We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Real Spitfire!”

Spitfire & Hurricane Memorial Museum
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Manston
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Dover, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Real Spitfire!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

An interesting museum with real aircraft and plenty of artifacts and information. Knowledgeable and enthusiastic staff.
Well stocked gift shop and a lovely cafe.
Next to Manston airport, an easy to find location with parking.
Interesting, educational and well worth a visit.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelk C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    64
    9
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Barrowford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Spitfire museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyable visit to a museum of living history. Spent two and a half hours here wandering about. Plenty to see and lots of information to read.The staff are very friendly and knowledgeable. Very nice cafe attached with indoor and outdoor seating, food very good,not fancy dining but plain well cooked fare. Would recommend a visit.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cooch13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“High flying day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed our day, so much to see, gentleman who greeted us very knowledgeable . Good refreshment facilities. EOH certificates could be rearranged to display most recent more prominatly. Would certainly recommend to others.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mandolouk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“BRILLIANT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

The museum is a great place to visit, the staff are friendly and interested.
The cafe serves excellent food, really first class, home cooked tucker.
I barely want to say how good it is as I am afraid that more people will be attracted into the cafe and I will not get a table when I want to pop in, as I do on a regular basis!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JVE007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Spitfire Museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Fabulous so much to read and see. Our Sons 11 and 8 loved it. Staff were friendly and approachable...great time....

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joanna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spitfire & Hurricane Memorial Museum also viewed

 
Ramsgate, Isle of Thanet
 

Been to Spitfire & Hurricane Memorial Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing