We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Vandalia
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (345)
Filter reviews
345 results
Traveler rating
103
113
69
38
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
103
113
69
38
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews room was clean waffles biscuits outdoor pool would stay here again nice place smoking room down the road nice stay after a long day free breakfast hot breakfast pillows ponderosa gravy facility chain
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 345 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2019 via mobile

This place was dirty, staff were rude, and they spent most of their time smoking outside rather than cleaning. The breakfast was minimal and the tables were not clean. If I were you I would keep driving and pay a little more because this place was not worth the money.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank KaylafromYO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2019

The key cards CONSTANTLY quit working. This is a known problem by staff. very inconvenient. We had to get our cards redone 5 times. Loved the pool. Staff are outside smoking more than at the desk. Housekeeping was non-existent. We had to ask for towels, washrags and toilet paper. Never had a housekeeper enter the room in 4 days. The upstairs is very creaky and we heard people walking constantly. The TV was really bad and was peeling apart around the edges.

Date of stay: August 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Terry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2019

The staff was truly engaged, professional and caring. Clean rooms, and the property was well maintained. Definitely will stay there again when we are in the area. Close to shopping and eating establishments.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Linc007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2019


The room above ours has a very squeaky floor. Every step they took was very noisy. We couldn't get to sleep until they did. Otherwise a great room. It was very comfortable and very clean. Service was excellent

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank B2652AHjohnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2019

Great location right off I-70 /Rt. 40 between St. Louis MO and Effingham IL. Exceptional staff members and manager were friendly and very helpful. Can't stress that enough! Two dining options are within a very easy walk (a Ponderosa is just next door.) The hotel probably dates back to the 1960's and some parts of it still reflect that. However, there have been updates made and it was very clean and attractive for its price range. Outdoor pool was inviting but needed some patio umbrellas for shade. The complimentary breakfast was good but could have been monitored more closely for shortages/outages. Overall, I would recommend it for a stay while traveling through.

Date of stay: July 2019
Thank LRios0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews