We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Beautiful all seasons

Park is open 6:30 AM to 9:00PM all year round. No entrance or parking fees. Parking available at... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
IllinoisKate1
,
Chicago, Illinois
Fall day

This is definitely a busy park. We went on a Saturday afternoon the weekend of November 2nd and... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
IrishFoodluvr
,
Iowa
via mobile
Read all 1,415 reviews
  
Reviews (1,415)
Filter reviews
1,390 results
Traveler rating
892
361
98
23
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
892
361
98
23
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews illinois river visitor center starved rock frozen waterfalls bald eagles poison ivy french canyon great trails rock formations fall colors day trip wildcat canyon natural beauty from chicago beautiful scenery st louis louis canyon
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1,390 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Park is open 6:30 AM to 9:00PM all year round. No entrance or parking fees. Parking available at the visitor's center. Start here and receive a free map and assistance highlighting trails that match your interest. There is a first time hikers trail that starts at the Lodge and returns to the Lodge. There are many trails, canyons and waterfalls. All well maintained. Many stairs. Beautiful views overlooking the Illinois River.

1  Thank IllinoisKate1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is definitely a busy park. We went on a Saturday afternoon the weekend of November 2nd and could not believe how crowded it was. We stayed at the campground which was nice and quiet. The shower houses were clean and warm for November. Great weekend

Thank IrishFoodluvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Went Hiking October 14th and the Colors had just begun to Change was hoping for more of a Change but was still Kinda Green.

Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

The has a lot of great paths, of varying length and difficulty. The Lodge is beautiful and reasonably priced. The buffet at The Lodge on Sundays is outstanding. It's a little more fun on a weekday than weekend, because it's much less crowded in the middle of hte week.

1  Thank Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Back in the day, we used to go to Starved Rock every Weekend after Thanksgiving, There was a women that would play Christmas carols on he piano and we would all gather around and sing with her, Our daughter was only two and a half when we first went their, and as we settled down for our sleep, she began to make noise in her crib and said...This is giggly dad, We came here for years, until she had to get back in time to go back to college.
The beautiful fire place in the large dining hall is amazing, the food it great and a Giant stuffed Bear is in the main office. This last summer our whole family, two sons and their own kids and wives, our daughter all grown up, and my wife and I spend a week there, exploring the amazing caves and the top of the rock that gave this wonderful place its name. It is one of the main place to be in Illinois, so get your reservation months in advance.

1  Thank Jeffrey E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

A gorgeous huge park that has a ton of trails that intersect. With help from the ranger at the station, get a map and have them mark the route to see as much as you can. They have a wonderful restaurant and bar - great to visit at the end. We visited on a Saturday and it was crowded. But still worth visiting. No bathrooms on any of the trails - just at the beginning. Great canyons and waterfalls to be seen, along with the overlooks over the river.

Thank foursquares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

My girlfriend and I drove an hour and half from downtown Chicago to escape the concrete jungle and take in the beautiful fall foliage of Starved Rock! The views did not disappoint and the crowds weren't bad when we went (around 230pm). Parking was easy to find, as the early crowds were leaving, and were able to do Wildcat Canyon which was gorgeous. It was an easy mile hike to the bottom of the canyon and made for terrific pictures and scenery. Cant wait to go back and try one of the many trails!

Thank timothyc459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I could not believe that this hidden gem was located so close to home. I've heard of Starved Rock before from friends and families but never been. Now, I regret never taking more interest. There was a great number of trails for all ages. There were many canyons and some waterfalls. Just an absolute beauty. Fall there is just magical and picturesque. Great spot with plenty overlooks to see the leaf change and take picture worthy photos. The guest center was informal and filled with lots of visuals and the history of the land. We will definitely come out again soon.

Thank Sullyena R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great hiking trails and a splendor place to visit during Fall season. Magnificent Autumn colors and well maintained trails. It can get busy especially the parking area by the visitor center so go early to enjoy the sceneries before it gets crowded. Staff at the visitor center are very helpful and free trail maps available there too. No fee even the parking. Lunch at the Lodge is also great and buffet is very reasonable with lots of selections.

Thank Hotellds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Although we went to Starved Rock on very hot day, we had a great time. It was a great trek, albeit tiring, but mostly, because we chose to take many stairs...basically every route we took had stairs, lots and lots of stairs. For anyone who might have any challenges with walks of that nature, please, pay attention to description of different routes and only select the appropriate for your abilities. We did just that, using information from the website and once you will, walk, observe and enjoy great views and scenery.

Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews