We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 05/30
$155
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
$62
$59
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$110
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Oglesby Inn(Oglesby)(Great Value!)
$102
BestWestern.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $104/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 06/01
Book now, pay at stay
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $113/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 06/02
$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,826)
Filter reviews
1,826 results
Traveler rating
420
518
365
233
290
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
420
518
365
233
290
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsenchanted foreststarved rockgrand bearmaster bedroommini golf coursestate parkgreat weekend
Filter
Updating list...
1,248 - 1,253 of 1,826 reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2011

This was our 4th trip there. The location was originally chosen as a midway point for our spread out family. Each time we rented a villa which comfortably accomodates our group which averages 15-18. It is nice to stay in the same house, and not have to meet up somewhere. There is plenty of room for eating, visiting and sleeping. With full kitchen accomodations, we were able to prepare our meals right there.

The water park and amusement park are always part of the fun. There are rides for all ages. I don't understand the complaints about service. We have always found the staff to be friendly and helpful. We had a medical emergency while we were there, and they quickly gave us accurate directions to the nearest hospital only 10 miles away. Any other issues we had were attended to promptly.

Wonderful place for an extended family to spend time together. We had plenty of room to spread out into groups that were playing games, watching games, working puzzles, or just visiting and catching up with each other. We are already talking about next year!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieCasstevens, Public Relations Manager at Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2011

Thank you for choosing Grizzly Jack’s Grand Bear Resort and for taking the time to write a review! We truly value your opinion and feedback. We love our loyal guests and can't wait to have you back again soon! We encourage you to stay updated on upcoming offers and events by visiting our Facebook page!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

For a special "whirlpool suite", it was quite lacking. I've stayed in better appointed and more comfortable rooms for much much less. First of all, it's not a suite. It's a hotel room. The room seemed stripped down. (see photo) Valances missing and no decor but for a couple paintings. Only three towels, which makes no sense having a jacuzzi. The jacuzzi had a ring around it a little scrubbing could have removed. No television channel guide. Not even a pen to fill out the survey left on the dresser. We loved having a fireplace, but could not use it as the air conditioner could barely keep the room tolerable - in October with 55 degrees at night. It just seemed like they were not prepared to rent the room despite having made reservations weeks before. Even the window was plasticked over in preparation of painting the exterior. So why not offer us a different room right up front? Why wait until my wife realized it would not get better, couldn't sleep and she complained about it? The water park and amusement park were both closed. No big deal as we had other plans in the park. But then why charge $10 for the resort fee when the resort is closed?
The bed was comfortable. The building was clean. The staff we dealt with were top notch. Friendly and helpful. After checking out, we were ready to accept the "stupid tax" of staying at an overpriced hotel. But my wife decide to talk to the manager on duty. He was attentive and kind.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2011

We took our grandsons for a weekend getaway and they had a wonderful time. They are 8 and 11. It probably would be difficult to please kids too much older than this. Once they reach their teens, it would be a little boring. We stayed in the room with a bunk bed. There five of us in the room and had plenty of room. I was disappointed that they have done away with the restaurant in the main building. The only unpleasant experience we had involved the wave pool. I felt the lifeguards should have been more proactive. However we would definitely go back and recommend this place.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grandma341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

If you like going to Wisconsin Dells and expect this place to be that...just go to the Dells.
If you are looking for family fun, this will do.
We spent 5 days here this summer and had a great time with Grandma & Grandpa three adult kids and three young kids (Ages 6 to 2).

We rented a Villa, which are quite spacious and allow you to bring in and prepare your own food. We didn't eat at the resort, which saved lots of money. The place is like any water park property, it shows the wear of young families, but in general, they are working to keep it up.

Based on input from the locals, it struggled for about a year financially, but seems to be doing better. The waterpark isn't big by Dells standards, but was just fine for us. The indoor amusement park had about 10 rides and staff had to rotate between them to operate them, but again, unless your too good to wait 3-5 minutes for a ride, it isn't a problem.

I'm floored by the customer service comments posted here because our service was extraordinary...including the two staff members who went through the trash to find a cell phone that was 'accidentally' disposed of...and the desk staff who called back three times to find out if we'd located it.

While I don't understand why you have to pay extra for mini-golf, the place had plenty to offer to keep us busy for a our stay - including a trip across the way to hike at Starved Rock State Park, which is also very nice.

Grandma and Grandpa paid for the trip, so I can't attest to the price, other than to say that they got several discounts for staying longer.

We'll be back!

Room Tip: We picked a Villa near the main building to reduce travel time...we walked back and forth most of the time
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sdski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

To begin, the trip was approximately 4 hours away. So, to be greeted by unfriendly staff at the front desk who told me that I did not have a reservation, was extremely frustrating. They somehow "found" me but the lack of customer service was evident in each worker at the resort. This would definitely not be a place to stay more than 1 day. The indoor waterpark was a lot smaller than advertised. Perhaps a couple hours and the kids were done. The indoor amusement park was a little better. But again, another couple hours and we were over the excitement.
We decided to grab a bit to eat at the only restaurant in the resort. The service was horrible…a 45 minute wait for the pizza we ordered which was clearly a frozen pizza. Miniature golf was not included costing $5/person. For a group of 6, this was pricey. Got ice cream at the lobby shop...teenaged girls made a banana split on a paper plate dripping all over the place. The flies were taking over the place; I was amazed that there weren't any in the banana split. We found out that the local zoo was bringing in a tiger and a monkey to be photographed with the kids at a cost of $10/picture. This was great, however, the zoo workers were yelling at us for taking our own pictures with our phones. Mind you, there was no sign restricting this.
We thought we'd check out Starved Rock...so obviously we checked with the front desk. The front desk again was not helpful in the least and less than happy to be working with the general public. We were given a zerox copy of a map with no verbal conversation to accompany our inquiries. The customer service at Starved Rock didn’t improve, unfortunately. We went excited to go hiking around the advertised waterfalls…we were told to come back in April…no thanks.
I’m only thankful that I obtained a gift certificate at ½ price which was the only reason I knew about this place. Needless to say, we won’t be going back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hudsonsmommy0317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanieCasstevens, Public Relations Manager at Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2011

The Grizzly Jack's team is very sorry to hear you were not satisfied with your recent stay at Grand Bear Resort. The issues you have addressed are not tolerable and are being addressed promptly. Your experience is certainly not any representation of the level of service we strive to maintain here at Grizzly Jack's. We appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback.

Please be assured that our pizzas are all freshly made. However, this does still not excuse your long wait for your food. In addition the issue with the banana split is unacceptable and we're looking into what happened there.

We've added a sign to the Brown's Zoo area reminding guests that taking your own photos is restricted. Lastly we're addressing front desk staff specifically about their behavior and especially about your questions regarding Starved Rock. The state park is such a beautiful centerpiece of this area and all staff should be not only able to answer questions but excited to share information about the park. Please accept our apologies regarding this experience.

We hope to have you return again in the future so we can renew your impression of our resort. If you have any further concerns please contact bsullivan@grandbearlodge.com and have a Grand day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews