We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic and homely ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Woodland House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newbridge
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic and homely ”
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

I stay at this hotel quite frequently as I am in the area for work.
Everyone is so friendly it feels like a home from home.
The open fireplace was a welcome sight and soon had me warmed up, along with the fab food.
The rooms are amazing. Spotlessly clean and one of the best bathrooms I've ever stayed in. Beds I could sleep in forever.
Thank you for always making me feel so welcome.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank na16318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    46
    11
    6
    7
See reviews for
22
61
7
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mayenne, France
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We enjoy this hotel it is a splendid hotel hidden in the country near Dumfries great staff and a very friendly atmosphere make one feel at home . Will be the best in the South of Scotland when the other wings are done without a doubt. Easy parking and lovely grounds. Food is good we like this hotel a lot.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jan661268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We made our reservation for this hotel via Booking.com for a one night stay on our way back to the north of Scotland. Our first impression of the grounds was very positve and the view across the rolling countryside was equally impressive. I think we were met by the same friendly multi-tasking barman as fellow reviewer PrincessCardiff. He soon found the reservation on paper but the computer wasn't responding and this little incident seemed to hallmark the contradictions within this property. Others have already remarked upon the state of transition between small, almost run down Victoriana and what hopefully will one day be an excellent modern conference/wedding facility. He showed us to our room in the new wing and it turned out to be stunning, amongst the best we have ever visited in the UK.The decor was tasteful, it was beautifully furnished and the bathroom was exquisite. The ultramodern swipe access cards also put it in a different league to most. In contrast, eating at the hotel proved to be yet another contradiction. The restaurant was simple and neat and the staff were delightful. However, the pub grub menu was uninspiring and the wine list was even less so. The three house wines came in those little bottles that should display warning signs.The red choice was predictably cabernet, merlot or shiraz. Sadly, the cabernet had run out and judging by the taste of the merlot alternative, this wasn't surprising. It was foul. Other full bottles were available.On a brighter final note the breakfast was most enjoyable and convinced us that we'd like to stay there again.

Room Tip: Pick the new wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tingvorl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

1 night stay September 3rd, a really warm welcome, lovely room, very comfortable bed. very personable staff, small bar, multi-tasking barman, waiter, great food. this is a quirky place progressively improving the facility as you will note the construction underway as you park. the construction is on hold as the owner grows the business, don't let this sway you, stay here. A great little hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PrincessCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

So pleased to have found this super hotel, very dog friendly, super clean rooms, with lovely furniture, staff absolutely brilliant and helpful, dogs loved the grounds , lots and lots of lovely bunnies to chase. Had a meal on Saturday , beautiful home cooked food. Would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Dumfries, and we will be staying again, when we go and visit the in laws.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaynorSouthern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Glad to have found such a great hotel to break up a long journey from Islay to Essex. Very dog-friendly, excellent value, good food and service. We splashed out and stayed in a suite which was very well appointed

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JOPEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We were looking for a dog friendly B&B near friends. The other concerns were where we might exercise the dogs and where we could eat out on the evening of our arrival.
Woodland House came up trumps all round. We received a very warm welcome at this family run hotel. The dogs had a lovely walk around the extensive grounds. Our large modern room was very nicely appointed and the dogs settled happily in the room whilst we went down to the bar and on to the restaurant for dinner. During dinner we noticed the grounds had become alive with rabbits. No need to worry about giving the dogs a good run before bed! They needed a good night's rest.
This hotel has a lovely personal touch. I would definitely recommend it.
The ongoing building works mentioned in other reviews should not put anyone off.

Room Tip: Our room was in a in a modern extension built to high specification.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheltonian313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newbridge
1.7 mi away
Bartley Lodge Hotel
Bartley Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cadnam
836 reviews
0.0 mi away
Woodlands Lodge Hotel
Woodlands Lodge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Woodlands
550 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Hotel
3.2 mi away
Mortimer Arms Hotel
Mortimer Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Romsey
342 reviews
2.1 mi away
Forest Lodge Hotel
Forest Lodge Hotel
#4 of 8 in Lyndhurst
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodland House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodland House Hotel

Property: Woodland House Hotel
Address: Newbridge, Newbridge DG2 0HZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Newbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Woodland House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Woodland House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing