We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel near campus”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Urbana
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, IL
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great hotel near campus”
Reviewed June 20, 2012

This is the best hotel near campus. It has free breakfast, comfortable rooms and beds and is always clean.
The staff are always very nice and take good care of you. Eventhough it is near campus, I have always slept well and never had a problem with noise from other guests.
I've stayed here a few times including two Unofficials (Unofficial St. Patrick's Day), so having no issues with noise is impressive as us more mature alumni tend to stay here.
I've never stayed here for a football game weekend since it is booked or out of my price range, but I tend to try to stay here any other time I come to campus to visit friends.

During my recent stay, I even got to use the pool and hot tub. Usually I am so busy with campus activities, I never get to enjoy the hotel. The pool was large and great for doing a few strokes. However, the hot tub was not hot. The water was lukewarm. That needs to be fixed.

Room Tip: Get a room on the first floor then you don't need to use the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rnj24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    146
    74
    16
    11
See reviews for
200
57
41
147
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mount Pleasant, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

It seemed like they recently updated their rooms. I have stayed at this hotel numerous times, and the rooms seemed even nicer than the last time I had stayed there. It is also very conveniently located to campus and just about anywhere one would need to go to in Champaign-Urbana. It wasn't the cheapest rate, but I went during the Illinois marathon so given the location and availability of parking, there is no reason to complain.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EvilIncarnate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

In contrast to another review, our room was very quiet and there were lots of guests at the hotel. We had a lovely room (I love how Hampton Inns launder/change not just the sheets but those great white comforters for every guest!). The breakfast was one of the nicest we have had at any Hampton Inn. Next door is a Perkins if you arrive late and need dinner.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wadham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

It's strange that no other hotel chain has a hotel anywhere near campus or downtown champaign or Urbana. So I chose this on location only. But it was surprisingly great. Very clean, nice pool, free coffee & tea at all times and a very extensive free breakfast. The workers were all very nice.

The only downside was that housekeeping never once came to my room. It wasn't a major issue for me but was a little strange. I had to ask for more shampoo at the front desk which worked just as well. They have a do not disturb sign but no "service my room" sign so maybe that's it?

Highly recommended! If I were in another town with a Hampton inn I'd go out of my way to stay there.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennybento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed March 25, 2012

The hotel was ok from a service and room standpoint. Reception was not very friendly at all, but my housekeeper was pleasant. Rooms are a good size and seem to be remodeled, but you can still tell it is an older hotel in many areas. That is why I say it is over-priced. When I called to make a reservation, I mentioned that I had found a cheaper room elsewhere, but she sold me on the idea that this hotel was brand new… IT’S NOT! Again, it wasn’t terrible, but not at all what I would expect from a Hampton Inn charging these prices.

What REALLY ruined my stay was the noise. I booked the hotel because it was “new” and right next to the hospital where my mother was having surgery. BIG mistake! I didn’t realize it was across the street from a University! There must have been some kind of Fraternity party going on down the hall and I did not sleep for more than 2 hours. My multiple complaints were either ignored or they are so used to this, they don’t care. Either way, it was unacceptable.

My mother will be having follow up visits to the hospital and I would not stay here again. There are other options nearby.

Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank A J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Comfortable room. Airy comfortable breakfast area. In the downtown area near the campus. Have stayed here before and will again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VanVlietTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2011

I was very impressed with this hotel's decor and location.

The staff is extremely friendly; I've had several items shipped here for business. Newspaper at your door every morning, complimentary breakfast is well stocked and attended. Great meeting areas in the lobby for business, chatting with friends, or if you don't feel like working from your rooms. Coffee or tea are available 24/7 near the front desk at no cost.

Two tiny things that can be improved are:
- have a working hot tub
- have Bravo tv channel (personal preference!)

However, after a long drive from O'Hare, I always look forward to checking in and settling down in their welcoming property.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emiems124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urbana
1.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Urbana Champaign, University Area
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Champaign
Hyatt Place Champaign
#3 of 25 in Champaign
496 reviews
1.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Champaign-Urbana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Champaign/ Urbana
1.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn Champaign
La Quinta Inn Champaign
#6 of 25 in Champaign
597 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Urbana-Champaign (U of I Area)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana

Property: Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana
Address: 1200 W University Ave, Urbana, Champaign-Urbana, IL 61801-2338
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Champaign-Urbana > Urbana
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Urbana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is located conveniently across the street from the north side of the University of Illinois campus and 1 mile south of I74. We are a newly renovated property and our amenities include a hot breakfast buffet, indoor pool/whirlpool, complimentary Wi-Fi, fitness center and guest laundry facility. Our hotel is a perfect location for your business meeting in the area or your sporting event on the weekend with a large lobby and meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Urbana Hotel Urbana
Urbana Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana IL - Champaign-Urbana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing