We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Different, Fresh and Fun” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nirvana Wine & Grillerie

Nirvana Wine & Grillerie
Reserve with OpenTable
Nirvana Wine & Grillerie is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 123 Restaurants in Vernon Hills
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Wine Bar, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Nirvana Wine & Grillerie is an original wine bar & restaurant that simply wants to share the best with people. We welcome friends into our lives through food & wine with the family owned wineries that we represent, small batch wines, and food that is as fresh and natural as possible. Nirvana has a scratch kitchen that offers artisan hand crafted cheeses, farm-raised and hormone free chicken, wild-caught seafood, all natural hand-made flatbreads, and fresh daily ingredients.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
137 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Different, Fresh and Fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

If you are looking for something different with excellent food and wine this is a great place. Perfect for lunch, dinner or after hours. On the weekends the have live music. Check out their menu - it's diverse and interesting. The food is really tasty. I rarely eat salad out but their "everything You want in a Salad" dish has long grain rice, garbanzo beans, cranberries, almonds, and more - it is delicious. The fish always tastes fresh and not fishy. They have creative dishes - they also have some vegetarian entrees.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ScenicRt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    28
    10
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

I had lunch at Nirvana today with my family, this place is small.. but it is EXCELLENT.
Service staff is great and knowledgeable
Appetizers = Nirvana Marrakesh Express and Mussels Provencal.. VERY GOOD
my husband and I had the The Good Stuff and my son had the
Spinach, Tomato & Gorgonzola Penne.. all Fabulous
We each had a wine flight
Do NOT miss this restaurant ( no matter is visiting Lake county, IL or living here )

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Aurora S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent, original dishes with the most original wine selection in the area.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

Great experience, second time there, first review.
Had mussels and stuffed mushroom appetizers, both were winners. Wife had a salad for main course, I had a grilled shrimp and scallop dish in a very original sauce and mix of chopped tomato, avocado, and other veggies. Delicious. Had a wonderful Sauvignon blanc from New Zealand by the glass to start, and an an incredible Pinot from Oregon off the Reserve list. The wines on the reserve list were half off which is a great opportunity for non-connoisseurs like us to try exceptional wines at a less than exceptional price.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Em1789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
146 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Excellent food, loved the soup so much went back the next day!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

Had lunch twice at Nirvana this past week. The food was so fresh and delicious, and the soups were amazing, I had to go back. I had the vegetable soup the first day and it was thick and hot and tasty. The second day I had the white bean vegetable, and it was equally delicious.

I usually get the vegetable grilled flatbread sandwich, it is the perfect mix of vegetables and cheese and bread.

Our server was friendly and attentive. It is a great place for lunch or dinner with friends. Has great vegetarian food, but most of the menu is not vegetarian.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennie30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“To Drool For”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Must go!! Delicous food, excellent service and knowledgeable staff. Went on a Wednesday evening and they had the half price bottle of wine. I had the carmalized salmon , which was outstanding and my husband had the trio of petite medallions. Our friend had the pot pie and his wife the trio of petite medallions. They were very impressed with the menu and the wine selections. Very particular folks! Everyone agreed that their meal was excellent and would like to return soon.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kggranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nirvana Wine & Grillerie also viewed

Vernon Hills, Lake County
Vernon Hills, Lake County
 
Vernon Hills, Lake County
Vernon Hills, Lake County
 
Vernon Hills, Lake County
Vernon Hills, Lake County
 

Been to Nirvana Wine & Grillerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing