We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very small rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Coach & Horses Inn
Reviewed September 23, 2011

We were rather disappointed when we saw the room, which was one of a row of nine purpose built in the back yard. The on-line photo really was a tribute to the photographer's presentational skill; the reality was a VERY small room, with a small double bed and minimal space to move around it! If one person used the single chair then the other either had to climb over the bed or ask the sitter to move and lift the chair out of the way. It was not remotely comfortable. Surfaces and bedding were clean enough and a smell of disinfectant was evidence that the bathroom had been cleaned. Food was average for a pub, but at restaurant prices. All but one of the staff excellent , friendly and helpful. Free wi-fi available but reception so poor as to be useless.

Room Tip: They all look the same from outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GanganLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (138)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 138 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2011

I can only comment on the restaurant but we booked a table for 20 for a birthday celebration and then they managed to squeeze another 2 in for us despite already having another large party the same evening. On the night, our departure for the restaurant was delayed so I rang them at around 7 (for an original 7.30 booking) to see if we could put the meal back to 8.15 and they obliged. When we arrived, they could not have been more helpful and attentive and though we were a big party, the room layout meant that we could all talk to each other quite easily. Everyone was served at the same time and the food was delicious and piping hot. Most people had steaks and all were cooked to perfection. The wine was praised by everyone who drank it. We had a fantastic evening with the help of all the staff who seemed genuinely happy to be contributing to our celebration. Cannot recommend the food and service too highly. We always visit this restaurant if we have visitors we want to impress!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Anniebags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

I was only here for one night due to attending a wedding nearby. Rooms were well decorated, clean and comfortable. My only gripe would be the shower, which was a shower head from the mixing taps and not at all powerful.
Breakfast was lovely and the owners were very kind and helpful. Getting a taxi at night in the area was a nightmare. Obviously no fault of the B&B but something to consider.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chinnypie79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

thanks yet again to David and his staff after a very stressful few weeks just the break i needed, good food friendly staff.
if you want to destress this fabulous place is well worth a stayover, fantastic food and friendly people
see you all again soon
debbie and will

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hull186403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2011

We were meeting folk who live east of Oxford so this was booked for its convenience. I'm always a little aprehensive about rooms in a new block, but ours at £75 was fine, good furniture and bedding, two thick pillows each, bathroom fully functional. Cold when we entered, but soon warmed up with controllable heaters. Good evening meal, no fuss when one guest had two starters together rather than a main. Very busy (Friday). Pub definitely for dining, no lounge, so would not recommend for a prolonged stay, but great for one night or to breaak a journey. Breakfast huge, good quality.

Room Tip: Room 7 is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A_Loiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2011

Overprised but clean rooms, friendly people but rooms, menu, pub all in need of modernising , food quite good (old fashioned menu stuck in the 80's but edible) breakfast quite nice, rooms clean bathroom modern but bedroom dated.
Service slow wasn't a problem because there was nothing else to do, pub uncomfortable if not eating.

Room Tip: Close to Oxford
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hazelsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2011

Would recommend this very friendly rural pub. Stayed for two nights, accommodation very good with good facilities including log fire in the Pub lounge. Food was excellent and staff were very friendly and welcoming, service was top notch even though on both nights the restaurant was full. Breakfast which included the full English and lighter fruit platter for my wife was freshly prepared and very good. Ideal location to get quickly into Oxford or to explore the surrounding countryside.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DunstableTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiselhampton
1.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Oxford Hotel
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Oxford
2.1 mi away
Hawkwell House Hotel
Hawkwell House Hotel
#18 of 44 in Oxford
1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
730 reviews
2.0 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
6.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Oxford
Jurys Inn Oxford
#7 of 44 in Oxford
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coach & Horses Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coach & Horses Inn

Address: Watlington Road, Chiselhampton OX44 7UX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Chiselhampton
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Chiselhampton
Price Range: $123 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Coach & Horses Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coach & Horses Hotel Oxford
The Coach And Horses Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing