We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it!”

Starved Rock State Park
Ranked #1 of 15 things to do in Utica
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Known for its magnificent rock formations of St. Peter sandstone, this scenic park offers many hiking and horseback riding trails plus fishing and boating along the banks of the Illinois River.
Illinois City, Illinois
Level Contributor
64 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We went in the October. The colors were amazing!! Staff knowledgable and neat exhibits and info in the museum. Nice hiking, great photo opportunities, and a learning experience for the kids (and the adults). Very impressed!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank christine v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    739
    296
    76
    18
    13
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Normal, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“always a pleasure”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

for weddings, just getting away for the day or the weekend. AMAZING workout and views. definitely go for weekend brunch.

Helpful?
Thank LAURIE F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castellon spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to run or to enjoy the nature”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I dont know so many places in Illinois. But anyway Im sure that its one of the greatest places to walk or to go to run. Great trails with marvelous leaf colors, nice corners, big trees, diferents floors...all were so good. You have a lot of miles to go up and down. Its good for beginers in trail running. Be careful in so many places, it can be dangerous, more if its rainning or wet. For runners or walkers look your steps, there so many roots in the trail.
The visitor center is normal, you have so many information that could be interesting. You have maps there but it isnt really necessary because you have indications in all the park.
Parking: You have so many place to park.
Others: I recomend to go after or before to have breakfast in Utica downtown. There are a small great place where you can eat a very american breakfast with coffe and pancakes. For american people is common but for a foreign is so exiting!!! You feel yourself like in a film!
To have lunch I would prefer to go anywhere before to have lunch in the park. I didnt try it, its a feeling.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank RutaCastellonspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
155 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“wonderful fall leaf peeping”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

My husband, 2 daughters ages 7 and 9 and I went for a wonderful fall adventure at Starved Rock State Park. We enjoyed it so much we already made reservations at the lodge for NEXT year for Columbus day weekend. Yes, I said next year. The lodge sells out a year in advance at the lodge for Columbus day weekend due to beautiful fall colors and a local Utica tradition called the Burgoo Festival. We were really impressed with the paved trails and the stairs that were put in place in steep areas making it easier for my younger girls to enjoy the park. Unfortunately, it would be virtually impossible for a stroller or wheelchair to maneuver the trails due to the stairs. We can't wait to go back next year!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Heather E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moline, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great State Park”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Beautiful, big, scenic; food and drink are great at the Lodge. Lots to do. reservations at the lodge are sold ut very far in advance.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank StevenT6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Starved Rock State Park also viewed

 

Been to Starved Rock State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing