We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I can't imagine a better hotel in Chambana”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Urbana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 22, 2012

I can't imagine a better hotel, this close to campus. The hotel is within walking distance to campus. The hotel feels very modern, the service was excellent, and the room was very clean. If you want cheap with a bed, this is not the place. However, if you enjoy your stay at the university and your hotel, then this is the place.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Deacon83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (493)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

421 - 427 of 493 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2012

Stayed over on a Friday night. Great location for access to the University (across the street) or either downtown Champaign or downtown Urbana (both only about a mile away). Room was exceptionally we appointed with one of the best computer chairs and wall unit (both indirect and direct lighting and plenty of access to outlets if you need to plug in 3-4 chargers!). Staff was professional and very pleasant. If you didn’t have a car, there was a Perkins Restaurant next, or an easy drive to any number of other places. Breakfast was more than adequate with usual cereals, oatmeal, fresh fruit bowl, juices, muffins, bagels, breads, three hot items (an egg/ham/cheese dish, French toast sticks, or sausages), and a toaster and waffle maker.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MOTraveler01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Stayed here on a Friday night prir to attending granddaughters gymnatic meet on Saturday. Hotel was exception clean,the rooms were clean and comfortable,looked like they might've recently updated the hotel. Desk staff were very friendly,however,missed getting the free cookies other guests had mentioned in their reviews? Only downside was noise late at night in the hallways.

Room Tip: Don't get a room near the elevators nor ice machine. Inconsiderate guests were very noisy late...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights to attend a basketball game. Front desk staff was great on check in. All staff I came in to contact with seemed very knowledgeable and friendly. All knew directions to the basketball arena. Room was clean and quiet, which is what I want. I did get the fresh, warm cookies on check-in. Typical Hampton breakfast, but I know what to expect. I did eat one meal at the Perkins next door and got a 10% discount for showing my room key. Even got free local newspapers, which made me happy since I was there on a weekend.

Room Tip: I asked for room on high floor, away from elevator and ice machine. My room fit those requests.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelingDays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

I stayed one night with my two grandsons and daughter. The entire staff was more than friendly, they were excellent. The lady at the front desk, upon our check-in beamed with confidence and pride in her job. She made the boys feel as they were as important as I was. We found the rooms to be clean, comfortable and noise free from the neighbors. The pool was clean and plenty of towels. This hotel looks brand new, not sure when it opened but it even smelled new.

The next morning we were quite pleased with the breakfast selection. Once again, we saw firsthand an employee that was confident and enjoyed her job. This lady took time out from stocking the food bar and cleaning up spills to come to our table and actually initiate a conversation with the boys. When they asked her questions she took time to answer them as if they were adults and they spoke of her when detailing the trip to their grandfather. I wish I had gotten the name of these two ladies because they were the type of individuals that Undercover Boss would be proud of. I would recommend this hotel to everyone and will stay there every time I visit Champaign.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eloise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Very nice Hampton Inn located close to U of I campus and right in the heart of every type of food option you can think of. Clean hotel with friendly and helpful desk staff. Small fitness room but it had basic cardio equipment and no one else came in during my one hour workout. Free cookies, newspaper and a standard Hampton buffet breakfast. Very convenient hotel for a mid week business stay. Interesting option in this college town to have food delivered directly to your room from a wide variety of restaurants for only a modest delivery fee.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Henry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

My room is modern in style and comfortable, with a sofa and footrest, drawers, end-tables on each side of the bed, and a small desk with proper adjustable desk-chair wedged against one wall. A lap-desk is also provided. The wifi works well. There is no safe. The bathroom supplies include the usual little bottles and a coffee maker, but no shaving mirror.

The breakfast, included in the price of the room, includes the usual continental-breakfast items and also some hot choices. On my first morning, it's quite-reasonable omelettes, bacon, and hash-browns. But on my second morning, there are some little pellets, rather like small yellow marshmallows, labeled "scrambled eggs", some slices of "sausage", and some "French toast sticks". All three are disgustingly inedible -- the worst "food" that I've tried to eat in quite some time. I assume that these all come from central commissary and are reconstituted and heated at the hotel, and I wonder whether some horrible mistake was made in the hotel kitchen that morning. Can it really be true that people are being offered such garbage to eat at Hampton Inns all across the country?

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WoodlandCreature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptonurbana, General Manager at Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

I appreciate your recent review of our hotel. We're glad you enjoyed your stay overall. I understand that you were disappointed with your breakfast and we will review our offerings, keeping your recommendations in mind. The next time you are in town please visit us again. Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urbana
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Champaign
Hyatt Place Champaign
#3 of 25 in Champaign
517 reviews
1.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Champaign-Urbana
1.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Urbana Champaign, University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Champaign/ Urbana
1.8 mi away
I Hotel and Conference Center
2.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana

Address: 1200 W University Ave, Urbana, Champaign-Urbana, IL 61801-2338
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Champaign-Urbana > Urbana
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Urbana
Price Range: $129 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is located conveniently across the street from the north side of the University of Illinois campus and 1 mile south of I74. We are a newly renovated property and our amenities include a hot breakfast buffet, indoor pool/whirlpool, complimentary Wi-Fi, fitness center and guest laundry facility. Our hotel is a perfect location for your business meeting in the area or your sporting event on the weekend with a large lobby and meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Urbana Hotel Urbana
Urbana Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana IL - Champaign-Urbana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing