We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Near U of I...very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Urbana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Spacious rooms, big closets, wifi friendly. Lovely bed and bed linens. Nice bathroom/shower with plenty of amenties and big fluffy towels. Coffee/tea available. Easy check in/out. Nice breakfast. Would stay there again.

Perkins nearby to eat...OK.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Semomu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (532)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

493 - 499 of 532 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2011

I visit (engineering) campus at least twice a year. I only stay at the Hampton Inn. You just can't put a price on the simple walk across the street to campus (Green street isn't that far either). They recently remodeled...nice (except for the paint stripe at eye level on the mirror in the gym). The staff is the best. They're helpful and accomodating. I've stayed there solo and with my family. Once they found/mailed a child's blanket that got left behind. Only ammenities I look for are breakfast and gym--check. Anything else would require driving/parking--no thank you.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank eastblock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

The last time I stayed here I was very impressed by every aspect of the quality of the accommodation. This time things seemed just a touch shabbier: the air conditioner was noisy, the towels less luxurious, the breakfast more boring. Still, it remains a pretty nice, clean, comfortable hotel, the staff is friendly and helpful, and the convenience to UIUC (this is the only easily-walkable property except the Union) can't be beat.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank innominate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

We were very pleased with our accomodations and I tend to critic because I use to be in this business. We would definately stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anitakv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

We are travelers for 30+ years and have never had a problem with a hotel bill until now. They overcharged us by more than $100 and said it wouldn't be corrected until 24-48 hours after our stay. We have never been so grossly overcharged and had no idea that the correction would take so long. If you stay here, make sure they tell you up-front exactly what you are going to be charged. The manager on duty acted like she could care less about our situation.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptonurbana, Manager at Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2011

It is standard hotel policy to authorize a credit card/debit card at check in for the entire amount of your stay plus applicable taxes and anywhere from 10-20% for incidental charges. When you check out the remainder of the authorization will be dropped from your card as your bank states, which is typically 3-5 business days.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2011

We stopped overnight here on our way to Chicago and were very happy with our stay. The beds were incredible and the hotel seemed to be newly remodeled. Breakfast was included and had a good selection.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stellar424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2011

A very good hotel. Very convenient. I would only comment that during the first night I was given a room slightly inferior than that reserved and that for some reason the money charged in my credit card (in $US) where slightly higher than the money appeared in the invoice when I registered online. I wrote an e-mail about that, I got no response. But I was so pleased with all the rest that I didn't pay any notice to that.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike1973024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urbana
1 mi away
Comfort Suites Urbana Champaign, University Area
1 mi away
Hyatt Place Champaign
Hyatt Place Champaign
#2 of 25 in Champaign
578 reviews
0.5 mi away
TownePlace Suites Champaign Urbana/Campustown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Champaign/ Urbana
2.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Champaign North, IL
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Urbana-Champaign (U of I Area)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana

Address: 1200 W University Ave, Urbana, Champaign-Urbana, IL 61801-2338
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Champaign-Urbana > Urbana
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Urbana
Price Range: $116 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is located conveniently across the street from the north side of the University of Illinois campus and 1 mile south of I74. We are a newly renovated property and our amenities include a hot breakfast buffet, indoor pool/whirlpool, complimentary Wi-Fi, fitness center and guest laundry facility. Our hotel is a perfect location for your business meeting in the area or your sporting event on the weekend with a large lobby and meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Urbana Hotel Urbana
Urbana Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Champaign/Urbana IL - Champaign-Urbana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing