We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Travel Stop!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Vandalia
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Vandalia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I've stayed in this hotel many times while traveling for work in Southern Illinois, or on my way to St. Louis. The staff has always been so polite and helpful, the breakfast is typical Holiday Inn Express fare, but it's always well stocked and clean. The workout room and pool are usually in good working order and well maintained. The rooms are always very nice, and have been recently updated. Plus, the price is great! One of the best value hotels I've stayed at.

Room Tip: I usually request a 3rd floor room for a little quieter stay, and generally, more upgraded rooms.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AV815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (176)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Vandalia
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 176 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2013

What a great hotel in the middle of almost nowhere. I noticed a sign stated the pool heater was down, strange for such a new hotel. The hotel and staff were great. you can always count on Holiday Inn for a great free breakfast.

Room Tip: Pool heater was down but hotel was great
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chuckghutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

We checked in around two am one night traveling across the Midwest. The front desk was extremely helpful on locating a crib for us. The hotel looks brand new. This was our third Holiday Inn Express on this trip and it was by far the best. Everything was just nicer than the rest. The breakfast was slightly better too- fully stocked, pancake machine actually working, two types of yogurt etc. Plus check out was at noon! Great stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Urikim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

All was well but there were hairs and stains in the towels which led me to wonder what other short cuts had been taken... The staff was very kind and helpful though so i am still happy with the quality of holiday inn:)

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brodykeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

The beds are a little hard for our taste (but we like them very soft), but the pool and hot tub are nice to have and have great hours: 6am-11pm! The breakfast is fantastic and has eggs, sausage/bacon, biscuits, gravy, pancakes, lots of fruit, hard eggs, cereals, yogurt, good coffee with yummy creamers, bagels, 3 juices, and muffins. The rooms, hallways, stairwells, etc were all very clean. The room temp was super easy to control. We enjoyed the spacious lobby in the evenings. Overall a great, quiet, place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NiotaMamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stayed here on our way to Columbia Missouri.

Very clean and comfortable hotel and exactly what you would expect a HI Express.

Breakfast was also on par and you have to love that tasty cinnamon rolls in the morning.

Would stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RalphieSpeaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stopped at this HIX on our way to Springfield, Missouri and we weren't disappointed. Very clean room and bathroom, very comfortable in every way. We enjoyed our time here.

Typical HIX breakfast.

I enjoy the early morning hours in the pool at HIX, and enjoyed the hot tub.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vandalia
0.3 mi away
Ramada Vandalia
Ramada Vandalia
#3 of 5 in Vandalia
280 reviews
15.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#4 of 4 in Greenville
88 reviews
15.3 mi away
Econo Lodge & Suites Greenville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Super 8 Greenville
Super 8 Greenville
#1 of 4 in Greenville
318 reviews
21.3 mi away
Cobblestone Inn & Suites Altamont, IL
2.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Vandalia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Vandalia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Vandalia

Address: 21 Mattes Ave, Vandalia, IL 62471-2064
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Vandalia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Vandalia
Price Range: $103 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Vandalia 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Historic Vandalia, IL Conveniently located off I-70, our pet-friendly hotel in Vandalia, IL offers an ideal location near the Old State Capitol Building along with premium amenities to ensure you have a comfortable stay. Our Vandalia hotel provides quick access to area attractions such as the Fayette County Museum, Lakes Carlyle & Vandalia & the Madonna of the Trail Monument. Golfers can enjoy a stay at our choice Vandalia accommodations since our location is near top-notch courses, like Indian Springs Golf Course, Vandalia Country Club & Ramsey Lake Golf Course, all less than 20 miles from the hotel. Business travelers looking for lodging in Vandalia, Illinois will love our hotel's close proximity to area businesses like Graham Packaging, Orgill, Van Seal, & Marathon Pipeline. Our hotel in Vandalia, Illinois offers premium business services, which include a 24-hour business center, free high-speed, wireless Internet access & a large meeting room with A/V equipment & catering options. While lodging at our smoke-free hotel in Vandalia, IL enjoy the first-class facilities, which include a state-of-the-art fitness center, a heated indoor pool & a relaxing whirlpool spa. Every morning, help yourself to a cinnamon roll from our Vandalia hotel's complimentary hot breakfast bar. Book your reservation today & Stay Smart at our Vandalia, IL Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Vandalia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Vandalia
Holiday Inn Vandalia
Vandalia Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing