We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Vandalia
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Vandalia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We've stayed in a lot of hotels and I swear this room was HUGE. It was a 2 Queen Suite and we joked the whole time about needing to get a taxi to go to the bathroom. There was a very comfortable chair, 2 comfy beds, the computer desk, dresser with very nice sized TV, a couch area with a coffee table, and then another table with 2 chairs. Then a fridge and microwave area with a small sink and cabinet. Then a bathroom with everything you needed. See it was huge!

The staff was very nice and always talked with us when we were nearby. There were several options for delivery of food even though it looked like not much was nearby at all. The breakfast the next morning was delicious and had a lot of options. The pool area looked large. We didn't use it but I peeked to see. Overall this was a fantastic hotel and I would definitely suggest looking into it if you are passing through the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIE_Vandalia_IL, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Vandalia, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel, we really do appreciate hearing how much you enjoyed your stay. We like the size of the suite rooms as well, sometimes it is nice to have some extra space to relax in. We are glad to hear you enjoyed breakfast as well!!

We do hope to see you again!!

Warm Regards,
Therese Tate
Guest Experience Champion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (182)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 182 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Nice place. Room very clean. Hotel staff hospitable and efficient. Most important to me is the standard HIE sets and maintains. I use got both business and personal. It has a pool and exercise facilities. The breakfast is ok but what the heck it's in the price.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIE_Vandalia_IL, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Vandalia, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay!! It is nice to hear that we are doing a great job. We look forward to seeing you the next time you visit our area.

Warm Regards
Therese Tate
Guest Experience Champion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night for business. Was exhausted so I didn't get to use the pool or hot tub as I usually would but they both looked very clean and well kept.
Room was clean. Plenty of towels.
Hot tub in the bathroom was nice. Wish it was positioned differently to be able to see the tv, at least in the mirror. It did get very cool that night. Turned on the heat, fire alarm went off. I'm sure just due to not being used for months. Opened a window for a while and reset the alarm. No biggie. Workout room is ok. Good equipment. Too many mirrors. Not all of us that run or lift want to stare at outselves.
Nice location right off the highway, next walmart. A few dinning options and a liquor store with a giant fire breathing dragon all within a mile.
Breakfast was good.
Parking lot under construction but still plenty of room. No worries.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TJ4traveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIE_Vandalia_IL, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Vandalia, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay!! We look forward to seeing you the next time you are visiting in our area.

Warm Regards
Therese Tate
Guest Experience Champion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Had to spend the night in the area to see friends.Very friendly staff all around. Very well kept room except the rooms chair was food stained. I asked for a replacement and was told they all have been stained by the guest since the KFC is nearby and people eat while sitting in the chair. they all need to be recovered with. The only problem was that there are no good restaurants nearby. The KFC is the best of them.

Room Tip: All new rooms. Near the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIE_Vandalia_IL, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Vandalia, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel.

I sincerely apologize for the stained chair, thank you for bringing that to our attention as we are currently working to improve the stain issue.

They are currently building a Huddle House and Embers Pizza directly beside our hotel. We look forward to offering dining experience closer to our hotel.

We hope to have you as a guest in the future.

Warm Regards
Therese T.
Guest Experience Champion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We were driving from Oklahoma to Pennsylvania and this was about half way, so we stayed on the way there and back. I was very impressed by the efficiency of the check-in. They had our room assigned with the cards ready both times. We stayed here because we were traveling with our two dogs. The hotel is very clean which isn't always the case with pet-friendly hotels. There are a few areas around the hotel where dogs can do their thing.

The breakfast was well stocked and had a decent variety. The eggs were obviously powdered and were disgusting, and more fresh fruit would have been great. But it was a slightly above average hotel breakfast, but most items were very processed and tasted a little off because of it. The stocked fridge with yogurt and milk was nice. And they had warm cookies when we arrived!

One downside was that our door didn't automatically lock like it should. I told the desk clerk about the issue when I left and when we were amazingly assigned the same room on the return trip 10 days later, it wasn't fixed.

The pool was also very nice. The chlorine levels were very high. It stayed open until 10 p.m. so we got to swim after a long day driving.

Overall, this was a very nice hotel at a very convenient exit outside St. Louis. We would definitely stay again, especially if we are traveling with our dogs.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank momma_andrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIE_Vandalia_IL, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Vandalia, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We appreciate the chance to improve your experience and hope you have the chance to stay with us in the future.

Warm Regards,
Therese T
Guest Experience Champion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Stayed here for one night on a business trip. The hotel itself was just fine, much the same as any other HIE. The room (standard king) was really nice and roomy, with a chair next to the bed.

Only complaint was the internet. I was able to connect to the hotel's wifi, but the service was so incredibly slow that I finally gave up even trying to read my emails or do any surfing. Seems like it should be too hard to have a T-1 line or cable that provides better service. Not a huge deal, but if you're trying to work, quite an irritation. Would stay here again unless the net was very important.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Illiniwek66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIE_Vandalia_IL, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Vandalia, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Thank you for selecting our hotel during your trip to Vandalia. I appreciate your time to review as we always like to know how we are doing. I personally want to apologize for internet connection. We have a T1 line & cable so we have full access for our guests. I understand your frustration & know that internet along with speed is incredibly important. I hope we see you again in the future.
Again thank you for your stay & comments!

Warm Regards, Sally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stopped here on our way to Oklahoma. The outside is traditional Holiday Inn Express, very neat and tidy. The woman at the front desk was so welcoming and helpful. Our King room was spotless and very roomy. The bathroom large and very clean too. Our breakfast was also the traditional morning fare but presented excellently. The woman who was duty was very pleasant. Our stay was a welcome relief from the long travel day. We would definetly stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mlsmich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIE_Vandalia_IL, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Vandalia, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Thank you for choosing our hotel during your travel & I am so pleased that our staff & room was just as you needed. We truly appreciate guests reviews to know where to aim better & for the pat on the back of a job well done. I will let all the staff know & we hope to see you in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vandalia
0.3 mi away
Ramada Vandalia
Ramada Vandalia
#3 of 5 in Vandalia
290 reviews
15.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#4 of 4 in Greenville
92 reviews
15.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#2 of 4 in Greenville
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Super 8 Greenville
Super 8 Greenville
#1 of 4 in Greenville
338 reviews
2.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Vandalia
1.9 mi away
Economy Inn
Economy Inn
#5 of 5 in Vandalia
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Vandalia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Vandalia

Address: 21 Mattes Ave, Vandalia, IL 62471-2064
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Vandalia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Vandalia
Price Range: $107 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Vandalia 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Historic Vandalia, IL Conveniently located off I-70, our pet-friendly hotel in Vandalia, IL offers an ideal location near the Old State Capitol Building along with premium amenities to ensure you have a comfortable stay. Our Vandalia hotel provides quick access to area attractions such as the Fayette County Museum, Lakes Carlyle & Vandalia & the Madonna of the Trail Monument. Golfers can enjoy a stay at our choice Vandalia accommodations since our location is near top-notch courses, like Indian Springs Golf Course, Vandalia Country Club & Ramsey Lake Golf Course, all less than 20 miles from the hotel. Business travelers looking for lodging in Vandalia, Illinois will love our hotel's close proximity to area businesses like Graham Packaging, Orgill, Van Seal, & Marathon Pipeline. Our hotel in Vandalia, Illinois offers premium business services, which include a 24-hour business center, free high-speed, wireless Internet access & a large meeting room with A/V equipment & catering options. While lodging at our smoke-free hotel in Vandalia, IL enjoy the first-class facilities, which include a state-of-the-art fitness center, a heated indoor pool & a relaxing whirlpool spa. Every morning, help yourself to a cinnamon roll from our Vandalia hotel's complimentary hot breakfast bar. Book your reservation today & Stay Smart at our Vandalia, IL Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Vandalia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Vandalia
Holiday Inn Vandalia
Vandalia Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing