. The hot bar includes mac & cheese, mashed potatoes, and black beans, with white rice in a steamer, and some mini rolls. None of this was outstanding in taste. The meats were the best part, but the meat service experience was diminished by a very terse gaucho. When we didn't understand the name of the meat he was serving and asked him to repeat it, he did nothing to help us understand. Most of the meats were good, a couple were exceptional, but one or two I had were tough. We paid $183 (including an appropriate tip) for four adults and one child, and that is with no drinks and only one dessert. For that reason, it is not likely that we will return to Samba Fire.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rclyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
109 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Poor quality meat...overpriced. ”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

Tried this restaurant again at request of teenage son. For a $150 bill for three, the quality of the meat and salad bar should have been quite high. Specialty of house is sirloin steak - very salty. One piece of meat seemed off. Basic salad bar with addition of nice Parmesan wheel. The only upside was that the service is outstanding! Not a big fan of Brazilian steakhouses but this one is the worst of the ones where I have dined.

Helpful?
Thank NatureEnthusiast7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
“A great Rodizio restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

A great Brazilian rodizio restaurant. You get the same or best quality as Fogo o Chao, but with better price and a very good waitstaff service.
The big chooses of salad bar, including a good selection of typical Brazilian entries in the salad bar. The quality of the beef is really good. A great picaña. You need to try the pineapple grilled and the mouse of papaya.
The place is really clean and enjoyable. It is perfect to go with family, friends, business or for a romantic occasion.
I love the Brazilian cosine and it is the best Rodizio restaurant I had tried in US.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cardozolili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Samba Fire also viewed

Vernon Hills, Lake County
Vernon Hills, Lake County
 
Vernon Hills, Lake County
Vernon Hills, Lake County
 
Vernon Hills, Lake County
Vernon Hills, Lake County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing