We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Much Over Priced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Utica
chicago
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very Much Over Priced”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

This is my second time coming here and my last, service was poor didn't leave enough towels or wash cloths,when I called down for additional I was told it would be at least a hour,I went down about a half hour later and got them myself.Once I got to the second floor I noticed the girl taking back the items that I had requested from a worker who was sitting down coffee clutching with other employees what ever happened to the customer comes first.If you decide to go there bring food or plan on going out.Buffet so they call it is slim pickens and the amusement park restaurant you could eat downtown Chicago for what you will pay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarge240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GBRCustomerService, Manager at Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Our team at Grizzly Jack's strives to serve our guests to complete satisfaction. We highly value your feedback and appreciate you taking the time to bring these issues to our attention. We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied and we hope you will accept our deepest apologies. Our goal is for everyone to have a GRAND stay. Since we did not accomplish this during your stay please contact me at bsullivan@grandbearlodge.com. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,770 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    501
    352
    226
    284
See reviews for
1,356
42
8
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glenview, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We decide to take the kids to a last minute getaway at Starved Rock. Grizzly Jacks is apparently in receivership or something, and it showing its age and lack for resources.

The room was ok - clean, but dated, and the beds not very comfortable.

The waterpark was on the small side, but we knew that coming into this, and was otherwise all we needed.

The indoor amusement park was also small, but what bothered me was the lack of staffing there. They have 6 or 7 rides that require an operator, but it looked like they only had 5 employees on staff - we often had to wait for an operator to open up the ride for us (Labor Day Weekend!).

Dining on site was average to poor - you're much better off going into town (Skoog's Pub was very good!)

In all fairness, every staffer we met was very nice and helpful - you can tell they're trying, but the facility is in need of a refresh and it looks like they are cutting corners with staffing.

Starved Rock is a great area, and a quick trip form Chicago, I only wish there was an alternative for family lodging.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Utica hotels

Hollywood, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

As a child, I routinely went to Starved Rock with my Grandparents and enjoyed my time there immensely. As a adult I decided to take my neices, along with my gf and her two children there for their own experience. Initially, I had planned on staying two nights at the resort and I am so glad that I decided only on one night. I could not see spending the kind of money they wanted to charge for a two night stay. We booked the kid cabin room, complete with two bunk beds, a sofa sleeper and a queen bed. We figured the sofa sleeper could accomodate a five and six year old sharing, if it was a standard full size which it wasn't. We also made the mistake of thinking the queen bed could accomodate two adults which it could if it was a queen, but it wasn't. The hotel staff claimed it was a standard size queen, but we are not stupid, it was a full size at best. So sleeping arrangements were tight needless to say, but thank god it was only one night. About the only highlight of staying in the hotel was the water park, but quite honestly for the money, a standard size pool would of sufficed. Aside from the misrepresentations about the bed sizes, the amusement park was also a big disappointment. After venturing into the amusement park the next day, there were only two rides operating, not to say that the other two weren't working just that they were not manned. Instead, individuals were operating the rides that would cost an additional fee aside from what was already built into the room charge. After complaining to the manager, the two additional rides were operated by him and a waitress from the restaurant who was tasked with the job. So now four rides, purportedly free rides were operating. The remaining of the space in the building was dedicated to other activities that each required additional fees not to mention other arcade games as well. I guess having the a full arcade room in the hotel wasn't enough, that they had to fill the amusement park up with more each bearing their own cost. Nothing like having your children tell you that they are bored and don't understand why you refuse to pay for more activities after paying close to $400 for a one night stay. Do yourself a favor, stay at a hotel in neigboring Oglesby or Ottawa or Peru with a pool and save your money to spend on other activities offered at the State Parks in the area, everything from horseback riding, canoeing or a boat trip, fishing etc....The hotel is not worth the money for the activities it boasts. It may look nice from the outside, but that is about it.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GBRCustomerService, Manager at Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
The Grizzly Jack's team is sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us. Unfortunately, the Kid Cabin Suite does only accommodate 5 guests. Based on your situation, we did allow you to have 6 guests. The Amusement Park rides do run on a rotation basis. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay but we thank you for letting us know about your experience. This allows us the opportunity to improve. Have a GRAND day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 26, 2012

My family and I have been to Starved Rock many times. We love the hiking. We were very impressed with Grizzly Jack's Resort. The kids had SO much fun. The staff was extremely friendly. It was very clean (someone was constantly cleaning the glass front doors which was nice to see) and beautiful. Great big rooms. Big beautiful waterpark. Fun amusement park and arcades. We really, really enjoyed our stay and would go back for sure!!! You don't have to travel to the Dells when you have this right in your backyard!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cinbid2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Have been staying here every August for the last 5 years-have never had a problem. It's the kids "last hurrah" before going back to school, and they look forward to it. We have plenty to do here. We always make a stop at Starved Rock State Park, the Canal Port restaurant and the Country Cupboard Ice Cream Shop in town. All the employees were pleasant and helpful. Check in/Check out was a breeze. Looking forward to next August!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fitzvalle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GBRCustomerService, Manager at Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank you for choosing Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort! We are happy that you have chosen our resort as your end of summer vacation for the last 5 years. We appreciate your continuous visits and we look forward to seeing you again next year. Have a GRAND day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockport, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed August 21, 2012

The kids really enjoyed there stay. There was plenty for them to do. We stayed 3days to nights. The staff was very nice. The only thing I would like for them to do is get new beds. I had the worst night sleep in the old bed..!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bridget p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GBRCustomerService, Manager at Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
We are very glad that you chose Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to inform us about your stay. We are sorry that you did not enjoy the bed. As a result of guests feedback future changes are able to be made. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay otherwise and we do hope you will return again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Illinois
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We picked this resort because it is close to our home, and we were looking for a weekend excursion. We have been to the Dells and Lake Geneva, so we are familiar with the indoor waterparks. At first glance, the resort appears just like the others. Check in was smooth and didnt take very long. We rented a vacation villa, which is a 2 story townhouse, detached from the main lodge. Beside from it being at the extreme backside of the property, we were very pleased with it. Some of the villas are quite close, but ours was not. It was huge, and seemed well maintained. Full kitchen, washer/dryer, living room, dining room, 2 full baths, 2 bedrooms (beds not great), 2 balconies, and a small patio. Each room had a television. All of the couches pulled out, so this would actually sleep 9-10 people (doubled up). Cons: Housekeeping has to be called for cleaning, no regular visits. In the morning, you had to put your trash out on the sidewalk if you wanted it picked up. They provide you with just enough towels for the amout of people staying. They provided 1 tube of shampoo, 1 conditioner, and 2 small bars of soap for 5 people, 2 days. Little cheap if you ask me, so bring your own. Back to the location. Because we were so far away, we had to drive to the waterpark and arcade. They have a trolly service, but it could take up to 20 minutes before it picked up up. The waterpark is inside the main lodge, and is actually decent sized. Has a kiddie pool, kiddie slides and a full kiddie area. There is a main wavepool that goes from zero depth to 5 feet. Lazy river, hot tub, side pool, and 2 full size water slides. The actual pool area appeared clean, but the locker room was not. Overall, not to bad, but not great. The main complaint we had was that the water was FREEZING. We thought it was a fluke, but the second day it was even colder. I heard other guests commenting on how cold it was. That day we only swam for an hour because the kids couldnt take the water temp. We figured we'd go back later, but they closed the pool for some,"Biohazard" incident. DIdnt quite know what that entailed, but allegedly they had to drain the pool. On to the arcade, which is a giant warehouse looking building. Outside they had bounce houses for the smaller kids. Inside was a sports bar, arcade, and some full sized amusement rides. Only problem, not enough staffing. We found that one person was running 2 rides. So if they were working one, the other was closed. Also, no staff was seen walking around monitoring the facility. Namely, not enforcing the rules for the bounce house. Had some dirty children in there with their bare feet. Gross. The arcade was pretty standard, some good games, but mostly ticket driven games where you can win useless junk. Overall, I would rate the experience as average. The facilities are defnitely there, but since it's not staffed properly, the rating is lowered.

Room Tip: The vacation villas run alphabetically. With "A" being closest to the lodge. Ask if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Up2Late911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Utica
0.9 mi away
Starved Rock Lodge & Conference Center
3.7 mi away
Days Inn Oglesby/ Starved Rock
3.8 mi away
Best Western Oglesby Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn Peru Starved Rock State Park
6.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Peru
7.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Peru
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort

Property: Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort
Address: 2643 IL 178, Utica, IL 61373
Location: United States > Illinois > Utica
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Utica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort offers skin-drenching fun all year long right in the beautiful setting of Starved Rock State Park. Located just 90 minutes from Chicago or the Quad Cities and an hour from Bloomington or Rockford, our 60 wooded acres offer all of nature's wonders. This includes Grand Bear Falls Indoor Waterpark, beautiful lodge accommodations, as well as our 1800 sq. ft. vacation villas and luxurious 2800 sq. ft. cabins. Enjoy a variety of dining options, including wraps, salads, hot sandwiches and made to order pizzas at Jack's Place. During the summer months guests can enjoy a view of nature at our Bear Island Pavilion & Curtis Canyon Deck. Next to Bear Island enjoy our “Castle in the Woods” playground area and test your skills at our 18 hole Canyon Creek Miniature Golf Course. All lodge rooms include a microwave, mini-fridge, hair dryer and wi-fi internet access. Our Vacation Villas are a 2-story townhome with a fully-applianced kitchen (basic pots and pans and place settings are provided), 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. Our Log Cabins offer 3 bedrooms, 4 bathrooms, a fully-applianced kitchen (basic pots and pans and place settings are provided), 3 fireplace, s and an oversized Great Room. Other resort amenities include the Cave Arcade with over 60 games, the Wave Cafe Snack Shop, the Honey Pot Sweet Shop & Grizzly Bean Gourmet Coffee Shop and the Moose Crossing Convenience Store. Our Grand Bear Conference Center includes over 8000 sq. ft. of meeting space, including 6000 sq. ft. of Grand Ballroom space to accommodate your larger functions such as weddings, family reunions and corporate events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grizzly Jack`s Grand Bear Hotel Utica
Grizzly Jacks Grand Bear Resort
Grizzly Jacks Grand Bear Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing