We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 nights of chillin”
Review of The Rock Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Rock Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Haytor Vale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Perranporth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“2 nights of chillin”
Reviewed March 26, 2012

Wounderful 16th century inn, food delicous, staff very helpful, rooms immaculate.
would like to return.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bolingey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    80
    24
    8
    0
See reviews for
49
207
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stroud England
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

Only stayed the one night of 5th Nov. The attention to detail was brilliant, the whole place was spotless. The eveing meal was superb and service quick. I actually proposed to my partner of fourteen years and it was a really romantic setting for the occasion.
Breakfast was good and varied and at lunch we met up with my partners brother and wife and they told us that they had got engaged just up the hill at the rock on a stormy day.
Highly recommended and we will return for a longer stay soon.

Room Tip: Four posters are very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColinFranklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sowerby Bridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2011

I have a long-standing interest in Industrial Archeology and had been wanting to take a look at the Haytor Granite Railway for some time so took the opportunity to tie this visit to one to Street in Somerset for a jazz weekend. Purely by chance they had a special 'Food and Wine' evening (with discounted room rates) the night before we were due in Street so we went for that. Haytor Vale is a tiny settlement, originally built for quarry workers, on the very edge of Dartmoor - so beautifully situated. The Rock appears to be a number of cottages knocked together and has a wonderfully chaotic layout inside with 3 or 4 eating/drinking areas and a small residents' sitting room/library. Our reception was friendly and helpful, as were all our contacts with staff throughout our stay. Our room, one of their standard doubles, was fairly small but comfortably furnished and clean and we were more than happy with it, though might have considered it slightly expensive at the undiscounted rate. The meal, comprising smoked duck, scallop and turbot, venison, cheese and a choice of sweets, was exquisite, though I should have preferred the venison to be 'gamier'. The wines, introduced by a representative of their vintner, were equally good. While our actual dishes did not feature on the normal menu, locals we spoke to during the meal said that the normal standard was comparably high. Unsurprisingly, the breakfast was excellent. Although not a pub in the conventional sense, they have three hand-pumps on their bar selling ales from local micro-breweries. We will return for longer and hope for better weather so we can avail ourselves of the wonderful walking possible from the door.

Room Tip: Not sure it matters a lot; there are good views in most directions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CanalFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex England
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2011

We have stayed twice this year - 3 nights midweek each time, spring and autumn. Because you are right on the moor the walks are close and for those who seek ideas the packs in the room have good suggestions. The Rock is an old building sympthetically modernised, ideal for the active, less easy for those with restricted mobility but you really can see its roots in a Dartmoor mining community.
Rooms are pretty good - nothing missing - wifi surprisingly good given remote location. Restaurant food is classy for the area and fully priced - but in my view it's value for money. You do feel you are getting what you pay for -good locally sourced ingredients and interesting swerves on old ideas in the cuisine. Nice local beers. Vino not too outrageously priced. Tuesday night fish specialism worth planning to include in your stay. No real negatives, I prefer a buffet continental breakfast focusing on fruit and not much else but the menu lead waitress service was good and certainly not slow. It's a bonus that they can fix a decent expresso or cappuchino at the breakfast table at need!
Service at all times attentive and friendly - roll on Spring 2012 - we'll be back.

Room Tip: If your mobility is poor this hotel won't be the easiest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeESussexEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea County, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2011

We stayed one night at the Rock as part of a six day tour of Devon and Cornwall.

Not sure how best to describe the Rock – it seems to be a mix of Hotel, Restaurant and pub, perhaps more so the former two than the latter. That said, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely return.

There is limited parking on the road outside the Rock. The road is narrowish but seems quiet so your car could well be safe there. Otherwise, the car park itself is accessed by driving around the block to the rear of the establishment. You can take a short cut back from the car park when walking back to the pub.

As we were staying only the one night we were happy to opt for a smaller room facing on to the back of the building. The room, Jack Horner, was big enough for our needs although if we were to return and stay longer we would definitely opt for a front facing (better view), larger room. Bedroom had tea and coffee making facilities, and hair dryer. The en-suite was a bit snug, accessed by a sliding door. It had a shower but no bath, and unusually I found the sink a little low but not a big issue. Everything obvious was clean and presentable (don't go in for these microscopic examination of rooms!).

Downstairs the rooms were from memory wooden cladded and seemed a little dark in the afternoon. But there was a god choice of beer and a particularly nice lounge area off the newly added Riley room, where breakfast was served.

Dinner was absolutely excellent. Both my wife and I enjoyed the best venison we can remember eating. The dining room was quite busy with a good atmosphere and the service friendly and efficient. When we returned to our room the bed had been turned down.

Breakfast was as mentioned in the Riley Room which was bright and friendly. Again a good choice and quality of breakfast.

We would definitely return and are tempted to do so on seeing some of the local walks available nearby.

Room Tip: If you are staying a few days opt for a larger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Two_Fogies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carshalton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2011

We met up with my sister's family and my parents for lunch - 7 children and 6 adults.

Food was served VERY slowly, but was excellent when it arrived. It was very busy, so maybe a victim of it's success...

The atmosphere was superb, the location idyllic, and the village just stunning. A warm and cosy location in the middle of the bleak moors; 5 minutes from great simple family walks and climbing ...

We have been here many times before ... and will look forward to coming back!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyGompels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2011

We booked the Rock Inn and stayed on Oct 24th after finding it in the Good Pub Guide and half an hour after booking. We wanted somewhere to have a lovely meal and a comfortable night and it did not disappoint. The meal was fantastic (my partner had pate then the duck, I had a smoked salmon quiche and the steak and chips and then we both opted for the cheeseboard). Service was fantastic, we were made to feel so comfortable, however it was very professional. Breakfast was lovely and we felt as though the staff could not do enough for us. As a keen real ale drinker my partner wanted to point out that this is not really a drinkers pub but more of a restaurant/inn. It's also set in beautiful landscape on the edge of the moors so there's opportunity for lots of walking.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crystaltippsLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haytor Vale
8.8 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,072 reviews
5.1 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,272 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ilsington Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
497 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Edgemoor Country House Hotel
12.5 mi away
The Oxenham Arms Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rock Inn

Property: The Rock Inn
Address: Haytor Vale, Haytor Vale, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 9XP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Haytor Vale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Haytor Vale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rock Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Rock Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rock Hotel Newton Abbot

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing