We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, good price”
Review of Ramada Vandalia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ramada Vandalia
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Vandalia
Reviewed August 28, 2012

The hotel had a nice outdoor pool, which is where we spent most of the day. It is small from 3 ft to 5 ft deep, but we have kids so it was perfect. The pool area was clean, and there were a lot of chairs to lay out on. The room was nothing special, just your average double room. The continental breakfast included your regular ready made food, plus a waffle maker and hot biscuits and gravy. The staff was friendly enough. We would definitely stay there again if we needed a place!
There was an odd smell in the hallway, but it wasn't strong, so it didn't really bother us.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thetaylorstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (280)
There are newer reviews for Ramada Vandalia
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

257 - 263 of 280 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2012

This was our first stop on our road trip across the country. We were quite impressed with how clean the room was and we LOVED the beds. Maybe it was because we had driven 900 miles that day, but we slept like logs and thought the beds were extra comfy. The kids used the pool and it seemed clean and well taken care of. The only problem we had was that we were in a room on the first floor and whenever the people above us would walk around in their room, there were really loud squeaking/creaking noises. These weren't just normal noises you would hear from rooms above, they almost made it sound like there was a structural issue with the hotel. It was very strange and unlike anything I have ever heard in any other hotel.

Overall, the price was right and it was a clean place to stop for the night. The bed was soooo comfy. I would probably choose this hotel again if I were in the area but would request a second floor room to avoid the loud noises from above.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bartleby11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We stayed here for two nights, while in town for a family wedding. I was under the impression that the hotel had been renovated. If this is the case, it did not include our room. The room was dated, and sorry to say, not very clean. We went to the store and bought some Lysol spray to freshen up the stale smell of the room. This was supposed to be non-smoking room, but I don't believe that the "No Smoking" had been enforced. I used some wet wipes to clean the bathroom floor and then used the Lysol on the bathroom surfaces.
Although all of the staff members we encountered were very nice, the location was safe, and we slept well while there, we would never stay here again due to the lack of cleanliness.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gma2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Was one of two, the lower priced one. Saved a significant amount off normal price, was nice, clean and in an excellent and safe location.
I only rated it a four because it was nothing really special. Am I really strict ? Maybe, but it still is a big chain, nameless hotel, but a least a good, clean, safe and relatively nice one.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BerlinerJFK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

We stayed here on our way to Mackinaw city. Really nice service from everyone we spoke to, and rooms were clean as well. On our return trip we chose to stay here again since our previous stay was good. If we mackthis trip again we will be staying here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Got to tired to drive anymore, so i called in and booked a room at about 11:00 pm, explained i had a dog with me, they required a $10 charge, which is actually VERY reasonable,
When i walked in the door: Manager was asleep in the back (explained she had to unexpectedly had to relive another manager) , fine its 2 am, i guess, lobby smelled (think 20 year old popuri), No elevator (which means i had to haul my duffel bag, dog food container, toys, all while being drug up the steps my a 40 lbs ball of energy, but i can deal the room was cheap enough to put up with it, so at that point i get settled in and decide i want some ice, so another trip up and back downstairs, Overall the hotel is defiantly not the super 8 (or travelodge in vandalia's case) but it could use some updating.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J W K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

Front desk extremely friendly and gave us very good recommendations for dinner. Room was clean and highway noise did not bother us in the least. Breakfast was much better than I expected from reading reviews on TA. All in all will stay at this location again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lap7214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vandalia
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Vandalia
15.5 mi away
Econo Lodge & Suites Greenville
15.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#4 of 4 in Greenville
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Super 8 Greenville
Super 8 Greenville
#1 of 4 in Greenville
318 reviews
21.1 mi away
Cobblestone Inn & Suites Altamont, IL
1.8 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Vandalia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Vandalia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Vandalia

Address: 2707 Veterans Ave, Vandalia, IL 62471-3242
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Vandalia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Vandalia
Price Range: $64 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ramada Vandalia 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Ramada Vandalia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vandalia Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing