We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close to university, friendly staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Urbana
Certificate of Excellence
Missouri
Level Contributor
337 reviews
185 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Close to university, friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

The hotel was about average for Hamptons. Most everything was fine with the room, the location, and the service. Breakfast food was edible and the eating area was huge - lots of chairs and tables. Fitness room had 3 machines and a few weighted balls, and the pool looked ok.

I liked the wood accents in the room - instead of a closet there was a dark-stained wooden wardrobe and the business desk was kind of a built-in against the wall. The flat-screen TV worked well. The bathroom was medium-size with everything in one space (no separate sink outside) - I found the counter space a bit limiting. If you have lots of stuff you may feel crowded. My main complaint about the room was the old-fashioned HVAC unit which cycled on and off loudly about every 3-4 minutes. There was no way I could fall asleep or stay asleep and there wasn't a "fan on" setting. Because I couldn't set it to continuous, I ended up turning the unit off so I could have some peace and quiet.

Front desk staff was friendly and helpful and recommended a nice restaurant (with a 10% discount). Plenty of USA Todays and local papers along with free coffee, tea, cocoa, cookies, etc. in the lobby.

I would stay again but light sleepers be aware of the noisy fans!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptonurbana, Manager at Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor for our hotel the Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana at the University of Illinois. Thank you for the in depth detail of your review so other travelers know what it will be like when they stay with us. We thank you for staying and are glad you had a great time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    134
    62
    15
    7
See reviews for
185
47
37
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

My parents stayed here during a weekend visit to the University of Illinois. The rooms were spacious and clean, the staff was friendly, and the breakfast had some good healthy options. This is a great location very close to campus (on the engineering quad side).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrmewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

My family and I are regular customers 6+ weekends a year for the past 4 years. It's nice when the staff calls you by name when you arrive and ask how are doing or have good trip. Hampton's location is close to U of I campus where we visit our daughter. All staff members make you feel welcomed and the free breakfast is good also. Best hotel I stayed at.

Room Tip: Corner suites large room if your staying for the weekend or any room if your spending any time they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulS2455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptonurbana, Manager at Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to fill out a Trip Advisor for our property, the Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana at the University of Illinois. We pride ourselves on guests feeling like they are part of our extended family and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbana
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

Conveniently located accross the street from campus, this clean hotel is a great value. The rooms are comfortable and a complimentary breakfast is available. The staff has been friendly and helpful on both of my visits.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Deb H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garbsen, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

Always, always can depend on this hotel for a clean, safe, comfortable, quiet and convenient stay. The lobby is beautiful, the building sits amongst the University of Illinois.

The rooms are spacious (we typically reserve with two double/queen beds), great electronics (flat screen) and free WIFI service.

Have stayed several times when we visit family in Urbana. It is a straight shot down I-74 into town on University Avenue. Until recently, there were a lack of quality hotels in Urbana so when we found this one, we will keep coming back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

We decided to take advantage of some honors points we had accumulated and get away for a weekend. We found the staff at this hotel to be very friendly and accomidating. This hotel is well kept very clean and the beds are supper comfortable. This is a hotel we will recommend to any of our family and friends for a pleasent nights stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bigbowler72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Padre Island, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

My wedding party, my husband, and I recently stayed at this hotel and found that it exceeded our expectations in every way. My guests commented on the cleanliness and comfort of the rooms, the pleasant sales, front desk and breakfast staff, and calm yet convenient atmosphere. I travel for work all over the world and recognize a well-run hotel when I see one; this one definitely exceeds expectations. I recommend this facility and will use it again the next time family or friends are in-town. Truly excellent!!!

Room Tip: Corner suites have great views of UIUC campus
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptonurbana, General Manager at Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. We certainly appreciate all the wonderful comments about our hotel. We hope to see you again should you come back to the Champaign/Urbana area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urbana
1.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Urbana Champaign, University Area
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Champaign
Hyatt Place Champaign
#3 of 25 in Champaign
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
1.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Champaign-Urbana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Champaign
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Champaign/ Urbana
0.5 mi away
TownePlace Suites Champaign Urbana/Campustown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana

Property: Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana
Address: 1200 W University Ave, Urbana, Champaign-Urbana, IL 61801-2338
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Champaign-Urbana > Urbana
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Urbana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is located conveniently across the street from the north side of the University of Illinois campus and 1 mile south of I74. We are a newly renovated property and our amenities include a hot breakfast buffet, indoor pool/whirlpool, complimentary Wi-Fi, fitness center and guest laundry facility. Our hotel is a perfect location for your business meeting in the area or your sporting event on the weekend with a large lobby and meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Reservation Counter, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Urbana Hotel Urbana
Urbana Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana IL - Champaign-Urbana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing