We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only if you get a good deal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Urbana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Hotel is OK and and the food service excellent....but it is not a smooth hotel...all seems difficult here. The staff is really trying and really nice....but room not ready when needed and little things like this.....If the price is right it is a good place to stay...but as we have choices in this price range - I would research those.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Claus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptonurbana, General Manager at Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Thank you for your review, feedback and your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (525)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

365 - 371 of 526 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2014

Overall this stay was good. We stayed on the 2nd floor. You could hear a bit of noise from above--more than in most Hamptons. Breakfast was nothing special. We have had better at most other locations.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ilmo9198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptonurbana, General Manager at Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback. I apologize about the issue you had with noise during you stay and that our breakfast was not up to the standard you have come to known. Thank you again for your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

This hotel is well located near the university. Room was clean and fresh. Breakfast was excellent. TV and electrical accessories worked well. Counter personnel was accurate and gentle. Parking was accessible and enough. Restaurants options are very near.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Armando A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptonurbana, General Manager at Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. I"m glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back if you return to the Champaign/Urbana area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014

The hotel is really dated and furniture really old. The staff is wonderful and very helpful. You are close to Univ of Illinois but for the price, I would stay elsewhere. We were here for the weekend since my son wrestles, otherwise I would have stayed at another place.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Louis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptonurbana, General Manager at Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us at our hotel. We really appreciate your feedback and are very sorry if the condition and appearance of your guest room did not live up to your expectations. We will take your comments under consideration as we work to improve our guest experience. We do all we can to create a great experience for each of our guests; actively looking for ways keep costs low and offer enhanced services for comfort and convenience. I am glad to hear our staff did a great job of delivering high quality service to you and we hope that if your travels bring you back to the area, you will consider staying with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

This Hampton Inn had most of the standard features one expects for a Hampton Inn---except the rooms contained no refrigerators to keep beverages cold for travel. Also, the hallway noise is quite loud if one wishes to get to sleep before midnight. Finally, the room price is way too high for the value received.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Cecil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptonurbana, General Manager at Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us at our hotel. We really appreciate your feedback and are very sorry that your room didn't have a fridge in it. We do have upgraded room types available with a mini fridge that guests can request. We appreciate your stay with us and thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here while on business at the university. The location is great... practically on campus. The hotel itself was average- below average in my opinion. The water was brown when I first turned it on and rocks came out of it. The shower curtain seemed very dirty. The beds were small and not very comfortable. Would stay again... but don't expect much.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank Jordan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptonurbana, General Manager at Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2014

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. I'm glad you found our location across from the North side of the University of Illinois campus convenient. I apologize that you didn't find your stay to be up to standards that you would expect. I will address the mentioned issues with my staff to ensure that we create a memorable experience for everyone traveling to our hotel. Thank you for staying and also your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

I felt the price was way too high, and they didn't offer me any of the discounts that were available, such as AAA and ARP. The room was clean, but nothing special. I found it to be a little noisy, being on the 4th floor and hearing things going on below me.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptonurbana, General Manager at Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Thank you for your review. Our rates do fluctuate during seasons, length of stay and demand in the market. We also do offer discounts should they be available during your stay. I thank you for our comments and appreciate you staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urbana
1 mi away
Comfort Suites Urbana Champaign, University Area
1 mi away
Hyatt Place Champaign
Hyatt Place Champaign
#2 of 25 in Champaign
557 reviews
1.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Champaign-Urbana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Champaign/ Urbana
0.5 mi away
TownePlace Suites Champaign Urbana/Campustown
1.8 mi away
I Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana

Address: 1200 W University Ave, Urbana, Champaign-Urbana, IL 61801-2338
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Champaign-Urbana > Urbana
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Urbana
Price Range: $98 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is located conveniently across the street from the north side of the University of Illinois campus and 1 mile south of I74. We are a newly renovated property and our amenities include a hot breakfast buffet, indoor pool/whirlpool, complimentary Wi-Fi, fitness center and guest laundry facility. Our hotel is a perfect location for your business meeting in the area or your sporting event on the weekend with a large lobby and meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Urbana Hotel Urbana
Urbana Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana IL - Champaign-Urbana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing