We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Family Day out

A lovely Day with sunshine. So much nature. An experience going into the house. Three places to... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
Bifenske12
,
Stensved
via mobile
Beautiful Autumn Day Out With the Kids on the Scarecrow Trail

We visited Mottisfont during late October time with our three children who are between ages 2-7... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
SweetkittyWales
,
wales
Read all 1,235 reviews
  
Reviews (1,235)
Filter reviews
1,215 results
Traveler rating
684
425
77
25
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
684
425
77
25
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rose garden national trust trout art exhibition stable block interesting house full bloom riverside walk winter garden second hand bookshop extensive grounds the main house drawing room lovely grounds nt properties lovely place to visit interesting history
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1,215 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

A lovely Day with sunshine. So much nature. An experience going into the house. Three places to eat. We sat outside of a cafe as the weather er was so good. Activities especially for children. A member of the National Trust.

Thank Bifenske12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited Mottisfont during late October time with our three children who are between ages 2-7 years. There was a scarecrow trail here for the children to find as part of the harvest celebrations, at an extra cost of £1.00 per child, and our children loved hunting for them. There is a court yard cafe and another eatery that served hot plated meals. We ate at the cafe, and the food we had was lovely, though a bit pricey for a family of 5. I would suggest taking a packed lunch and a flask of tea to keep costs down, as there are a few picnic tables dotted around. The Abbey itself is beautiful to explore, and the grounds are stunning. There is a children's play area within the grounds, and a splash park I believe that is open during the warmer months. You could easily spend a few hours here. Normal admission prices are quite steep, but we are national trust members and admission to Mottisfont is included in this. Highly recommended. The surrounding village was also quite picturesque!

Thank SweetkittyWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Have been here a few times before but decided to pop in again as we in the area.
I think that we had our best visit today. We did one of the tours of the Abbey about the historical aspects and it was really fascinating and got to know more about the phases in the buildings history. Everyone we go we seem to learn more about this amazing building. The tour guide was really good and as it was not busy it was only us on the tour so got to ask loads of questions.
We then went in the house and as the guides were not busy one of them took us around the bottom of the house pointing out the old Abbey features. Really great service from the volunteers.
We did not eat their today but have in the past and the food is normally good.
Although we were in the car today, we usually get the train to mottisfont and dunbridge and then walk . It is about 15-20 minutes walk, which is across roads but then down quite a narrow busy road. It is a Shame there is not a pedestrian entrance from the village as this would make the site much more accessible by public transport.
Great visit though - I am sure we will be back.

Thank Mr-Howie-2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Very attractive Manor house built around a medieval priory. There are some beautiful interiors especially the Whistler drawing room. Upstairs there is a landscape artist exhibition with some very engaging works. Don't forget the beautiful grounds where there is a lot of work going on incuding on the rose garden. Definitely worth a visit.

Thank inoble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

It's not a property the NT shout about but it is definitely worth the visit. The house is well done, although the gallery on the top floor is a bit random compared to a more period property (would be nice to see an upstairs bedroom as was), also could be better signposted to do the bit at the bottom before the house bit. Also feel there could be a better connection between the Abbey - conversion to House - House you see today.
Volunteers were friendly and cafe was good - although sandwiches a bit random and 'highbrow' on fillings and prices.

Thank THE-MAN1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We travelled via Romsey which was congested with slow moving traffic at 10.30 am on the last day of October. Parking was plentiful at the N.T property. The grounds were extensive, but the clear river Test was clogged with fallen leaves. We saw gardeners scooping them out on our departure. A never ending job. There was a scarecrow hunt taking place in the grounds, which kept the children busy and was appropriate for Halloween (we visited on 31.10.18) 3 walled gardens provided warmth in the afternoon sunshine.
The house was early 20 th century vintage and displayed a number of harpsichords. We went upstairs armed with a key ( NT way of restricting visitor flow) and saw many items which I remembered from my childhood. Except of cause the crocodile, which was a present to the boys of the house. This was kept in the bath, until it grew too large, so was donated to London Zoo.
The exhibition of paintings ( many of which had been sold) added interest.
The basement of the house showed the origins of the house, a waterwheel and cellarium. A traditional NT cafe is also to be found in the basement.
Filming was taking place on the morning of our visit, so a huge Christmas Tree had been erected, which was strange, Halloween and Christmas merging.

Thank upwarduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Fantastic grounds, with a clear spring feeding into the clear river. Native trout and damselflies and dragonflies. Extensive walled garden stacked with roses. So lovely walks. Beautiful house with period furnishings and the fantastic Whistler murals. Pretty little cafe in the basement. Have visited at many times of the year and there has always been plenty to admire.

Thank Dam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had never heard of this place until I checked through my National Trust yearbook recently. I was staying in Bristol and found that I could get to the Abbey from Mottisfont station as it is only just over a mile away. Because I am a NT member I got in for nothing. I was restricted by time as I had to get back to Bristol on the train, but managed to see everything of interest in the house, and called at both cafes, one for lunch and the other for an afternoon coffee. Another interesting thing was the old shepherd's hut, which was portable and would be wheeled behind a horse to wherever the shepherd was grazing his flock.

Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

As National Trust members my wife and I took our 2 year old granddaughter and our black Labrador to Mottisfont and were pleasantly surprised

The gardens are extensive and well set out with explanatory signage which complement the free map of the grounds provided. Much to explore and see - on our visit there was a scarecrow “hunt” for children which seemed to be going down well. Despite being busy - judging by the number of cars in the car park - at no time did we feel restricted by the number of people

Cafe etc well stocked if slightly on the expensive side

Staff all pleasant helpful and seemingly hardworking

Well worth a visit

Thank JCHendo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Friendly staff, lovely grounds. Activities for children included with lots of clues and historical information. Plenty of places to eat with a good choice of food at reasonable prices.

Thank Traveler799438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews