We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eagle Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Starved Rock Lodge & Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Utica
Certificate of Excellence
Morris, Illinois
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Eagle Weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

We just returned from Eagle Weekend at Starved Rock Lodge. The program was very interesting. We attended two different presentations with live bird. They had a barn owl, falcon, golden eagle, bald eagle, vulture and a screech owl. Very cool to see these birds up close and personal. They eagles on the island were neat!! We were able to see one try to catch a fish and then three others try to take the fish away from him!!
Food in the lodge restaurant was awesome! The only down side was the room we stayed in. The hotel had very thin walls and I forgot my earplugs. Didn't sleep well at all but I world do it again for the chance to see eagles in their natural habitat.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyTravels919395
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    146
    41
    20
    11
See reviews for
100
161
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

Avoid this place, specifically room 207. Woke up to bed bugs! Had checked upon first arrival but the room is so dark, finishes and lack of both natural and light fixtures I did not find until too late. Found blood on my toe when using the restroom and then found it on the sheets. Ripped the bed apart, the mattress was wrapped in a zipped liner but pulled back to look at the box spring (no liner) and found the bugs. Later went back to the room with the staff and management to show them what I had found and to my surprise the bed was remade with new sheets and still found the bugs in the box spring, NOTHING WAS DONE TO SOLVE THE PROBLEM! WILL NEVER RETURN!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Hegawn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
photolady3333, General Manager at Starved Rock Lodge & Conference Center, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Both the mattress and box springs in all of our rooms and cabins are encased in protective covers. When our trained staff checked the room, they did not see any bed bug activity. As a precautionary measure, the guest was given bags to seal his belongings. We offered to absorb any cleaning costs involved. The room was taken out of order until an exterminator could inspect the room. No evidence of bed bug activity was found. All of our housekeeping staff has been trained on protocol regarding bed bugs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deer Creek, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

We were looking for a place to meet with some friends for a weekend stay. Rooms were decorated in the "outdoors/woodsy" theme. Nothing fancy but comfortable. The Lodge was decorated beautifully for the Christmas holiday and we loved sitting near the warmth of the huge stone fireplace! We ate in the restaurant for supper and the delicious breakfast buffet. Food was excellent and the service was terrific. We went for a short walk and the scenery was beautiful. We will definitely return when the weather is a little warmer so we can enjoy the outdoors a bit more!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

This lodge is very near my home town of Peru and in the 60's was considered top of the line.
Now it is very outdated and overpriced. The rooms are shabby and the walls are paper thin.
Our recent lunch at the restaurant was more than terrible. The service was awful, in fact we were treated rudely. The food arrived practically raw, it took us a good 10 minutes to get a server and in fact had to go to the desk to get assistance.
After ordering a replacement meal it took 30 minutes to receive it. The manager was less than apologetic and acted as though she did not care whether we were happy or not. She offered no type of compensation at all!
After returning home, we wrote a letter to the lodge which has gone unanswered. Guess they don't care that since we are from the area and also travel extensively that we will (and have) tell every single person we meet to stay far a way from Starved Rock Lodge.

Room Tip: Don't stay here at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kmcclend1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, Alabama, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

My son and I spent two or three days here for 5 consecutive years during Christmas vacation when he was 9 to 14 years of age. We had a great time playing in the pool, hiking all the various trails, watching DVDs and eating in the restaurant. The Lodge is somewhat dated but considering it's history and the beautiful natural setting, I think its cost is just right. Now my 28 year old son is taking his girlfriend there this Christmas. It can be a magical, low key place where you can make some good memories.

Room Tip: Rooms in the older part of the Lodge are more rustic with wooden logs while rooms in the newer wing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AQBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisle, Illinois
Level Contributor
96 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

The family gathering for Christmas is always fun but the hunt for a multi-family friendly venue has always been an issue. The Lodge at Starved Rock proved to be a great choice for 2012. The staff was friendly and accommodating. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Nothing fancy but the rustic feel was a plus. Can't comment on the cabins but everyone who stayed in them didn't seem to feel they were in a bad spot. One complaint was that none of the cabins had tv's which is odd. Food was hearty and the Lounge was a good gathering place to catch up and watch some sports. The weather allowed time for a few hikes and the views were terrific. They're probably even better in the months when the waterfalls are running. Good enough for a return visit next year.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, IL
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

My husband and I were guests at the lodge for a party given by my employer. We stayed two nights. On the first night, we were on the first floor, right by the elevator - you could hear every footstep in the hall all night & when the bar closed, it was VERY noisy in the hall. I haven't been in a hotel in a long time that was so noisy. I went to the front desk in the morning and explained what happened - I was quickly taken care of and was given a third floor room no where near the elevator. While we were able to get sleep that night, it was still quite noisy - at one point, we could hear a woman sobbing in the room across the hall from us. If you are a light sleeper, you may want to bring earplugs! That being said, the rooms are rustic, but clean and charming. The beds were extremely comfortable. The pool area is nice and the hot tub was very relaxing. The breakfast buffet Sunday morning was delicious - so much to choose from & it was all great. Every employee we had contact with was professional and friendly. Customer service was top notch.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bick92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Utica
0.9 mi away
Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort
4.6 mi away
Days Inn Oglesby/ Starved Rock
7.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Peru
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn Peru Starved Rock State Park
4.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Oglesby Inn
7.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Peru
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starved Rock Lodge & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starved Rock Lodge & Conference Center

Property: Starved Rock Lodge & Conference Center
Address: 2668 E. 875th Road, Utica, IL 61348
Location: United States > Illinois > Utica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Utica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Starved Rock Lodge & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Lodge, built by the Civilian Conservation Corps. Features 69 guest rooms and 21 cabin rooms, majestic Great Hall with 2-sided fireplace, on-site restaurant and bar, outdoor dining, indoor pool, weddings and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Starved Rock Lodge & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starved Rock Utica
Starved Rock Hotel Utica Il

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing