We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Travelling Cross Country to Visit Family”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Jay's Inn

Jay's Inn
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Vandalia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jay's Inn
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Vandalia
Alexandria
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Travelling Cross Country to Visit Family”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

Jay's Inn is a rustic Inn with no frills. It is family owned and quiet. If you want an inexpensive place to stay with a clean room that allows pets for free, this is the place. There are nearby restaurants for meals. The room comes with a microwave and refrigerator if you want to bring you own food. I have stayed here several times. The check-in staff very friendly and processed me in quickly since I had a reservation.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingRetiree04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    6
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
6
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brookfield, Canada
Level Contributor
110 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

room was large had a nice couch in it room to spread out, front desk lady was very friendly. price was good.mattress stained on side i covered that as it bothered me to see it i always use my own bedding so i use the room sheets to wrap the bed first here i used the blankets to cover the bottom as well.bathroom well used but ok for a stay over .internet worked

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 29ratatude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grabill, Indiana
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2011

Driving late in the night, atleast 3 hours behind schedule I came to the conclusion I needed to stop for a place to sleep. I saw two hotels right off the highway. The first one had 3 cars, Jay's had several. I called and got a great rate. The lady working the overnight shift was my first impression of this hotel. She was like an angel to my weary mind. Check in was simple, just fill out the card.She even offered to help me get the kids inside the room. We walked into a very clean, older styled room. Beds are not the most comfy I have slept in, but after driving and needing a good night's sleep they felt pretty great. They have really fast internet, fridge, microwave and several tv channels to choose from, including Disney. We loved the simple, cozy, vintage feel of the place. If you want a clean, friendly no bells and whistles type place to lay your head, you gotta stay here.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mkokies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2011

This is a clean, quiet hotel with a friendly staff that welcomes pets with no pet fee.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravellingRetiree04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Mississippi
Level Contributor
60 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2010

very friendly and helpful! price was excellent! i would recommend to anyone.

Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank st0negr0und
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2010

Stayed here for two days while my boyfriend and I were homeless, and the lady was very nice. She even attempted to find us an apartment by contacting some of her friends. The rooms themselves were very nice for the money, having a fridge and microwave. We got the two bed room, and I don't know if it was because one appeared to not have been slept in to the maid, but one of the beds had a weird brown stain on it. Besides that, the shower was AMAZING, with a really nice shower head. The room was large and comfortable, and they offered free internet which was nice for us. I would most definitly stay again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brittany65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
380 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2009

I've stayed here several times and consider it one of the best independent motels going. Always clean with everything necessary and then some. And excellent value, too.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Denny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vandalia
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Vandalia
1.7 mi away
Ramada Vandalia
Ramada Vandalia
#3 of 5 in Vandalia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
17.1 mi away
Super 8 Greenville
Super 8 Greenville
#1 of 4 in Greenville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#4 of 4 in Greenville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
17.2 mi away
Econo Lodge & Suites Greenville
0.1 mi away
Economy Inn
Economy Inn
#5 of 5 in Vandalia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jay's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jay's Inn

Property: Jay's Inn
Address: 720 W Gochenour St, Vandalia, IL 62471-1008
Location: United States > Illinois > Vandalia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Vandalia
Number of rooms: 21

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing