We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place for dinner for 2 for miles”
Review of The Rock Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Rock Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Haytor Vale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Best place for dinner for 2 for miles”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

After an day's walking, it's great to go out and eat delicious, well-presented, food in attractive surroundings. The Rock is an old pub, with an old world atmosphere. There is nothing old-fashioned about the food, though, which is fresh and imaginative. It must be fabulous in winter, with fires or stoves in every room, it certainly won't be cold!

Local sourcing appears to be the name of the game, and there are two menus - the daily menu, with delicious steaks and heavenly puddings, plus a la carte, with more of a choice. Great value, good service.

We came back at least three times, and only once made a bad food choice. If you're looking for a restaurant with great views, this is not it, but it is full, night after night. People know a good place when they see one!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katebrz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    79
    25
    8
    0
See reviews for
49
207
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, UK
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

This is a good place to stay if you’re walking in Dartmoor. We stayed for three nights and booked late so we had to change rooms after two nights. The staff made this very easy and moved our luggage for us while we were out. Food here is very good and the restaurant has a nice atmosphere. They have an a la carte menu and a fixed price menu (two or three courses) but they seem quite flexible about this and my wife chose a main course from the fixed price menu for which we were given a separate price. It’s a dining pub in the evening (we didn’t have lunch here) and there isn’t really a bar or anywhere just to have a drink. The a la carte menu didn’t change when we were there and was dated the day before we arrived so we suspect it changes weekly. If you’re vegetarian (we’re not) the choices are very limited and you may find the options repetitive if you stay for a few nights. The wine list is short but well chosen and good value. We’ve stayed here two or three times before and the rooms do vary. The room we stayed in for the first two nights was much larger (as was the bathroom) than the room we moved to and yet the prices were the same. If you have a choice we recommend checking the rooms on their good website when you book. WiFi is free and good enough given the remote location. Mobile reception is almost non-existent. Staff are very friendly and helpful and this is a good value place. Good cooked breakfasts.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry_in_Bristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DEVON
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We love this restaurant.. Sharon the Head Waitress is just amazing.. she makes this place.. remembers us , asks after our l;ittle ones and always looks after us, we only live up the road and will always choose to eat here for our romantic meals, the table by the fire is our favourite. The food is superb and the wine list extensive and yummy !..

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizzieBartlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Probus, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Had a celebratory family lunch here. It was superb, great food, great service and a wonderful local atmosphere. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jantzenuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith & Lisa Essex
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We both received a very warm welcome from all the staff at The Rock Inn which was situated in a delightful pretty little village. We were allocated a very comfortable room which was styled and decorated beautifully. The food was extremely well presented and breakfast didn't disappoint. Would we return, oh yes without a doubt. Only thing that wasn't lovely was the UK weather but I suppose you cannot have it all.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BijouUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon UK
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights this year at the end of May. We'd stopped off in the past for lunch a couple of times and loved the setting and the food and this year we stayed as part of our holiday. Excellent decision! Room was pretty, cosy but with plenty of space; storage, mirrors and all the essentials that make a stay enjoyable. Modern ensuite bathroom not huge but spotlessly clean, as was the room. Plenty of info for visitors. Staff really warm and friendly and nothing is too much trouble. Food superb - from breakfast, taken in the pretty breakfast area with red and white checked tablecloths and white starched napkins, to dinner in the romantic candle-lit dining room. After dinner you can go to the bar or relax in the lounge where there are books, games and a fire in winter. The location is wonderful too - on the edge of Dartmoor, in a good position for visiting local beauty spots, gardens and houses, it has a pretty garden opposite with tables and benches. We were made to feel very welcome. It's one of the rare places we plan to return to again. And again.

Room Tip: We stayed in a Superior room. Whilst not huge, it had plenty of space- more than enough. If space i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hedgecrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W.Sussex
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

I have been to the Rock for lunch twice in the last month. The ambience is excellent and the staff efficient and friendly. I consider it very much a winter location as I'm not a moor walker and I love the warm cosy atmosphere by the fire. The food however can sometimes be disappointing I'm told. Recently a main course of pork chops was tough and poorly flavoured. The wine selection was good for a small pub. Overall we enjoyed our visits and would return.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Panda2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haytor Vale
8.8 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,068 reviews
5.1 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,262 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ilsington Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
494 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Edgemoor Country House Hotel
5.1 mi away
The Dartmoor Lodge
The Dartmoor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Ashburton
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rock Inn

Property: The Rock Inn
Address: Haytor Vale, Haytor Vale, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 9XP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Haytor Vale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Haytor Vale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rock Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Rock Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rock Hotel Newton Abbot

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing