We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great burgers and fries”
Review of Five Guys

Five Guys
Ranked #33 of 123 Restaurants in Vernon Hills
Cuisines: Fast Food, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Chicago
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great burgers and fries”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Like I said, the burgers are great, so are the fries. Don't know what the "Bad" review is about. There are for of us, we all order hamburgers, and one small order of fries is enough for all of us (and we are not skimpy eaters), and we pay a about $25. 10 minutes wait is not long, it does not usually take that long, and you can have some peanuts while waiting. It's a hamburger place, and their hamburgers are better then in many fancy restaurants. Hamburger-all-the-way come with very fresh lettuce, tomato, onion, grilled mushrooms, grilled onions, and some condiments. If you don't like hamburgers - go somewhere else!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LizaRus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    9
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
vernon hills, il
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Burger-lovers only”
Reviewed April 21, 2012

This is a chain, have eaten at them across the country. Burger-lovers generally rave on them, due to the high-quality meat, wide variety of different types of toppings. And the bowls of peanuts give you something to do while you are waiting for them to prepare your order.

They are good overall, but menu is pretty limited besides burgers and fries, in a fast-food style eatery. If that's what you want, this is a pretty good place - consistent with the entire chain.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Grumpyoldguy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
902 reviews
644 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 334 helpful votes
“fabulous fries!!!!!”
Reviewed December 19, 2011

Yes, that was me, AGAIN, stopping by for my fry fix and filling up on peanuts while I waited. Don't tell my doctor.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank illinois travelere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mundelein, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bad”
Reviewed September 19, 2010

Don't spend your money at any 5 guys. It took 10 minutes to get the food. It was $80 for 6 of us, and the food wasn't even good

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank smartkidtyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midwest
Level Contributor
231 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Delightful!”
Reviewed August 25, 2010

Wonderful burgers! All the ingredients are extremely fresh, not frozen and they use peanut oil so no trans fats. If you have a peanut allergy however, do not stop in as they have big boxes of peanuts all over the place for snacking and use peanut oil. A review on Yelp mentioned the little burger was actually regular size and the regular fries feeds 2. It is true so keep that in mind. Even my husband was filled up with a little bacon cheeseburger, splitting a regular cajun (spicy) fry with a coke. Because there is nothing frozen here, you can not get shakes however, they did have a lot of variety of sodas and water. Also, this is specifically a burger place so there is not a lot of variety if looking for something else. That being said, they do offer hot dogs and for vegetarians you can get grilled cheese or a veggie sandwich with very fresh veggies. This is my favorite place to get a burger besides Ric's Dog Gone Good Food on Route 22 in Lake Zurich. If they would offer Merkt's chedder cheese for my burger and fries I would have given them 5 stars!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank midwest4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Five Guys also viewed

Vernon Hills, Lake County
Vernon Hills, Lake County
 
Vernon Hills, Lake County
Vernon Hills, Lake County
 
Vernon Hills, Lake County
Vernon Hills, Lake County
 

Been to Five Guys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing