We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Loud, Over Priced” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Urbana
Certificate of Excellence
Peoria, Illinois
1 review
“Very Loud, Over Priced”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2012

The hotel was ok from a service and room standpoint. Reception was not very friendly at all, but my housekeeper was pleasant. Rooms are a good size and seem to be remodeled, but you can still tell it is an older hotel in many areas. That is why I say it is over-priced. When I called to make a reservation, I mentioned that I had found a cheaper room elsewhere, but she sold me on the idea that this hotel was brand new… IT’S NOT! Again, it wasn’t terrible, but not at all what I would expect from a Hampton Inn charging these prices.

What REALLY ruined my stay was the noise. I booked the hotel because it was “new” and right next to the hospital where my mother was having surgery. BIG mistake! I didn’t realize it was across the street from a University! There must have been some kind of Fraternity party going on down the hall and I did not sleep for more than 2 hours. My multiple complaints were either ignored or they are so used to this, they don’t care. Either way, it was unacceptable.

My mother will be having follow up visits to the hospital and I would not stay here again. There are other options nearby.

Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank A J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    134
    62
    15
    7
See reviews for
185
47
37
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
162 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

Comfortable room. Airy comfortable breakfast area. In the downtown area near the campus. Have stayed here before and will again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VanVlietTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2011

I was very impressed with this hotel's decor and location.

The staff is extremely friendly; I've had several items shipped here for business. Newspaper at your door every morning, complimentary breakfast is well stocked and attended. Great meeting areas in the lobby for business, chatting with friends, or if you don't feel like working from your rooms. Coffee or tea are available 24/7 near the front desk at no cost.

Two tiny things that can be improved are:
- have a working hot tub
- have Bravo tv channel (personal preference!)

However, after a long drive from O'Hare, I always look forward to checking in and settling down in their welcoming property.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emiems124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
69 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2011

The hotel is nice and clean. Convenient location. Unfortunately, there was no hot water in the shower, and the front desk couldn't get it fixed, but also didn't think they should compensate for this.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eladyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
134 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

Spacious rooms, big closets, wifi friendly. Lovely bed and bed linens. Nice bathroom/shower with plenty of amenties and big fluffy towels. Coffee/tea available. Easy check in/out. Nice breakfast. Would stay there again.

Perkins nearby to eat...OK.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Semomu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NM
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2011

I visit (engineering) campus at least twice a year. I only stay at the Hampton Inn. You just can't put a price on the simple walk across the street to campus (Green street isn't that far either). They recently remodeled...nice (except for the paint stripe at eye level on the mirror in the gym). The staff is the best. They're helpful and accomodating. I've stayed there solo and with my family. Once they found/mailed a child's blanket that got left behind. Only ammenities I look for are breakfast and gym--check. Anything else would require driving/parking--no thank you.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eastblock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2011

The last time I stayed here I was very impressed by every aspect of the quality of the accommodation. This time things seemed just a touch shabbier: the air conditioner was noisy, the towels less luxurious, the breakfast more boring. Still, it remains a pretty nice, clean, comfortable hotel, the staff is friendly and helpful, and the convenience to UIUC (this is the only easily-walkable property except the Union) can't be beat.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank innominate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urbana
1.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Urbana Champaign, University Area
1.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Champaign
Hyatt Place Champaign
#2 of 25 in Champaign
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
1.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Champaign-Urbana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Champaign
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Champaign/ Urbana
0.5 mi away
TownePlace Suites Champaign Urbana/Campustown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana

Property: Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana
Address: 1200 W University Ave, Urbana, Champaign-Urbana, IL 61801-2338
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Champaign-Urbana > Urbana
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Urbana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is located conveniently across the street from the north side of the University of Illinois campus and 1 mile south of I74. We are a newly renovated property and our amenities include a hot breakfast buffet, indoor pool/whirlpool, complimentary Wi-Fi, fitness center and guest laundry facility. Our hotel is a perfect location for your business meeting in the area or your sporting event on the weekend with a large lobby and meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Urbana Hotel Urbana
Urbana Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana IL - Champaign-Urbana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing