We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful house & gardens”
Review of Mottisfont Abbey

Mottisfont Abbey
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: A romantic house and gallery set in beautiful riverside gardens. Ancient trees, bubbling brooks and rolling lawns frame this lovely old house. Crafted from a medieval priory, it is full of surprises, with art that intrigues and delights. Come back throughout the year to see different exhibitions in the gallery. Carpets of spring bulbs, a stunning walled rose garden, rich autumn leaves and a colourful winter garden make Mottisfont a feast for the senses all year round. There's space to run, jump and play, and always something for families to do.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Reviewed April 6, 2014

This house & gardens are beautiful & very well kept. I visited the Lichfield exhibition which was excellent. It was great to be able to see a selection of Lord Lichfield's work which was well displayed, & the exhibition well organised.
Afterwards we took a tour of the house, & some of the gardens. Unfortunately, it was raining so we did not see as much of the gardens as we would have liked.
I would recommend the cafe in the main house - delicious home made cakes. Real china cups & plates are used. A lot of these do not match which is a refreshing change these days - it gave a bit more character to the place.

Thank Sareeta C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MottisfontAbbey, Public Relations Manager at Mottisfont Abbey, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Thank you for your kind review.

We are really pleased that you enjoyed the exhibition at Mottisfont. I will pass your lovely comments on about our cafe to the Catering Team. We hope to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,042)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

780 - 784 of 1,042 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2014

This is a lovely place to visit. We arrived an hour before the house opened so enjoyed a coffee and a wander round the gardens. The 13th century cellarium was the highlight for me. As we were early we had the place to ourselves, to absorb the atmosphere with the haunting music being played. Wonderful. Another bonus was the Lichfield Photography Exhibit where we spent a long time enjoying all the famous faces. Unfortunately we didn't have time to explore the grounds which we hope to do another time, especially the river walk.

1  Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MottisfontAbbey, Public Relations Manager at Mottisfont Abbey, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Thank you for your review.

We are really pleased that you enjoyed your visit to Mottisfont, we hope to welcome you again soon - the river walk is absolutely beautiful.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

We enjoyed a day out at Mottisfont today. The Lichfield Photographic Exhibition was very interesting. Enjoyed seeing the Rex Whistler Room with wonderfully intricate decorations. The grounds are drying out a bit after all the flooding. The river Test is still at a high level. Carpet of blue morning glory in the snow flowers is a beautiful sight. There is obvious damage to some of the trees and grassy areas following winter weather.
Cafe was busy when we stopped for a snack and a drink. We sometimes take picnic. A few more benches outside would be helpful.

Thank Dolly186406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MottisfontAbbey, Public Relations Manager at Mottisfont Abbey, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Thank you for your kind review.

We are glad you enjoyed your visit to Mottisfont. I will pass your comments on to our catering team about the benches.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

We very much enjoyed our visit to the abbey. The grounds are well laid out and the winter garden was in full bloom. The stream garden was delightful and the font was a real surprise. The abbey was interesting with different things to see. It doesn't flow as a 'normal' historic house does, being more like fragmented collections and rooms but it was none the worse for that.

The horse made from wire in the stable yard is well worth a look.

Thank ysggem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MottisfontAbbey, Public Relations Manager at Mottisfont Abbey, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Thank you for your review.

We are really pleased that you enjoyed your visit to Mottisfont.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Visited Mottisfont on a cold blustery day, principally to see the Lord Litchfield Photographic Exhibition. This did not disappoint us. The House is in good order with still more work to do on it. Had some lunch in the restaurant, this did not see over the top, would have liked to see it tidier. The place was full of diners having lunch, it was difficult to find a place to sit.
Would like to visit Mottifont on a warmer day, which we will do so, it was bitter cold outside, and the car park had been flooded earlier in the month.

Thank MichaelAngelo00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MottisfontAbbey, Public Relations Manager at Mottisfont Abbey, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Thank you for your review.

We are really pleased that you enjoyed your visit to Mottisfont and our Lichfield exhibition.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the Summer.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mottisfont Abbey also viewed

 
Hinton Ampner, Hampshire
 

Been to Mottisfont Abbey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing