We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“magical”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mottisfont Abbey

Mottisfont Abbey
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: A romantic house and gallery set in beautiful riverside gardens. Ancient trees, bubbling brooks and rolling lawns frame this lovely old house. Crafted from a medieval priory, it is full of surprises, with art that intrigues and delights. Come back throughout the year to see different exhibitions in the gallery. Carpets of spring bulbs, a stunning walled rose garden, rich autumn leaves and a colourful winter garden make Mottisfont a feast for the senses all year round. There's space to run, jump and play, and always something for families to do.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“magical”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

This was a late stop-off on the way to Yeovil... a chance to have a quick look round before the early winter closing. A guide (Chris ?) offered to show us the garden and I'm glad we said yes. He explained, with enthusiasm, elements of the garden that we would definitely have missed were it not for his knowledge ....and the visit turned into a real joy.
Tree sculpture, history; the beautiful winter colours.
We ended our garden tour with a hot drink and a plan to return in the spring.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Diane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MottisfontAbbey, Public Relations Manager at Mottisfont Abbey, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you for your kind review.

We are glad that you enjoyed your visit to Mottisfont. I will pass your comments on to our outdoor guide volunteering team.

We hope to see you again in the Spring.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

878 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    493
    305
    63
    15
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Magical winter trail!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

I spent the day today at Mottisfont with friends and my soon to be 5 year old daughter. We had an amazing time. The grounds and house are beautiful in themselves but added to this was the extra attraction of the Swan Queens Ball. The trail was really professionally done and kept the children completely enthralled. Then, once in the house itself, we were greeted with such wonderful decorations and lighting - all so very thoughtfully put together. The children then decorated a mask and got dressed up to go to the ball - again this was really thoughtfully put together - then it was off to the ballroom to meet and dance with the Swan Princess. Every minute detail was taken care off and every single member of staff that we spoke to were incredibly friendly and helpful. A big thumbs up and would recommend this event to anyone with young children ..... Looking forward to the next event! Thanks for a lovely day!!!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MottisfontAbbey, Public Relations Manager at Mottisfont Abbey, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you for your kind review.

We are really glad that you and your family enjoyed your day at Mottisfont. I will pass on your comments to the team.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Not just a summer destination”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

Visited to see the Swan Queen exhibition, the ball gowns and the way the abbey had been decorated was just wonderful,especially liked the Whistler room. Even at this time of year the gardens are lovely and well worth spending time walking around. So as I said a lot more than just a summer destination, worth a visit any time of year.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank baileygeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MottisfontAbbey, Public Relations Manager at Mottisfont Abbey, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thank you for your kind review.

We are really pleased that you enjoyed your visit to Mottisfont.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic day spent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

A truly wonderful place with lots to do and see. The gardens are absolutely gorgeous, we always seem to miss the roses, but I'm told they are awesome.
The house is great and the art gallery on the top floor is a must visit too. The kitchen cafe has just the best scones, so well worth going for those alone. Can highly recommend for a great day out.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank DavidBDAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MottisfontAbbey, Public Relations Manager at Mottisfont Abbey, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit to Mottisfont. I will pass on your comments about the scones to our catering team.

We hope to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley
Level Contributor
38 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Pleasant & relaxing part of history”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

This was the nearest National trust property to where we were staying for a short break. We were told that there was not much to see there...not so.
There are very well thought out gardens & a lovely house, which although not big, had a very interesting history, shared to us by a guide who gave a short talk in one of the rooms.

We walked along the River Test & saw some massive trout. As it was half term, the children we saw seemed engossed in the activity sheets provided.

I would definitely like to revisit when the rose garden is in full bloom, I can imagine it is stunning.
The tree sculpture in the grounds was excellent.

The shop & cafe are also very good, as well as the second hand book shop. The cellarium was suitable spooky for Halloween!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank techie7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MottisfontAbbey, Public Relations Manager at Mottisfont Abbey, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you for your kind review.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit to Mottisfont. Definitely come and visit us again in the Summer, you won't be disappointed - just keep checking our website and social media to see when the rose garden will be at it's best.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mottisfont Abbey also viewed

 

Been to Mottisfont Abbey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing