We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful roses!”
Review of Mottisfont Abbey

Mottisfont Abbey
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: A romantic house and gallery set in beautiful riverside gardens. Ancient trees, bubbling brooks and rolling lawns frame this lovely old house. Crafted from a medieval priory, it is full of surprises, with art that intrigues and delights. Come back throughout the year to see different exhibitions in the gallery. Carpets of spring bulbs, a stunning walled rose garden, rich autumn leaves and a colourful winter garden make Mottisfont a feast for the senses all year round. There's space to run, jump and play, and always something for families to do.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Wonderful roses!”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Return visit to see the roses. Well worth it. Walled gardens and roses looking splendid. We enjoyed a riverside walk. It will be interesting to see what is going to happen at the old fishing hut. This area was cordened off.There were a lot of visitors including several coaches. It was good to see more tables and chairs outside and an extra catering facility van for drinks and snacks. I love to see Mottisfont in the different seasons. It is one of my favourite NT places.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dolly186406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MottisfontAbbey, Public Relations Manager at Mottisfont Abbey, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thank you for your review.

Lovely to hear that you enjoyed your trip to Mottisfont.

The old fishing hut is being transformed as part of one of our projects called Storyscape. For more information, visit our website.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    509
    314
    64
    16
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Devizes
Level Contributor
169 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Fantastic rose gardens.”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

June is the month to go! We saw the rose gardens at their very best.
We went into the first garden and thought it was good and then found there were 2 more!
The colours and scents were wonderful. Very imaginative planting to give ground cover.
We needed longer for the visit and I would have liked to have walked along the river.
It was a hot summer day and there were a lot of visitors so all food had to be queued for-but that is inevitable if it is so popular.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Abby1005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MottisfontAbbey, Public Relations Manager at Mottisfont Abbey, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thank you for your review.

We are really pleased that you enjoyed your visit to Mottisfont. I will pass your comments on to the team, especially the gardeners.

We hope to welcome you back again soon; the lavender is just coming out now as the roses are turning and it looks absolutely stunning - well worth another visit.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martina Franca, Italy
Level Contributor
250 reviews
86 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Treat your Eyes and Nose”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

June is probably the perfect time for a visit to Mottisfont as the roses are entering their prime, the variety of colours, shapes and scents is amazing, a joy for the senses. We used to live nearby and visit regularly, but now not so. It was also a pleasure to visit the additional rooms that the National Trust has opened in the house.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank HampshireBirdman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MottisfontAbbey, Public Relations Manager at Mottisfont Abbey, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thank you for your kind review.

We are really pleased that you enjoyed your recent trip to Mottisfont. I will pass your comments on to our team and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernhurst, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Smell the Roses!”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

As longstanding National Trust members we have visited Mottisfont on several occasions, and in different seasons. This year we visited on 11th June with the specific intention of visiting the renowned rose gardens, housing the National Collection of Old-fashioned Roses. As we approached the walled gardens we could smell the beautiful perfume of roses pervading the warm summer air. The display of colour and variety of roses was well worth a visit to see and enjoy.There were plenty of rose plants for sale, and reasonably priced in comparison with many garden centres.
It was a bit unfortunate that Mottisfont was so busy whilst we were there with several coach parties also visiting. However, I understand this is quite normal in peak rose season - and no surprise with such a display and perfume to exhibit!
We did a lightening tour of the house, having visited many times already. There was an art exhibition in the upper rooms which was an added bonus and I understand an exhibition of Quentin Blake children's art is expected next month.
We lingered for longer in the grounds, strolling across the lawns and beside the river Test. Watching the many large brown trout shimmying in the crystal clear waters is always a delight.
This place never fails to please but for me the gardens hold the main attraction, well worth a visit at all times of year.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelagh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MottisfontAbbey, Public Relations Manager at Mottisfont Abbey, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you for your review.

We are really pleased that you have enjoyed many visits to Mottisfont. Thank you for all of your kind comments and I will pass these on to our team.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Superb House that started as a 13th Century Priory and Stunning Gardens”
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Excellent National Trust property and one of the top 10 gardens in England. The house is delightful with trompe l'oeil decorations by Rex Whistler in the main salon. The gardens, however, far outshine the house for their sheer beauty. From beautiful lawns leading down from the house to the river Test, a lovely work-in-progress winter garden, riverside walk and the fabulous walled gardens. There are 3 walled gardens absolutely packed with flowers of all kinds but center stage is the Graham Stuart Thomas created home for the National Collection of old-fashioned roses.

You should hurry because the favorable micro-climate in the walled gardens mean the roses are ahead and, just into the 3rd week of June, are already showing signs of being over.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank gwfrydg48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MottisfontAbbey, Public Relations Manager at Mottisfont Abbey, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you for your review.

We are really glad that you enjoyed your visit to Mottisfont. I will pass your kind comments on to our team and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mottisfont Abbey also viewed

 

Been to Mottisfont Abbey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing